We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
532
140
55
40
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
140
55
40
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area hotel restaurant amazing views our honeymoon gourmet restaurant junior suite glass of prosecco renovated castle luxury hotel beautiful property hotel management amazing pool local wine nearby town enjoy the view tuscan countryside wine list
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We spent 4 nights there in September while touring Italy. If we were just rating it on the view - it's a 5 star - but that's not all it takes to truly be a luxury hotel.

Room - We stayed in a sunset suite. It was new with a nice patio, sofa, king bed, etc. The bathroom appears new, but the shower/tub leaked all over the floor every time you used it. Told the front desk - no real response. We ended up using the robes to soak it up every morning and they were rarely replaced. Toiletries were also rarely replaced.

Food - We had heard how long it took to eat in the restaurants, so one night after a long day we ordered a simple pasta dish for room service. A $25.00 delivery fee was charged. We didn't notice that on the menu - our fault - but how ridiculous! A percentage, even high, is standard. We literally ended up with one $50 bowl of spagetti. They overcharged for the bottle of wine they brought with us. When we questioned it, the room service attendant argued, (even though we showed him the price in writing) took the wine back to check and he brought it back after he discovered we were correct. The breakfast room is beautiful but we had to flag someone down to ask for coffee every morning, it was never offered when we arrived.

Spa/pool - short hours, so no morning swim before you go out.

It has the potential to be an amazing place, but they need to hire a dining manager and housekeeping manager that can train the staff. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Don't think we will return.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Cuda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdV_Public_Relations, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Mrs Cuda,
we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. We are sorry that you encountered a few inconveniences during your stay, and we would like to express our full commitment towards all our Guests in order to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We checked on your comments about the shower and we are happy to say that it has been fixed thanks to the fact that all the Sunset Bathrooms are brand new, and the problem could not be fixed when the Guests are in House. We would have been willing to offer a complimentary room change if that had been your desire. Regarding the pool use, all our Guests are informed about the fact that service at the Pools starts at 10.30 am until 8.00 pm in the evening. Out of these hours, everybody can still use the pools that do not require any security assistance by Law and enjoy the beauty of our Thermal Waters.
We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast were all our products are home made by our chefs. We will try to check on the speed of the coffee service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future at Castello di Velona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I wanted to take my time to write this review. So here it goes. We stayed at this Chateau for two nights beginning November. When we booked we though it was a bit expensive but wanted to feel this experience. A treat for the end a wonderfull two weeks in beautifull Italy. We have travelled all over the world in all sorts of hotels so my comments are not from a person who has no idea of a 5 star hotel is.

The good:
1. The staff...just so nice and polite and want you to feel relaxed and welcome

2. Manuela...she is full of vitality and professional and knows her wines.She went out her way to for us. Great person. Thanks Manuela...you made us laugh. xx

3. The view. No words can describe this setting.

4. Baths...ho my God. Fantastic

Friendly recommandations:

1. When people travel to Italy, the want to eat the real Italy...the food was a bit to touristic. Go rustic chic.

2. 18 euros a glass of anything??? Too much.

3. Wine tasting tour should be free...you would sell much more bottles.

4. At the price the hotel charges a night, water bottles should be free. Nobody likes to beg for water. It just makes the experience cheap.

5. I would suggest little eating treats in the afternoon. Simple bites. So people can come and have their wine and talk...to make an ambiance.

6. Maybe a bit more staff.

We still recommand this hotel.

Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank reliableMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Castillo do Velona for 2 nights. A magnificent view but service was lacking. We had a sunset room but since it was near the indoor pool , it has that musty red roof inn smell. We asked to change rooms but we were told no. You could have a birthday waiting for a drink at the pool. We finally sat in the lobby and the bright spot was Manuela, the sommelier who went out of her way to make us feel welcome and cared for.
The food was edible but not much more than that. It’s certainly not worth the price tag.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Cathy746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdV_Public_Relations, Direttore generale at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Mrs Cathy,
good morning from Castello di Velona Resort. Thank you very much for appreciating the location of Castello di Velona Resort. We are sorry if you encountered a few inconvenience during your stay at our Resort. The reason why we couldn't change your room, was actually due to the fact that the Hotel was fully booked during your stay. For the benefit of our Public, I would like to specifiy that your room was located close to the pool area, where our Pools are fed with vulcanic Thermal Pure Waters. That means that instead of Clorine of ordinary standard Pools, our Pools do not smell of Sulfur like other Thermal Pools, but have no smell since the minerals contained in our Pools waters is Calcium and Magnesium which is actually Smell Neutral. Besides that, all the Sunset Rooms have Floor to Ceiling double windows with a generous opening toward the magnificent val d'Orcia, where fresh unpolluted air can refresh in any case, besides having an air conditioning indipendent system for private use in the bedroom (installed in 2015).
We have never received a complaint regarding indoor pools smell in the Rooms but we of course will verify your observation.
As far as service at the Pools, though our Guests are entitled to use the pools h24, Pool Service is opened between 10.30 am until 8.00 pm. Beyond this time schedule, if a Guest desire to be served at the Pool, we can still provide the service requested, but we cannot assure the same standard of time waiting as in the ordinary service time.
We are sorry if this caused a sort of inconvenience. We are happy that when in the Lobby where service was open, you positively testified the quality of our services by meeting Manuela, which is just one of the many Excellent attendants present in our Resort. We look forward to welcoming you at Castello di Velona Resort in the near future. We just would like to remind that effective 2017 we are the only dom Perignon Maison in Tuscany and Champagne Tasting are available along with Brunello di Montalcino Tastings.
Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for one night. We booked the “sunset” room. The hotel staff is very efficient, the pools of the hotel were amazing, and the room was beautiful, with great amenities, there is a nice bathtub with thermal water. And, more importantly, from the, let’s say, patio of the room, we could see an amazing sunset in Tuscany.
Because the hotel was so good, the dinner we had was disappointing. The first dish was ok, the second was good, but the third dish - the meat course - was particularly disappointing. My wife beef was over cooked - we asked for medium - and there was very little flavor in both our dishes. For the sake of fairness, when we talked to the maître, him and the chef had a new dish made for us, which was good. Overall, the restaurant is just not what you would expect for this hotel and for the price of dinner itself. From my personal experience, the quality of the restaurant has to improve.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raphael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Castello di Velona has no equal. An ancient castle overlooking the most beautiful valley in Tuscany, growing its own stunning Brunello wine, and piping hot thermal spring water up to the pools, to soak your tired body in. Not forgetting an exquisite meal and wine service, the most lovely caring staff, a healing day spa, and a peace and quiet not often found in resorts. It is bliss! We arrived quite run down from a hectic work schedule before leaving for Italy, and 2 weeks of full-on travel. Within one day we were rejuvenated. It was such a tonic. There is no pretension here - just, as others have said 'Respect, Professionalism and Kindness' - it is magical. Our room was in the old tower of the castle and had commanding views over the valleys from our round stone windows. We visited the old town of Montalcino and had a private lunch and wine tasting in the vineyard. Manuela - one of the most experienced Sommeliers in Italy, took us on a sensory tasting tour that was unforgettable. We were both blindfolded and tasted food and wine that pushed your senses to a new level. The breakfast is the best we have ever seen. Thank you Gianluca for an unforgettable stay. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The old castle rooms have a magical charm to them, but the new rooms have thermal water spas. It is not an easy choice!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews