We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stop”

Slippery's Tavern and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Wabasha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really great stop”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped into this restaurant on a sight seeing trip along the Mississippi River and really liked it. It is in a beautiful little town and this restaurant sits right on the river. You really cannot beat the gorgeous views of the river from this place. They had a large menu with a good variety of offerings. Our server was very friendly, and we really enjoyed the overall experience. The food was good but not great. However, I think you hit this spot for it's amazing river setting and perhaps for a little "Grumpy Old Men" history :) I would definitely stop here again if I were in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    75
    35
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Slippery's”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The food is excellent, all the personnel are great. The Owners are so friendly and willing to help you out in any way. I can't say enough about Slippery's. You have to go there to experience it, believe me you will feel like family.

Kathy Harris

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
242 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice remodel”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Slippery's has just remodeled their bar area and it has very much improved their atmosphere! It has opened up the dining area so more can watch the river flow by and see eagles fishing the river. The food is really good and the menu keeps improving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food! Great times!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We ate here after a long afternoon on the slopes and the food was great! We enjoyed the jukebox and the pool tables!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's butt cold out here but these guys are not out of beer”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

nice bar and restaurant made famous by the movie Grumpy Old Men. Food is good... prices are not bad. Hot drinks are exceptional. Our most recent visit was in February. You could see many Bald Eagles from our table overlooking the river. Of course this is not unusual for Wabasha in February. Not a bad place to stop by and have a drink or a good meal. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank AdmiralBigGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slippery's Tavern and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Slippery's Tavern and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing