We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Island, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for the first time in August 2013 in a lakeside one bedroom. You know it's a great place when it looks even better (and bigger!) in person than in the photos. The unit exceeded our expectations - GREAT kitchen and grill, perfect patio, loved the 3 sided fireplace and used it a few times at night when it got a little chilly....great whirlpool tub (and huge bathroom). We are chefs, so we used the kitchen and grill for most of the 3 day stay, it has just about everything you need to make even fairly elaborate meals, which was a big plus. Was making impromptu gluten-free blueberry pancakes and realized I didn't bring baking powder and the kitchen at the restaurant happily gave us some for free, although we certainly offered to pay them. Really happy helpful staff, yet not artificial and overbearing. A great indoor pool for our 3 year old and the outdoor hot tub was fantastic for all 3 of us! Couldn't get much use of it at night, though, as there were some louder younger folks having a good time, but hey, I remember those days - just as easy to use the one in our room at night:) A phenomenal view, you could see the water from every room other than the bathroom and hearing the waves crash in while falling asleep was about as good as it gets, not to mention being able to smell the air and feel the breeze. The community fire pits were wonderful - day or night. Morning yoga on one of the cool, flat rocks on the water was breathtaking. We were also blessed with wonderful "neighbors" for the entire trip. A large family who let our son join in while they were playing in the yard, brought us a dish of wonderful Italian pasta and veggies while we were having wine and rocking our son to sleep on the patio one night - so we gave them the rest of our wine! All in all, it was probably the most lovely place we have ever stayed and this year we are coming back in a few weeks and staying for 4 nights. Hope to make it an annual trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't deprive yourself of a lakeside room. It is worth every penny. If you like to cook, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comment about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. It brings us great joy to read such a positive and wonderful review. We hope that these memories will last a lifetime and that you will continue to make more as you come back year after year. We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    85
    31
    20
    7
See reviews for
123
212
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

When we checked in they gave us a bag filled with everything needed to make smores. The staff was super friendly. They told us where the community fires were already lit, so we dropped our stuff in our room and enjoyed the beautiful view of Lake Superior while cooking smores over a campfire. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank loraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. We are happy to hear that you were able to take the time to enjoy our communal bonfire pits and roast a few s'mores. We hope the memories you made here last for years to come – or at least until your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Larsmont Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has many nice amenities and a good location on the lake but I would not stay here again. Our room was nice, but very small, and there was no housekeeping provided during our two night stay. Bed was not made, towels not picked up, no additional coffee provided. This lack of service was not mentioned on the website when I booked the room so we didn't know that ahead of time. Also, our room had a view of the parking lot. Staff was very friendly but we will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. With regards to not providing a daily housekeeping service, I do encourage you and all of our prospective guests to check out our website's Lodging Policies page (http://www.larsmontcottages.com/lodging/policies/). This page does detail our housekeeping policy. We also are always more that willing to provide additional linens, toiletries, and coffee at any time throughout your stay if needed. If you have any additional questions about this policy, I encourage you to contact us personally through our Contact Us page on our website. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stumbled onto this place after coming to Two Harbors! What a Gem. Booked a 1 bedroom which was small but delightful. As a flight attendant I stay in ALOT of hotels all over the world. This was clean and had everything you needed for the $100 for the night totally worth it because we were right on Lake Superior. We were able to sit by one of the many fire pits right on the water and have a fire. They even offer you complimentary smores!!! The wood is cut and they provide matches and newspaper to get it going. What a lovely night. There are also multi bedroom units with kitchens and livingrooms which look great. More than what we needed for our one day stay, but would be fun to come back with family. It somewhat reminds me of Disney Villas if you have ever stayed there. Looked to be bikes to rent. I wouldn't hesitate to come here again!!! Excellent front desk service!

Room Tip: Had the one bedroom and it was great perhaps one that faced the lake would have been a nice touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sthein7478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Larsmont Cottages.It really sounds like the Cottage Guest Room (the smaller room not facing the lake) was a good fit for what you needed for just one night, but it would be wonderful to have you back with a larger group to spend time in one of our larger units. We also are happy to hear that the front desk staff really made a positive impression on you. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The grounds and facilities are beautiful.....the cottages are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the fire by the lake each night. The restaurant food and service were outstanding. We appreciated the "quiet policy".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. We hope you made some wonderful memories and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from a very nice stay at the Larsmont. We stayed in a Waterfront Suite. Had a great view of the water. The room was small (and the bathroom huge!) but we really didn't need much space. The grounds are really nice and well maintained. The nightly fires are a really nice touch. It felt like everyone working there wanted us to have a nice stay. We hiked in the state parks nearby and rode bikes (free at the resort) to Two Harbors. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we truly do care about each and every one of our guests' happiness and experience when they stay with us. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from 10 days in the Minnesota Arrowhead region. We stayed in five different types of accommodations, but the Larsmont Cottage on the Lake was by far the very best! Here's why: TOTAL professionalism from check in, to the quality of the condo, to the service of lighting our nightly campfire for us to the pristine appearance of the shoreline and greenspaces. We spent hours around the fire ring with the waves of the Lake lulling us into total relaxation. First thing in the morning, we were back out there, reviving the campfire from the coals and watching the gulls and ducks find their breakfasts. One particular event will give you an idea of the serenity of this setting and the type of people you will be joining there. . . From the units, at least 4 curves of the shore can be seen, embracing the timeless rocks and boulders. As I was dreamily watching the waves come and go, a young adolescent girl climbed on top of a set of these rocks and began playing her flute, while her younger siblings played at skipping rocks. It was heavenly! From this peaceful setting, we retired to luxury bedding and the peace of a "room with a view." Top notch all around. I will seek out other Odyssey Resorts now that I've had this good experience.

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to pay for the Lakeside Cottage. It appeared that all of these condos (both ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0untryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. It sounds like you had a very unique and special experience during your time here, it is very cool to hear about the young girl playing her flute on the rocks by the lake. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We look forward to seeing you again at Larsmont Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
15.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
497 reviews
6.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
414 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
21.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Property: Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing