We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! A beatiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love it! A beatiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The cottage we stayed in at Larsmont Cottages was like a home away from home. Our cottage was roomy yet very cozy and comfortable and it was beautifully decorated. It was fully equipped with all the amenities you need for a cottage stay. There were plenty of dishes and cooking utensils, towels, board games, etc.

Each cottage has its own outdoor sitting area and barbeque grill. The resort grounds were beautiful and well tended. There were campfire areas for every 4-6 cottages that overlooked Lake Superior.

We ate at the Ledge Rock Grille one night. The food was outstanding with a lot of local flavor. The service was very good.

We booked a guided kayak tour through the resort and enjoyed it a lot. Most of us were beginner kayakers but that didn't matter. Our guide was very helpful and accommodating. Didn't make us feel like rookies at all! We also borrowed some bikes from the lodge and went on a bike ride. While there aren't any bike trails in the immediate area riding on the roads around the resort was perfectly fine since there wasn't a lot of traffic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Larsmont and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I highly recommend this place if you're thinking about a trip to this area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    87
    32
    21
    7
See reviews for
130
217
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

very nice resort....cute cottages...nice decore.....great food....lots of familys....hard to be romantic with kids running around

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeBuffalo_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Larsmont is a truly beautiful resort. The accommodations really leave nothing wanted. The resort is situated directly on the gorgeous Lake Superior, and the views are ridiculous. If you need to relax and want to stay in MN, try sitting down with a cocktail overlooking the beautiful lake in front of your own personal bon-fire. Nothing beats Larsmont in the Duluth area. It is within reach of 7 different national parks, including Gooseberry Falls, and Temperance River State Park (my favorite: it has a river flowing through a cave). Don't forget to stop at Betty's Pies either, they are divine.

The service was great and the rooms were amazing! The bathrooms were brand new and enormous, with corner whirlpool tubs, and a walk in waterfall shower. The bar was great and right by the hot tub. (This is outdoors!!!)

Only 20 mins from downtown Duluth for a great night out! I would give this place 6 out of 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlaine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I was concerned that the facilities would not meet up to my expectations but was happily surprised that it when it exceeded my expectations--in every way.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogrady43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braham, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The price for the room was too high for the size room we stayed in. It was barely big enough for the two of us (we are average-size adults) and our two small bags. We had a beautiful view of the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We planned a brief North Shore getaway and happened accross these cottages. Good price, right on the Lake, nice community fire pits. Yes our room was one of the smaller rooms, but we didn't plan the trip to hangout in our room. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed at Larsmont Cottages while in Two Harbors attending my class reunion. It was perfect for a little getaway with my husband. We chose the Lakeside Suite and it was perfect for two people. We loved opening the windows and listening to the waves crashing on the rocks at night. The room is not large (mostly consumed by the bed) but the bathroom makes up for it! There is good storage so we were able to unpack our suitcases to allow for more room. We were scheduled to stay three nights but added on an additional night because we were so comfortable and wanted to use the last day just to relax and really enjoy the resort. We cannot say enough about our great experience at the Cottages! We'll definitely stay there when we go "home" again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
6.8 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
430 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
509 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
21.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior

Property: Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Address: 596 Larsmont Way, Two Harbors, MN 55616-4045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larsmont Cottages On Lake Superior Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Hotel Two Harbors
Larsmont Resort Two Harbors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing