We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A premature but necessary review (customer service/booking)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Superior Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A premature but necessary review (customer service/booking)”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Disclaimer: We have yet to actually stay in the hotel

My husband called this evening to book a room at the Grand Superior Lodge. Our budget isn't enormous but our needs are few so we figured we'd give a call and see what was available since the Lodge is both beautiful and situated perfectly for access to the Superior Hiking Trail.

The gentleman answering our call was a total delight! I believe his name was Darren. He worked with my husband on the phone for nearly 20 minutes as they explored all the possibilities for lodgings that we could afford. My husband thinks he's sneaky but I'm positive (due to stepping out of the room during the call) that he has something up his sleeve and that Darren may be privy some sort of anniversary surprise by my husband as we never were able to have a honeymoon and our 5 year anniversary is approaching.

Regardless, my husband is often quite gruff of temperament and downright surly after dealing with many people but Darren must be a genius at customer service as my husband was practically whistling with glee after he hang up. Darren is a wonderful employee and I recommend everyone talk to him and that the Lodge management give him a big bravo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Anna A,
Thank you for sharing your experience of just making the reservation, we do often spend a lot of time on the phone describing and selecting the perfect fit, as other reviewers often comment on, for your visit. I hope your stay is/was special and you keep coming back to share your special days here with us!

All our best!

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    123
    55
    28
    30
See reviews for
172
213
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for five nights in cabin 502 mid June, was ok but could have been better. First night about 7 pm we realized we had no heat or hot water so called front desk and young service man came to our cabin. He made several excuses, talked a lot and fiddled around with the thermostat and left. Nothing changed at all over night as the guy said it would be warmer in few hours. We spent a lot of money for this cabin and were very uncomfortable with no heat or hot water until later next am. It was 37 degrees that night with cold wind from lake and wet snow at times. Next am we called front desk again and another service guy came and did a very simple repair by lighting pilot light in attic area which helped after few hours. Check out person did not ask about our stay because we would have asked for refund for first night. Remainder of stay was good except our lake view was only partial view and rest of view was cabin in front of us and we were told good lake view so that was very misleading. Also Splashing Rock restaurant in lodge has great food but service was almost not there both times we ate there so that is another black eye for this lodge. We did like the area as a home base for our travels further north and south and was quiet at night. Cabin was homey with nice kitchen area and was very pet friendly which we enjoyed. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin with lake front not lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaRee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear LaRee H,
Thank you for our feedback as it is the only way we can improve and I am sorry we did not solve your problem when it happened or by the time you left. We will make sure our maintenance staff know how to solve the issues that come up in 502 or otherwise and we have corrected the staffing issues in the restaurant so please feel comfortable coming back and please contact me at nick@grandsuperior.com to make sure you know we heard your comments.

Best,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was our first time in the north shore and had a great time staying at the Grand Superior. We went for the weekend and stayed in one of the lake front rooms. It was very relaxing. The room was spacious. Minor issue with the shower stall - it was dated, but it is a cabin type property so that was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: any lakefront would be good. the property is right by the lake, you would here it in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear docneneng,
We are so pleased you spent your first time on the north shore with us and you shared it with so many others! We continue to make our resort more comfortable and well maintained so thank you for sharing your impression!

Best regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Great place with very friendly staff. Cabin was spacious and comfortable. Great view of the lake and beautiful shoreline. Restaurant visit was poor and slow but outside of that, it's a great place to stay. I would highly suggest it and would visits again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank abrafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear abrafat,
We are glad you enjoyed our location!
Yet we are sorry you did not enjoy our restaurant, we strive to make sure every guest enjoys every aspect of our resort and if you contact me I will be sure to listen and see what we can do to ensure you feel comfortable trying us in the future!

nick@grandsuperior.com,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Grand Superior lodge is a fantastic resort for our family. The resort is very nice, the entire facility is clean and It's close to so many places we love to go and things we love to do. we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenncy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, General Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jenncy86,
Thank you for sharing your great feelings towards our lodge on the north shore! We aim to have every guest feel as you do and we hope your words encourage others to give us a try so we can keep seeing more and more people experience Grand Superior Lodge!

Best,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the most family friendly resort i've been too, but still had a luxury north-woods feeling to it. Rooms were very spacious, large refrigerator, microwave. 2 soft robes - i fell in love right there! It was rainy when we got there, so we played chess in the library, checked out a movie for our room with a complimentary microwave popcorn. (our room had a dvd player). They had tons of books to borrow as well. The pool was fun for the kids, they had extra goggles and dive toys in the pool. There was stuff to make bubbles and sidewalk chalk at the front door. They had a kids corner with coloring pages, scavenger hunt pages (for indoor and outdoor)
They have investment opportunities available here, and after one night stay, my husband was seriously considering it!
Customer service was excellent from check in to check out!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, and as you can see by the many recent Trip Advisor guest comments, we are maintaining our high standards and exceptional customer service. We were glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer at Grand Superior Lodge. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again to our resort.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Grand Superior Lodge for my son's wedding. We added two days to our stay for a short vacation as well. We loved everything about this location. The rooms were clean with great Lake Superior views (if you choose that room type). The restaurant food was excellent and the wait staff helpful and friendly although the service was slow. Nightly campfire/s'mores were fun - remember to play all the outdoor games near the fire circle! Group events are handled smoothly with great service. There were over 150 people at the wedding and everyone had a fantastic time. The lighthouse and falls, both within short driving distance from the lodge, are well worth a trip as well. I wish we'd had more time to explore the area and enjoy being at Grand Superior!

Room Tip: I loved my lake view room which costs a bit more. My son's mother-in-law was very pleased with h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSuperiorLodge, Public Relations Manager at Grand Superior Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, and your kind words. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We
are very proud of our Catering/Banquet team here at Grand Superior Lodge. They have built a reputation of excellence through their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction that was hopefully received at your son's wedding. On behalf of the entire staff at GSL, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Best Regards,

Grand Superior Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.6 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
8.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
10.7 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
17.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Superior Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Superior Lodge

Property: Grand Superior Lodge
Address: 2826 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Superior Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Superior Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Grand Superior Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing