We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a wonderful resort on the north shore with beautiful rooms and plenty to do (even in the winter months). They have a great selection of free movies to watch, the pool area is really nice, and the views can't be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

A very cold experience. We arrived on 12/30/2013 and there was no heat in the room. We called the staff and told them we could not turn on the heat. They said they'd send someone over. We left to attend a groom’s supper at the resorts lounge. When we returned the heat was still not working. We again called and said there was no heat in the room. They had to call back the maintenance man to get him to look at it. There were no other rooms available so we could not move to a different room. I would have left but it was -10 below outside and didn't want to move my kids. Once we got the heat working small things that went wrong added to the frustration. The blinds for the one window facing Lake Superior would not roll up, the hair dryer stopped working, our keys to the doors stopped working the second day, the access to the rooms was outdoors. Try holding a 2 month old and a toddler in -10 degree weather trying to figure out why you can't open a door to the room. I had to run the 100 yards back to the front desk to get them to re-program them.

At checkout there was no apology and no offer to make amends for the night without heat. The room was 200+ a night. For that price I found it un acceptable that we had to wait that long for heat and received no apology from the management/owners. I would not recommend this resort since the price was so high for the poor experience we had at the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joeyjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I've stayed at a number of resorts near Two Harbors and Grand Superior has by far been the best. Cozy, updated, North Woods chic (we stayed in one of the Lakeside Suites). Very clean and comfortable. The Blu ice bar was really pretty amazing, complete with a fireplace, benches and a moose head all made of ice! Free snowshoes to use as Gooseberry Falls is just a couple of miles away. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0ffeelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were impressed by the location, staff, activities, pool, grounds, rooms, value, and view. We were very disappointed by the food. We (a group of seven) tried to eat there twice with the same results. Restaurant was basically empty and the food was just not good. Tasted like "old grease." Felt bad for the wait staff who were very good, but had to serve that food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Grand Superior Lodge we would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced at Splashing Rock Restaurant. I know they continually try to do their very best for all out their customers, but unfortunately they do fail. We will be relaying you valued comments to our kitchen staff so that they in turn will provide the exceptional dining experience we are known for. While certain aspects of your vacation did not meet you expectations, we are happy to read that you were able to enjoy the proximity of our resort on Lake Superior as well as the staff and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

What a great place. We have been coming here for the past eight years and it keeps getting better. The staff is curtious and spot-on, the rates are great, and we will be staying here for years to come. To Odyssey Resorts, Grand Superior Lodge, and Staff, keep up good work and keep performing to the highest standards expected of such a great establishment.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank krkfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for personally taking the time to write your comments and to give us this positive review. We have been working extremely hard to earn review such as yours and we really do appreciate the feedback. We thank you for your continued patronage with us and look forward to welcoming you and your significant other in the years to come.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have visited the Grand Superior on several occasions and it does not disappoint. During a recent stay however, we did note that some of the units were not up to their usual very high standand, but are nice none the less. Very spacious and right on Lake Superior...you can hear the waves against the shore both inside and out. Good location near several hiking areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacGregor892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write your comments and to give us this positive review. Our staff are very much dedicated to providing exceptional customer service to every guest, every time.
Thank you so much for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at GSL for the first time the first weekend in October for a wedding. The weather was very windy and cold so we never left the Lodge on Saturday. We were happy to have free movie rentals and a jacuzzi to pass the time until the wedding. The room was clean and the breakfast at the restaurant was good but service was slow. Our biggest complaint was the bed as it dipped and was creaky whenever we had to get out of it. My husband wasn't feeling well so didn't want to wake him. When I commented that for the price of the room, I thought they should get a new bed, the desk clerk just said she would have maintenance look at it and didn't offer any compensation. I also think for the cost of the room, there should have been bath salts included for the jacuzzi instead of having them for sale in the gift shop. Some of the exercise equipment did not work either.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor looked out over the lake, and we could see a wedding taking place on Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Joan,

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at Grand Superior Lodge. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had with the mattress in your unit. We are glad to report that the mattress was changed out shortly after your departure.
It was pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you were able to take advantage of some of the complimentary amenities offered at our resort including the s'mores and nightly bonfires.
We hope you will be able to give us a second chance in the near future to provide you with a better stay.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
448 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
543 reviews
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing