We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem for snowmobiling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canary Beach Resort
Aurora, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for snowmobiling”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were looking for somewhere close to stay and snowmobile from without going way up to northern MN. By some miracle I stumbled on Canary Resort just about 15 miles south of Alexandria just of highway 29. It was less than a 3 hour drive from home.

Christine extremely accommodating and helpful on the phone...even when we had to delay our trip by a week due to unforeseen issues. The facility is first class, very sharp, well laid out and the cabins are amazing! Clean, new, great beds, fully furnished, stocked with dishes and cookware...what you get for your dollar is the best value we have ever had for a cabin rental, and we have rented all over the country. The cabins have in floor heating, a fireplace, TVs, DVD player, excellent showers. The cabins are well designed to accommodate high traffic without tracking snow all over the place. Hard tile floors downstairs make clean ups a breeze. It is very peaceful, very quiet and a fantastic get away location...yet if you need something (and we did) Alexandria is less than 30 minutes away with all the amenities of a thriving community...but you will want to stay at the resort all the time if you can!

Straight forward, honest and down to earth are the type of hosts you will have with Christine and Scott. They take great pride in their resort and have every reason to do so. It is outstanding.

The resort is about 1000 yards off a very well groomed trail that will take your north or south and connects with the entire DATA trail system. You can literally sled off your back porch, across the lake and jump on the trail. The drive and parking areas are well plowed, with plenty of room to maneuver and turn around truck and trailer.

Even though we had some major issues with our sleds, this was a trip we will remember the rest of our lives. Great memories were made with our family, and I am so glad we found the Canary Resort for our snowmobiling weekend!

Room Tip: Just tell Christine what you are planning, who is coming and what you want to do...she will take car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My group booked the Robin's View for a bachelorette weekend. Right away we were welcomed and felt at home. The cabin was gorgeous, spacious, and fantastic for a relaxing weekend. The kitchen was fully stocked with tools, the lake was pristine, and the owners were more than accomodating. We were taken for a private (adult) hayride that was one of the highlights of our weekend. We could have easily driven to Alexandria for shopping but never wanted to leave. We will definitely book again for a ladies weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kehelges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We camped and went fishing nearly everyday. Quiet and clean campground with great service. During our stay our vehicle broke down and Scott (the manager) was more than willing to shuttle us around to the auto shop and boat landing to minimize the impact to our vacation. He even took his truck to lake Amelia to get our boat and bring it back to our camp site. That generocity helped make our possibly bad vacation great. Thanks Scott!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Canary Beach Resort in Villard, MN

We arrived on June 26th From Lansdale, Pennsylvania.
We stopped in the lodge to check in where we were greeted by the owners Harold & Rosemarie Kraft and Scott & Christine Olschlager.
Canary Beach Resort is family owned and operated.
I guess that is why we were treated "like family." That is what makes this resort so special!

Our families received the keys for the newly built Ravens Haven & Hawks Hideaway! These cabins are a duplexes. One family on one side & the other family on the other side.
These newly built cabins were right on the beach. They were CLEAN, COZY, and SPACIOUS, for large families or single family.
Full size kitchen, private bedroom with queen size bed and bathroom with single shower on the first floor. Second floor had a queen bed, 2 twins, a futon
(comfortable beds) and a full bathroom with a bath tub.
A locked door separates the duplexes, or you can keep it open like we did.
The patio lakeside is where all of us enjoyed our first cup of coffee of the day!
Talk about relaxing!

Canary Beach Resort is a Very, Very kid friendly resort!
I did not see my children (3 boys, ages 13, 10, 7) much between the swimming, fishing from the dock, candy and ice cream at the lodge, and their cousins.

They also had paddle boats, water slides, canoes, tether ball, little tykes play equipment, and a huge play set!
There were also pontoons, sail boats, and fishing boats for rent.
Then at 7:00pm every night they have hayrides. Nothing better than a hayride and a camp fire with s'mores!!

I would recommend Canary Beach Resort to everyone! We will definitely go back again! The ride from Pennsylvania to Minnesota was a bit long, but
definitely worth the trip!!!

Scott & Rochelle Mohnke
& Boys

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Vista, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

we stayed the 4th of July week. The beach was wonderful even though the lake is up. we stayed in one of the new two bedroom cabins. It was a joy to view the fireworks from the upper level. This is a great family vacation place.

Room Tip: ask for the lake side cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the resort two years ago and it was nice, but now it is really nice. We stayed in the new Raven’s Haven cabin. It was by far the best cabin I have ever stayed in. It had flat screen TVs, DVD and Satellite. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked fine. The kids really loved all the swimming activities, and I really appreciated how the staff kept the sand on the beach clean of weeds and debris. I will defiantly come again.

My only gripe is that my cell phone service was sporadic (AT&T). Lucky they had Wi-Fi at the lodge.

Room Tip: Defiantly spurge for the new cabins, they are real nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wingnut457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Vista, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here while deer hunting in the area this fall. The cabin was very clean with good beds. There was lots of room in the cabin to store all of our belongings. The fire place and cable tv were a plus.
The owners ( Christine and Scott) went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the Eagles Nest of Robins View if you have a party of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Canary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Beach Resort

Property: Canary Beach Resort
Address: 17405 County Road 28, Villard, MN 56385-2346
Region: United States > Minnesota > Villard
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Villard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 lake front vacation homes/cabins on 1000ft of sandy beach with Lake WaterPark, canoe, paddleboards, paddleboat, shuffleboard, horseshoes, basketball hoop, playground, hayrides, barrel train rides, sand volleyball, dock fishing, game room/lodge, fish cleaning house, horseshoes, Event Center and bike/snowmobile trail nearby. Eight brand new vacation homes with in floor heat, fireplaces, full kitchens, several bathrooms, air conditioning, DirecTv and covered porches. Able to host: family reunions, scrapbooking/crafting retreats, Girl's/Guy's Get-a-ways, holiday houses, religious retreats, snowmobile weekends and wedding parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Canary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing