We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean rooms. Good and friendly service but why are we serving breakfast with plastic fork and knife?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vadnais Heights
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean rooms. Good and friendly service but why are we serving breakfast with plastic fork and knife?”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Great location, when you arrive by car. Comfortable rooms / beds and friendly and helpful service. Only question: Everybody goes "green" and here breakfast is served on paper plates and plastic fork and knife? Not sure if that is the right direction. We decided to go to Perkins from day two which was much better. Otherwise our stay was without any problems. We would come back for the location and the rooms. Value for money was good, we would rate it as rather good than very good.

Room Tip: So far only one room which was to the back. No noise, great beds and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are glad you had a positive experience with us. I would also like to mention that we are working hard to become "green" within our breakfast area.

On behalf of The Country Inns & Suites Vadnais Heights, thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay further or would like more information on our improving breakfast area.

Tyler Knutson
651-483-1625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    62
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
130
25
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I wish I could rate this at 3 1/2 instead of just 3, as it was slightly above average, but I wouldn't classify it rate it as very good. Our room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom seemed larger than usual. However, the towels in the room were quite scratchy and small. The air conditioner was a nuisance though and it took my husband several attempts to get the room to start to cool down, and once the AC kicked on, it flipped on and off every 5 minutes or so during our entire stay. The pool area was large, but the water was cold. We didn't stay at a time when the water slide was open, so we were the only ones utlizing the pool. The pool towels were tiny and barely covered our 2 1/2 year old son, let alone 6 foot tall husband. Breakfast was good - a wide selection of items to choose from. The breakfast area was big and accomodating, and the coffee was actually quite decent. Plenty of parking and some restaurants/shopping in the area as well, and it's directly off of I-35. Over all, it was a good stay for us as we basically just spent the night there passing through the Twin Cities, but I wouldn't have wanted to spend more than one night there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHaases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your experience with us. We will use your comments to fine tune our hotel for the future.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Feel free to contact me directly should you want to share any other comments or concerns.

Thank You
Tyler Knutson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

After admitting to an accident in our room by another child on our team, we have tried working fairly with the owner on recompense. Since the owner has abused the situation, and request we pay almost double what the television cost originally, without providing proof of that cost (and it is 2+years old), we will NEVER stay in any Carlson owned hotel EVER AGAIN.
I spoke with someone from Carlson corporate that I know personally. When I told them of the situation, they explained that they do buy the amenties and furnishings in bulk, at great discount, and they are insured for accidents of this nature, and that we are being fleeced. She explained the cost to be around $400 total, and we are arguing $640+tax and shipping. Country Inn & Suites actually charged my credit card TWICE for the tv before they even called me back to discuss options.
The other wonderful notes we made from the weekend is that the woman who polices the pool should work on her customer service skills as she is scathingly rude to customers.
A full soda cup was left by the elevator on the first floor for two days before someone picked it up. I am failry certain at least one employee used the elevator in the two day period and should/could have thrown it away.
Fire alarm was tripped. Manager went running through the lobby screetching about how this was the second time it happened (so you think he would be a bit calmer). Employees did not alert guests, and actually the pool attendant made the people not use the emergency exit near the pool, but go all the way down the hallway and exit the middle of the hotel (had it been a real emergency this could have been a fatal mistake according to the fire chief we were staying at the hotel with during the weekend).
Love the fact that the weekend we originallly were going to come back for...our room went from $89 to $166/$189 per night (nice).

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul Northeast. We are sorry that there was an incident that caused a television in the guest room to be irreparably damaged and need to be replaced. It is hotel policy at our establishment and an industry standard that damages to a guest room be charged to the guest and this is something agreed to upon check-in when signing the registration card. If you would like to further discuss this matter, please contact me at (651) 483-1625.

Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Vadnais Heights
cx_vhmn@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stay here every 3 months when I travel to N St Paul for business. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good and front desk staff have always been helpful.

Room Tip: I have stayed in lutiple rooms and all have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyRae15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your great experience over the years that you have had with our hotel. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the future so we may continue to provide the guest service you have come to know and enjoy. If there is anything we can ever do to improve your stay with us please let us know.

Thank You
Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

When I come to the Twin Cities to visit my parents, we repeatedly stay at the Country Inn and Suites in St. Paul. And even after repeated visits, it continues to be the perfect place to stay in the St. Paul suburbs. If you are looking for lodging in the middle of it all, or a fancy boutique hotel, this is not it. BUT...if you are looking for fabulous and friendly staff, great basic breakfasts, spotless rooms with comfy beds, and room for kids, then this is the place you want.

First, the staff. No matter who was at the desk or helping out in the breakfast room in the mornings, everyone was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. One evening when my dad's blood sugar (he's a diabetic) was very low, Brittany at the front desk was able to get him a a bit of food graciously and without any difficulty. Kassie, who worked the breakfast room in the mornings was so perky and friendly and clearly liked her job. Even the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was served daily from about 6a-10am and was very plentiful. Food usually consisted of oatmeal, yogurt, granola, kid's cereals, eggs of some sort, bacon/sausage muffins, bagels/cream cheese, and waffle mix to make your own waffles. There are healthy choices there if that is desired. Food was the correct temperature, and always being replenished. The breakfast room was always clean and welcoming.

Rooms are spotlessly clean. No strange odors, although after my room was cleaned, there was a stronger odor of cleaning solution that lingered for a few hours. Each room has air conditioning, which was great on those 90+ degree days. There is also a newly-updated exercise room that had a treadmill, 2 elyptical machines and a stationary bicycle, as well as a bench for weights and weights. Great for a good basic workout.

There is a pool and water slide, but I did not use it during this visit. There is also a spa/jacuzzi as well. The hotel has an agreement with the Gold's Gym less than a mile away: just bring your driver's license and room key, and you can work out there anytime during your stay for free! Excellent!

In terms of noise, rooms are quiet and outside noise is blocked well. There can be noise from the hallways, and the doors are quite loud when they shut. My room this time was right across from the ice machine, which was noisy, but just a part of being in a hotel I guess. But the rooms were still way more quiet than my apartment back at home!

All rooms include internet connections, and there is a business center with computer and printer - all equipment has been in fine working order on repeated visits.

Rooms go for $110-140 range generally (reasonable, considering the staff and amenities), and it is near several freeways, Target, Wal Mart and grocery store.

Overall, it really is lovely to stay at this hotel when I am in St. Paul. It is a great hotel, with friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfasts. And sometimes, that's all you need!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your great experience with your most recent stay at our Vadnais Heights hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and hope you chose to stay with us again in the future.

Thank You
Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here one night for an event in downtown St Paul. Location was good. 10 minute drive to downtown and close to Maplewood mall as well. The rooms were perfectly adequate. Clean and no issues regulating the temperature on a very hot day.

Breakfast was disappointing. Maybe it was bad timing, but there was no fruit to choose from (aside from one unappealing apple), the little egg still left was swimming in a pool of whatever liquid comes off scrambled eggs and they only had bulk vanilla yogurt instead of the usual individual flavored ones found at most complementary breakfasts.

At 100+ a night I expect more. Especially with all the competition in Minneapolis. Maybe the pool was something special. We didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandman847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I will address all of your concerms with my team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites St.Paul Northeast
651-483-1625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Super friendly staff that went out of their way to make you feel at home. Very accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryInnStPaulNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
On behalf of the staff of the Country Inn & Suites Vadnais Heights we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thanks
Tyler Knutson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadnais Heights
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heights
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heig...
#3 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul Northeast
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul ...
#2 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
6.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Minneapolis/St. Paul North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast
Address: 3505 Vadnais Center Dr, Vadnais Heights, MN 55110-5192
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Vadnais Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vadnais Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Interstate 35E and County Road E, the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul Northeast is your home away from home in the Twin Cities. With its close proximity to many area attractions, including Downtown St. Paul, Xcel Energy Center, Science Museum of Minnesota, St. Paul Cathedral, James J. Hill House and Maplewood Mall, you are just minutes from enjoying what St. Paul has to offer.The Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE offers complimentary continental breakfast with waffle bar, free weekday lobby newspaper, free wireless internet access, a business center, fitness room, indoor heated pool, whirlpool and guest laundry facility. The hotel also features a 90 foot weekend waterslide, which is open Fridays 5 PM to 10 PM, Saturdays 9 AM to 10 PM and Sundays 9 AM to 11:30 AM.At the Country Inn & Suites, St. Paul NE there are many room type choices available, including king and queen guest rooms, one bedroom, whirlpool and extended stay suites with microwave and refrigerator. All of our beautifully decorated guest rooms feature a work desk with ergonomic chair, free local telephone calls, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and cable TV with HBO and ESPN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St. Paul Northeast Hotel Saint Paul
Country Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing