We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Depot" Great museum.”

The Lake County Historical Society DMuseum
Ranked #9 of 15 things to do in Two Harbors
Attraction details
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“"The Depot" Great museum.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

For three bucks it's worth the stop. Interesting stuff inside. Loved the history of the railroad and the two locomotives outside. The Edna was closed, so we couldn't tour her.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WIstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made me smile”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Housed in the old train depot, this probably isn't the experience for the "serious" museum visitor. Think small town pride with all the things Aunt Edna's family donated when she died. Still, the whole thing made me smile. I only wish it had more on the iron ore industry and it's associated railroads. They do have the first and last steam engines to bring in iron ore to their docks which is pretty cool. I was glad to have spent the three bucks helping to preserve this little slice of Americana.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCabDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't miss the tour of the Edna G or the Lighthouse”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Even though the Edna G tugboat hasn't been out under it's own power since 1985, our tour guide Cheryl brought it to life for us. I find the efficient use of the space and functionality of all the equipment amazing. Cheryl explained how everything on the boat worked, how many crew and captains worked regularly, (since the boat worked everyday, 24 hours a day), even how the captain could adjust the accuracy of the boat's compass. The train museum was interesting as it followed the development of the North Shore. We stayed at the Lighthouse B&B so our experience inside the lighthouse was very different from just touring it. Climbing the stairs to the lights and looking out the portholes was fun, as was watching the lights sweep over the lakeshore and forest at night from inside the tower. (The Coast Guard maintains the lights so the last tower ladder up is theirs)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful History of the Area!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I love museums and had never been inside this one in Two Harbors, even though we'd traveled to the area many times. The museum was FILLED with interesting displays of the area and the people who settled it. In addition, for "train-lovers," there are amazing full-size trains outside that have been used in the area. Although one cannot go inside them, they are fascinating to look at and beautifully maintained. (Thank you, Sherry (sp?) for the additional information you gave us--verbally and in the pamphlet.) If you like history, this wonderful museum is a MUST! I understand that they have many more artifacts, but need more room. I hope this happens soon. For now, I was told they do change-out some displays. I am so glad we took the time to go through the museum! It was a highlight of our day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garwin, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Museums”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This group has done an excellent job preserving their history. They have 4 museums that are really interesting. The Lighthouse, Edna G tug, Depot & 3M museums cost $3pp but if you buy tickets to all 4 you receive $2 off for pp. So 4 people were $40 rather than $48.
On the Edna G we received an excellent tour by the tour guide! It's hard to believe it was in service from 1896 through 1981. The other 3 museums are self guided. The Depot was very interesting also. The Depot has been very nicely preserved. They have quite a bit of historic itmes in this museum.
We really enjoyed seeing a locomotive weighing over a millon tons! Just wish you could climb aboard. The 3M museum was ok. The Lighthouse was very nice, but when it's a self guided tour you just don't get as much out of the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lake County Historical Society DMuseum also viewed

 

Been to The Lake County Historical Society DMuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing