We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient, priced-right!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, priced-right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We found the Voyageur very clean and comfortable for a stay near the Split Rock Lighthouse. I especially liked that coffee is available in the office from 5 am. The office staff was cordial and recommended a local restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Do NOT stay at this motel. The owner was VERY rude and unprofessional. She lost her temper for no apparent reason and showed absolutely disgusting and inappropriate behavior.

We had called to cancel our room for the evening and instead of politely stating the motels cancelation policy she immediately became rude, extremely unprofessional and short tempered. I then told her to hold the room and we would be there to check in. 45 minutes later we showed up to check into our room and she apparently gave the room away. With no place to stay that night, I became frustrated and reminded her I called to say we would be checking in. She continued to use foul language, rude hand gestures and inappropriate actions…all for NO REASON. I feel that a simple statement to me about their cancelation policy would have been sufficient. She was going to get paid regardless, but she chose to handle the situation in a very unprofessional and rude manner.

If you are looking for a cheap motel in the area there is one right next door which was fairly priced, with very friendly staff.

  • Disliked — Rude, unprofessional, and short tempered
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyrae80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mouse777, owner at Voyageur Motel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
This woman tried to cancel her reservation after 6 pm when the cancellation policy is the day before. She did know that because she cancelled another reservation the day before. I did not swear or use hand gestures, but I did call the police because I was concerned for my safety, as she was very irritated. Yes, I did rent the room to someone else, but she did not say that she was coming. I told her that since she cancelled so late, that I would charge her card "IF" I didn't rent it. I did rent her room and did not charge her card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Two Harbors hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
0.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
10.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
23.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Property: Voyageur Motel
Address: 1227 7th Ave., Two Harbors, MN 55616
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing