We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
302
89
34
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
89
34
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagemassage cottageledge rocklake superiornorth shorethe outdoor hot tubcouples massagewaves crashfire pithuge showerthree bedroomon site restaurantget awaygooseberry fallsguest roomsbeautiful resortheated floors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wow!!! This place is great. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights. We wish we had picked the whole week here. We decided to travel around Minnesota the week leading up to Labor day. It has been a great trip, so far. This resort is clean, quiet, and thought of just about everything. The entire facility was clean, the room is furnished nicely, although we did ask for more than 2 washcloths for a 2 night stay. There was not a cleaning service during our stay and they told us that upon check-in. We had the room that sleeps 2. 1 king-sized bed, a huge bathroom with a shower (that could fit 5+ people), twin sinks and a whirlpool tub in there too. 1 chair, a gas log fireplace, and a small fridge, microwave, a small balcony that oddly has not room for chairs. (people next-door brought their own chairs and looked a little snug up there).

We did eat breakfast at the Grille restaurant on the premises. It was a little pricey, but not having to leave the property for breakfast was a nice thing and the food was very good too. At night there are about 4-5 bonfires outside on the grounds that are stocked with firewood, adirondack chairs and S'mores ingredients. These bonfires on the shore of Lake Superior are timeless. There was a great looking pool and hot tub indoors, a hot tub outdoors, a sauna, and a massage center all near the main lobby/office. The restaurant/bar with indoor and outdoor seating is there too. It was hard to leave here after our stay. There was plenty of things for us to do in this region if we had 5-6 day stay. We did travel to and recommend going to---the Glensheen, Split Rock, Gooseberry, Duluth, Two Harbors, and hiking. For other meals we ate in both Duluth and Two Harbors. The town of Two Harbors is about 10 min drive north, and Duluth is about +20 min drive south.

Room Tip: Our 2 person, 1 bed room was upstairs and has a great view of Lake Superior and grounds. Definitely go to their website and also look for pictures of Larsmont on maybe google images. There were plenty for us when we were planning.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dbamtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your vacation at Larsmont. Shucks, we're bummed that you could only stay for two days as well, we would love to see you for a longer stay next time. We are happy to hear that you got to do at least a little bit of exploring while you were here and that you enjoyed your Lakeside Cottage Suite. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've stayed several times at Larsmont Cottages, and although we enjoyed our stay as always, we did find some things slipping a bit this time. Some of the furniture is showing wear, the cleanliness wasn't perfect, and a request for a corkscrew for the kitchen (which should have been stocked) was never delivered. Hopefully the worn furniture will soon be replaced and the cleanliness missteps won't be the norm. We still enjoyed our stay as the location is very convenient and right on the lake, and the accommodations are comfortable. We always select a one-bedroom lakeside cottage and requested one close to the lake, which was received. We find it is worth the extra expense to have a separate bedroom and the large bathroom, as well as the great room area with comfortable seating and a dining area separated by a fireplace and a full wall of windows across the front, in addition to a fairly well equipped full kitchen. You also have the advantage of walking out to the lakefront patio with furniture and a grill. While we dined out several nights, it was nice to have a relaxing dinner in one night, as well as being able to use the kitchen for breakfast every morning. We had two dinners at the on-site restaurant with mixed results. One night we had a light dinner with appetizers and soup, which was pretty good. The second night we had a full dinner and were not as impressed. We normally love dining al fresco, but the evening we ate on the porch was disappointing due to many bugs, a mouse scurrying around our feet, and a constant stream of people coming and going to the lobby - we'd recommend sticking to the indoor dining room. WiFi is free, but reception was very spotty. We stayed four nights and for a short escape to Lake Superior this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tvl4FunLakeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Larsmont. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time around. I can assure you that all of these are not the norm, and that they are the rare exception. We will be sure to pass these issues along to the departments involved so as to correct them for your next stay, and for all of our other future guests. We are happy to hear that you still enjoyed your stay as always, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and recently stayed here for a weekend birthday celebration. The resort is comfortable and very we'll-appointed. Even though we did not have the best weather, we had a great time because we were staying here. We went into the sauna and then a couples massage in the massage cottage. Unbelievable! Then we went to dinner at the Ledge Rock Grille witha six-course dinner at the Chef's Table. This is a gem of a place. With fire-pits scattered on the edge of Lake Superior, a beautiful setting. They give you s'mores fixings. So relaxing, so romantic.

Room Tip: Lake front,only way to go!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100REILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your vacation at Larsmont Cottages. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the chef's table, this really is a one-of-a-kind experience on the North Shore. I will be sure to pass this positive review on to our kitchen staff. We look forward to seeing you again at Larsmont Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I both work for very large resorts in southern Wisconsin. For us to get away and not "think" about work can be quite the challenge. This vacation worked. We were both able to leave work behind, and simply enjoy the beauty and serenity surrounding us. From our wonderful welcome at check in - to our upper suite with the fireplace, kitchenette, whirlpool tub and balcony, no complaints! Not to mention the most comfortable bed and soft sheets. We were in heaven. Watched the sunrise and the sunset, listened to the waves and walked on the rocks. Headed to surrounding towns to discover waterfalls in Gooseberry State Park, did shopping in Duluth, and all the time meeting happy people everywhere we turned. The property is strict about the quite time as well. 10:00pm - 8:00am, this was wonderful as we were not traveling with children and the serenity was something we looked forward to each day. To get away as a couple, as a family, take a trip to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Larsmont Cottages. We are so happy that your experience at Larsmont was just what you needed in order to leave work behind and have a truly relaxing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are ready for your next getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We wanted a place right on the lake and this sounded just right. I called and made a reservation for 3 nights, but when we got there we found we had a room for 2 nights. I should have read the reservation confirmation. I'd read the reviews about the small "guest room," so I wasn't surprised by the size. I was surprised, though, that the room didn't have at least a chair, pen, paper, or housekeeping. Another issue was the free wifi: it wasn't dependable. This made looking for another hotel and checking on flights frustrating. Apparently, the desk is not staffed early in the morning and there was no one to ask about the wifi.

On the POSITIVE SIDE, the grounds and main building are lovely. It seems to be a good place for families. There are fire pits right on the shore with comfortable seats. We enjoyed watching the stars and moonrise over the lake. And after our day-long hike, the hot tub was amazing.

It is a good place if you want a longer stay in one of the condo units.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms with a lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Front Desk Supervisor at Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Larsmont Cottages. I am very sorry to hear that we made a mistake with your reservation's number of nights, I apologize greatly for this. With regards to the WiFi, paper, pen, etc., so that you know for the future- we do have a computer for general use in the main lodge, and a comfortable seating area that you could bring your laptop up to, to use here (the internet signal is strongest in the lodge). We also have plenty of paper and pens at the front desk and we are always more than happy to provide you with either of these during your stay (we'll even deliver it right to your room). Hopefully for future stays, you will be able to stay in one of our Lakeside Cottages and really enjoy the full Larsmont experience. We are happy to hear the positive remarks about the grounds, the lodge, and the firepits; we take great pride in creating a clean and relaxing atmosphere for all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews