We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chase on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spent July 4th weekend here. When you book a vacation with a resort on a lake you expect there to be a swimming area and a beach but you won't find that here. Yes they do have a beach and a swimming area but it was roughly the size of our family room. The swimming area was directly behind the boat docks and the boundaries of it were the boat docks themselves. The swimming area is basically shaped like a triangle, walled in on 2 sides by boat docs and the third being the sand beach. There was no room to swim, play, or ride on the ridiculous kayaks they make available for use at the "beach". Walker is a beautiful town and Leach Lake is incredible, just don't waste you time or money at this place, unless your goal is to rent a room at a hotel that you can also dock your boat at. The hotel is old, and yes that does add to it's charm, but that basically means that it doesn't offer the many amenities that modern hotels do. FYI, it is 3 times faster to use the stairs to get to your room than to wait the 90 seconds it takes to call the elevator then ride it up to your floor. The one thing I do commend them on is their indoor pool. They have a heated pool, a cool pool, and a hot tub. It was nice in there, but we wanted to be outside on a beach and we did not get that at Chase on the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evilchad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    78
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
131
147
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in 2 bedroom suite w/ full kitchen, living room, dining area and a bathroom suite. Beautiful decorated, comfortable beds, lovely views and sunsets. Restaurant menu and service was very good. Hotel marina had boats, and water bikes for rent. The pier has seating to relax and enjoy the view. The hotel supplies s'mores fixing to eating while sitting around the bon fire during the evening. A very relaxing vacation is natural beauty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had been to Chase many years ago and frankly it was run down and falling apart. We returned in August 2011 and were very impressed with how elegant and perfect everything had been renovated. The entire facility was impressive. Our two bedroom condo was excellent. We have never been anywhere as clean as this condo was. The pool was super, and the food was very good. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We rented a speed boat and had an incredible day on the Lake with no issues.

We would highly recommend Chase on the Lake to anybody.
The Eitels

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We used the crowd cut coupon and stayed in the 2 bedroom 1 bath condo. We were able to check in early, which was great!! Our crown cut coupon also included breakfast at the 502 restaurant in the hotel, which was fabulous!!! I was expecting a continental breakfast with loads of carbs. to choose from, but when we came down for breakfast, we couldn't believe the choices we had. It was a great surpirse. The best part was the indoor pool and private boweling alley. My kids had a ball, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbud525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

What a great place to stay while visiting Walker, MN. Clean and comfortable with a wide array of activities around the property including great food and drink at the restaurant and bar on the premises.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wino1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estherville, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We went to the Chase for our 10 year anniversary and had a wonderful experience! All the employees were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and what a great value for the selection! We had fabulous dinner at 502 restaurant and great view of the lake from our balcony. We also had a couples massage at the spa and I followed up with a pedicure-very nice facility. I look forward to going back with our kids to enjoy the beach, the Wii room and bowling alley! One drawback is if you're in building 2, you have to figure out how to access the pool and restaurant via two different elevators and building 1.

Room Tip: Website had great info but made the reservation via phone and that's were I learned about breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillHouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We used a Crowd Cut promo coupon so got a fantastic deal! Our reservations were made promptly with friendly and helpful staff. We were greeted warmly and friendly and we were able to check-in early as our room was prepared for us as soon as they could. We had a 2 bedroom suite - gorgeous! I felt like we should be throwing a party! (just 4 of us). The beds are set with beautiful and clean white linens, the rooms decorated with beautiful dark woods and granite. The staff is respectful and friendly. Our package included the breakfast buffet - fun (make your own waffles) and great food! If we can afford to go back we will!

Room Tip: We didn't have a lake facing room, but the quaint city of Walker with it's little shops was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
57 reviews
25.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
25 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
7.9 mi away
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Akeley
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Property: Chase on the Lake
Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing