We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Larsmont Cottages on Lake Superior
Nearby Hotels
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Superior Lodge(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Breeze Motel Resort(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Point Lodge(Beaver Bay)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
302
89
34
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
89
34
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagemassage cottageledge rocklake superiornorth shorethe outdoor hot tubcouples massagewaves crashfire pithuge showerthree bedroomon site restaurantget awaygooseberry fallsguest roomsbeautiful resortheated floors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I decided to stay at this beautiful resort because we were looking for a place that had it all. We could have worked out in the mornings in the small gym that they have there except that they will sign you out a bike so you can enjoy what the area has to offer by riding. You can also enjoy the resort and surrounding areas by taking the North Shore Scenic Railroad train right from the front door of the lodge! If relaxation is more your style, then the numerous sitting areas right on the shore of Superior offer the sounds and sights needed. If that isn't relaxing enough, enjoy a massage in the massage cottage which is also located right on the shores of the lake. There is a sauna and a jacuzzi and an indoor pool for your enjoyment as well. The Ledge Rock Grille has an amazing selection of food, and Tony (Food and Beverage Manager) is more than happy to show his face around and answer any questions you might have. The service and amenities at this resort are top notch and I would recomend staying here if your journeys bring you to the North Shore!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvanasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in a queen suite for 2 nights. Very nice location and grounds right on Lake Superior. Our suite was lake front, and very quiet except we could hear other guests through the wall in their bathroom when in our bathroom.

There was dust on the mantle, and around accent pieces in the room. It was easy to see they were not picked up, just dusted around There was mold along the bottom of the shower door, under the sink drains and below the shower drain. The suite was small, with no side table for sitting to eat, operate computer, etc. One feather pillow on the bed was good, the other one looked rather old and was very flat. Went to the front desk and was given to very nice, plump, new feather pillows!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Love the heated outdoor eating area, campfire areas, and view of Lake Superior. Informed manager of houskeeping issues and hope for improvement as we would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnorthhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The cottage we stayed in at Larsmont Cottages was like a home away from home. Our cottage was roomy yet very cozy and comfortable and it was beautifully decorated. It was fully equipped with all the amenities you need for a cottage stay. There were plenty of dishes and cooking utensils, towels, board games, etc.

Each cottage has its own outdoor sitting area and barbeque grill. The resort grounds were beautiful and well tended. There were campfire areas for every 4-6 cottages that overlooked Lake Superior.

We ate at the Ledge Rock Grille one night. The food was outstanding with a lot of local flavor. The service was very good.

We booked a guided kayak tour through the resort and enjoyed it a lot. Most of us were beginner kayakers but that didn't matter. Our guide was very helpful and accommodating. Didn't make us feel like rookies at all! We also borrowed some bikes from the lodge and went on a bike ride. While there aren't any bike trails in the immediate area riding on the roads around the resort was perfectly fine since there wasn't a lot of traffic.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Larsmont and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I highly recommend this place if you're thinking about a trip to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

very nice resort....cute cottages...nice decore.....great food....lots of familys....hard to be romantic with kids running around

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeBuffalo_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Larsmont is a truly beautiful resort. The accommodations really leave nothing wanted. The resort is situated directly on the gorgeous Lake Superior, and the views are ridiculous. If you need to relax and want to stay in MN, try sitting down with a cocktail overlooking the beautiful lake in front of your own personal bon-fire. Nothing beats Larsmont in the Duluth area. It is within reach of 7 different national parks, including Gooseberry Falls, and Temperance River State Park (my favorite: it has a river flowing through a cave). Don't forget to stop at Betty's Pies either, they are divine.

The service was great and the rooms were amazing! The bathrooms were brand new and enormous, with corner whirlpool tubs, and a walk in waterfall shower. The bar was great and right by the hot tub. (This is outdoors!!!)

Only 20 mins from downtown Duluth for a great night out! I would give this place 6 out of 5 stars!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlaine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews