We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee as early as 6:30 am!”
Review of Voyageur Motel

Voyageur Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The Motel hostess was very friendly and helpful. If you need to stay in Two Harbors and do not want to pay the high prices of other area inns, Voyaguer Motel is a good option. Our room was not air conditioned, but had fans and was very comfortable. I will try to stay there again next year on out way up to Ely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

the owner is a horrible lady to deal with i have never been so mad at someone in my whole life. I have a 3 month old baby I asked her repeatedly if the rooms were clean she told me over and over that it was a very nice place and very clean rooms. The place is a dump there were drunks all over the place it was so dirty i wanted to stay somewhere else so i asked to get my money back because the place was such a mess. i didn't want to stay there with my baby i didn't feel safe and it was NOT clean at all. She was a horrible person to try and deal with. You cant talk to her at all she is a vulgar person! she also tried to over charge us for the room i went online and seen the real prices of there rooms she is a money hungry witch!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrissy2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We found the Voyageur very clean and comfortable for a stay near the Split Rock Lighthouse. I especially liked that coffee is available in the office from 5 am. The office staff was cordial and recommended a local restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Do NOT stay at this motel. The owner was VERY rude and unprofessional. She lost her temper for no apparent reason and showed absolutely disgusting and inappropriate behavior.

We had called to cancel our room for the evening and instead of politely stating the motels cancelation policy she immediately became rude, extremely unprofessional and short tempered. I then told her to hold the room and we would be there to check in. 45 minutes later we showed up to check into our room and she apparently gave the room away. With no place to stay that night, I became frustrated and reminded her I called to say we would be checking in. She continued to use foul language, rude hand gestures and inappropriate actions…all for NO REASON. I feel that a simple statement to me about their cancelation policy would have been sufficient. She was going to get paid regardless, but she chose to handle the situation in a very unprofessional and rude manner.

If you are looking for a cheap motel in the area there is one right next door which was fairly priced, with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kimberlyrae80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mouse777, owner at Voyageur Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2009

This woman tried to cancel her reservation after 6 pm when the cancellation policy is the day before. She did know that because she cancelled another reservation the day before. I did not swear or use hand gestures, but I did call the police because I was concerned for my safety, as she was very irritated. Yes, I did rent the room to someone else, but she did not say that she was coming. I told her that since she cancelled so late, that I would charge her card "IF" I didn't rent it. I did rent her room and did not charge her card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank player24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
2 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#1 of 6 in Two Harbors
553 reviews
23.2 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
552 reviews
5 mi away
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Address: 1227 7th Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616-1153
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing