We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a very nice dinner.”

Black Wood's Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Had a very nice dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a nice sit-down restaurant that also has a bar. We can only speak of the restaurant. Large menu, kind of pricey but we did have an appetizer, salad, and dessert along with a fish and pasta dinners. The food was very good and plenty of it. Looked like several locals and 3 sheriffs eating among us, so its always comforting to know its not just out-of-towners. We would go back and recommend this to others.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbamtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    124
    81
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
315 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good Food - Fairly Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We ate lunch here as a family. I had the pot pie, a friend had the turkey open face sandwich and my wife had the pizza. The food was good, but this isn't an entry level sit down restaurant so that is to be expected. Service was fine, but again not outstanding. I don't think you'd be disappointed having a meal here, but I also don't think you'll be blown away and it is fairly expensive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EngelkingCGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Arkansas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stopped to a quick lunch and ate outdoors....food was good - average pub-style fare - and the service was good. Did not eat dinner or lunch, so can't comment on that. Menu covered all styles of food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arkies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Food, Average Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The food is good, prices are high. Serving size a bit on the large size. We were greeted and seated quickly. But we only saw our server when necissary, very little extra care. Restaurant filled with lunch croud many on a 2 hour stop between trains. I was jostled time and time by servers seating others. I was pulled to the table as close as I could go and there were other ways around me. Never did anyone appologize for banging into my back or chair.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I liked the food and the menu. I liked the outdoor eating atmosphere. It's a good place when your in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Wood's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Black Wood's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing