We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabasha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Ranked #1 of 2 Wabasha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
l'anse, mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It felt like home the moment we walked through the door and continued when we left two days later. The River Room Suite was so relaxing during our stay. The bed was so comfortable. We so enjoyed leisurely touring the Great River Road areas. Breakfast was a hoot with a farm table full of guests from all walks of life. The conversation just flowed. The breakfasts were first class. Thank you Michael and Patsy for making it all so special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
267
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent the past weekend in the Coniferous Suite at the Turning Waters Bed and Breakfast in Wabasha, MN. Our hosts, Michael and Patsy, were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Our suite was very comfortable and homey, and with snow in April, we made use of the fireplace in our room - very nice! Breakfasts were great! Michael prepared wonderful feasts to linger over. The living areas are comfortable and we felt comfortable making ourselves at home after a fun day of Eagle watching and sight seeing.

We highly recommend Turning Waters!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, WI
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I chose the River Room Suite for a weekend stay. This is an old Victorian house renovated to be very contemporary, which turned out beautifully. Bedding was so comfortable. I had asked about breakfast in our room which was no problem at all. Only drawback here was no table/chairs in the room to sit at. This was truly minor. Food was brought up on a nice stand and there is comfy seating in the room. We chose to eat in the dining room on the second morning which was great too.

Michael was a personable, generous host. The best thing about the whole weekend were the breakfasts! These were some of the best we've ever had and we've probably been to close to a hundred B and B's. Creme brulee oatmeal, gorgeous fresh fruit, sausages to die for, and cinnamon twist bacon. MMMMM Also fresh organic milk and juice to wash it all down.

There were only two things I would suggest for improvement and these are relatively minor. This B and B does not have satellite/cable. I would presume this is to promote a relaxing stay- which worked for us- but we also like to be able to watch TV in quiet without the kids interrupting. (This is only our personal preference.) The other thing which might be beyond their control is that we were able to hear everything going on downstairs from in our room. Most likely the result of the old house where everything echoes throughout. However we weren't able to hear other rooms. Go figure. Neither of these things hindered our weekend and I would most DEFINITELY go back for another stay.

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for quality time together or just an overall quiet, relaxing, getaway. One of our best weekends away!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amzehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This B & B was a real gem. Great 100 year old house (or there about) that has been decorated beautifully and very tastefully. We stayed in the Great Lakes Suite and were very impressed with the huge 4-poster bed. Amazing! The food was outstanding and Richie was a wonderful host-- very personable, friendly, and very accommodating. We will be staying again I'm sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim55375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

If you want to have a wonderful weekend - a perfect blend of relaxation and fun - visit Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure. The B&B is warm, welcoming, charming and comfortable. Nestled in quiet Wabasha, Turning Waters pampers guests with beautiful rooms with soft, cushy furnishings (the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in) and the absolute best homemade breakfast you could imagine. A weekend at Turning Waters gives a great balance of relaxation and activity. Choices abound for outdoor activities like fishing, hiking, kayaking and birding. Wabasha offers cute shops, unique dining experiences and a one-of-a-kind attraction in the National Eagle Center; all in walking distance from Turning Waters. After three visits to Turning Waters, it's our go-to get-away favorite!

Room Tip: The Great Lakes room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDMILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I just spent 2 nights in the Prarie Room. The room was quiet with quaint decor. A private bath was just down the hall. I needed a break from a year long IT project and this was just what the doctor ordered. The house is very spacious. The living/library area and dining room give you a feeling of privacy. The decor is clever with many interesting objects that seem to blend well. The breakfast was outstanding. Our host Richie, seems to have a nack for this business. He is warm, gracious, and a lot of fun to be around. For this weekend he was alone as his partner was on vacation Everything including the gormet breakfasts came off without a hitch. Pretty impressive.

I have spent many nights in B & B's throughout the country. This is an outstanding GEM !

Room Tip: For a single room the Prarie Room is the best. For couples go with any of the 4 suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I chose this B&B as part of a weekend I planned along WI-35 starting in La Crosse and stopping at numerous places such as Fountain City, Alma, Nelson and Pepin. It just so happened to be surprise weekend getaway that consisted of plans to camp, which I never made. Instead, I booked the amazing accommodations of Turning Waters. The next day I proposed to my beautiful fiancé just down the road while out biking. The service, food, hospitality and all around comfort of our stay has us planning our return. All in all, it was the perfect accommodations for a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabasha
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
17.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
13.4 mi away
Willows on the River
Willows on the River
#3 of 3 in Lake City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 2 in Mondovi
25 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wabasha
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure

Property: Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast and Adventure
Address: 136 Bridge Ave, Wabasha, MN 55981-1499
Region: United States > Minnesota > Wabasha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wabasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turning Waters is not a traditional Bed and Breakfast; it is set apart by holding the spirit of travel and adventure in highest regards - bold travel, soft beds and nature’s wonder. Our environment epitomizes love of comfort, travel and adventure and I hope you can take something from it and make it your own to satisfy your soul and spirit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing