We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet romantic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great quiet romantic stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This resort is very nice. It is quiet, has great decor, activities, fires by the lakeshore, yard games, bar, restaurant, and all around great place to stay. We have driven by here a few times over the years and have never stayed here. We will stay again here next time we visit the N Shore. Great location and close to a lot of state parks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your stay at Larsmont Cottages. You are very correct about being so close to so many State Parks, that is just one of the great perks of staying at Larsmont Cottages. We look forward to seeing you again at Larsmont Cottages during your next trip to the North Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    84
    31
    20
    7
See reviews for
121
210
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Needed a room for the night and lost my reservation (my fault). Called and managed to find a room, and what a deal it was! Nicest resort room I have been in; very clean, quiet, right on Lake Superior, patio with gas grille, very comfortable living area, great kitchen. Wish my house was this nice.

Best thing, though, was the staff. They really bent over backwards to make us comfortable.

I'd love to stay here for a week or so and see more of the area. Seems like a great place to relax.

Room Tip: There's a wide range of prices available, with rooms on the lake side much more expensive. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Larsmont Cottages. It is wonderful to hear that our staff made a positive impression on you and bent over backwards to make your stay a time that you would remember. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again. We look forward to the time when you can come back, and would love to offer you some tips on what to explore during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the second time we stayed at Larsmont and it was just as good the second time around. The town homes are well-appointed and have every creature comfort imaginable. The views are stunning and the grounds are taken care of so well. There's a sauna, a hot tub and indoor pool. We loved all of the seating areas around the property and in the main house where the restaurant is located. The staff lights all of the camp fires when it gets dark and they have marshmallows and chocolates for roasting. It's truly worth every penny, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Although there's really not a "bad" room at this location, you might find it worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We love to hear when we have repeat guests who are happy every time they visit. We also take great pride in making sure all the little details (such as the delicious s'mores, seating areas, and lighted campfires) are all top-notch for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at Larsmont Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best hotel experience I have ever had, the staff was extremely polite and helpful. The room was gorgeous and had an outstanding view of the lake. I look forward to returning to this wonderful resort in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Larsmont Cottages. We are so happy to hear that this was your, "best hotel experience," and we hope to create many more "unbelievable" experiences in the future for you! We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From the photos online and the reviews I was expecting a pretty good experience. I was pleasantly surprised when we opened the doors to our Lakeside Suite and it was even prettier than the photos. Our room faced the lake and also overlooked a babbling brook, which you could hear with the windows open. Just an amazing sound to fall asleep to! We didn't hear any neighbors unless they were outside on the adjacent deck, which was very rare. The grill had great food and service. Would definitely recommend this place and it's very reasonably priced for the location and rooms.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank courtneyw327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is just amazing.... Right on the shore of lake superior.... It has one amazing campus with superb maintained cottages and with one cozy ambiance.

I was here in a long weekend trip to North shore in Memorial Day weekend. Though i visited lot of places including north shore waterfalls and Lutsen Mountain but at the same time I spent a lot of time for photography in hotel campus -- the beautiful rocky lakeshore.

We thought we should come here again and spend little more time only in the hotel campus and enjoy the wild beauty of Superior.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had wonderful stay. We got a deal by staying before memorial day weekend. Our room was clean and comfortable (except the pillows)it had fireplace and a jetted tub. It only had one chair which was disappointing because we really enjoyed just hanging out in the room. The resort has nice amenities like a sauna and little fire pits with chairs in different locations on the lake shore. They offer massage but we went elsewhere due to the exorbitant prices (we went to The Eagle's Nest in Duluth and had wonderful massage)We tried the onsite restaurant and while the service was excellent, the food sadly was not. Maybe if they featured more local cuisine and paid more attention to quality and portion size. We will definitely stay here again, but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the lake. Why else did you come to this region? Enjoy the ever changing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamknowswhatshelikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
15.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
6.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
20.9 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
21.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Property: Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing