We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location, nice layout, fun times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, nice layout, fun times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were looking for a place to get away for a couple of days before school started up again and time became difficult to come by. I stumbled upon this resort on the web and found a "last minute" special rate for two nights. We stayed in a Cottage Guest Room which, as the name implies, is pretty much a standard bedroom with an attached en-suite bath. In fact, when you approach the exterior of the cottages, you open the door to a stairway that goes upstairs and there are two bedrooms - one on the front of the cottage and one on the back, each with it's own locked door. The Cottage Guest Rooms are located on the non-lakeside side of the property, so they basically overlook the parking lot and the grassland that is between the road leading to the resort and the resort itself. Not a bad view, but I kinda wished I had splurged a bit and paid extra for the Lakeside Cottage Suite which is the other upper-level bedroom -- for a little more space and for a view of the lake. One thing to know about these cottages -- they are stick-built like a home. So if you have noisy neighbors (we could hear people in the whirlpool tub in the next bedroom) or downstairs neighbors with bad habits (burning incense), you hear and/or smell it all. This was not horrible -- but I was glad we could open our windows and not run the air conditioner, which seemed to intensify the incense. The resort itself is run very well -- we were impressed with the campfires that are started each evening by the staff. Since there are several fires, it was nice to be able to move to a quieter one if the need presented itself. The views are amazing. The resort offers free "S'mores" kits, which was a nice touch. It was also nice to be able to go purchase a soda or other small item from the gift shop. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely return, but would splurge on a room with a view.

Room Tip: When it says "Non-Lakeview," it means you view the parking lot. However lakeview rooms se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    83
    31
    19
    7
See reviews for
118
206
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Larsmont Cottages never fails to deliver. We have been staying there since they opened. Can't believe I have never written a review. Northern Minnesota does not have many really nicely appointed, well decorated, places to stay. Larsmont is one of the places that actually does. Cottages that face the beautiful Lake Superior are painted in grays, blues with red accents. The bedding and furniture is top notch. Fire pits outside each cottage come ready to light. You can even ask a staff person to do it for you. Free s'mores fixings are available. There are lots of wonderful little touches. It's like camp-only more comfortable. Even though the prices continue to creep up, it is still our go-to place on the North Shore.

Room Tip: Cottages on either end of the property are quieter and closer to the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug_99938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is excellent, very crowded and was not able to enjoy peace and quiet. Room was nice but no chairs for balcony, really could not enjoy lake from room. Coffee was horrible in and out of room. Food was good but a bit pricey. If you want a beautiful location and do not require privacy it may be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Beautiful property, tastefully decorated units, very clean (thank you!), good amenities and very friendly staff! Really enjoyed our stay! It is nice to have the units at waters edge, but with that came a very small "backyard". So small that we felt like the neighbors were tripping over each other. We basically took turns playing bocce and croquet because there just wasn't enough room. No private patio time. Also I realize some people really enjoy the communal fire pits but we are not fans. The small seating area filled up fast so we felt like we had to opt out of the evening fires. We would've much preferred to sit by our own fire conversing with our own group instead of making small talk with strangers - besides, there's a great communal fire pit at the main building if you want to meet others.

Room Tip: If you want some outdoor privacy, see if you can request a unit with a larger "backyard".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbsiewert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Love the location, but could hear the neighbors even when they just talked normally. Staff very friendly, clean but dated unit, extremely small unit. Nice restaurant but pricey. would look at other options when returning to this area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MN-FIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location is outstanding . Cottages are close to Lake Superior, and the sound of waves join you all day + night long! Cottage decor and resort amenities are beautiful ... comfortable, cozy, just right. Community bonfires and s'mores ... simply delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The location can't be beat. Cottages are outrageously close to Lake Superior, and the beautiful sound of waves welcomes you all day long! Cottage decor and resort amenities are beautiful ... no "roughing it" at all ... comfortable, cozy, just right. Community bonfires and s'mores ... simply delightful. Nightime stars over Lake Superior at fire pits are touchable.

Larsmont is close to Two Harbors, so it's very easy to arrive with nothing and get food shopping done nearby.

I've visited Larsmont Cottages six times and can't wait for trip #7. I've grown up visiting Lake Superior. Larsmont is now my favorite place second to Venice, Italy. And for a treat, Canal Park in Duluth is nearby. Don't miss Gooseberry Falls and Splitrock Lighthouse.

It doesn't get much better ... whether it's a one-night stay or an entire week ... Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior are heaven.

Room Tip: Get a cottage that is lake side ... lake view means "view of the lake" ... lake side means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
15.6 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
6.9 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
20.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
21.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Property: Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing