We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in Walker”
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chase on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Backus, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stay in Walker”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved the two bedroom two bathroom condo unit that we stayed in. Even though we live relatively close to Walker, it's nice to get away sometimes and Chase on the Lake is a favorite destination for us. The mid-week special that we booked made for a truly reasonable rate for a very high quality room. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your getaway here at Chase on the Lake and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    78
    46
    26
    17
See reviews for
131
147
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Unique, luxury property exemplifying a small town, northern Minnesota lakeside location. High ceilings, granite and tile bath, and a wonderfully comfortable bed are retained in a solidly sound proofed room.
It's the third time I've stayed and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've been staying at Chase for several years, alternating between it and another property depending upon how many of us are traveling together. Their 2-bedroom 2-bath condo units give all the comforts of home, including full kitchen, separate dining and living areas, fireplace, and in-room laundry. We take advantage on online booking and their email alerts to get a break on rates when we can. The only downside is their 30 day cancellation policy, which makes it tough when travel plans are fluid.

Room Tip: Sign up for their newsletter to get the really good, short term deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RABledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselton, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent a night here when we went to a concert at the Casino. The Chase actually had better pricing than the casino. We chose not to eat at the hotel and tried some of the local places. The bar in the basement is nice.

The rooms are okay. Small TV's but hey, are you really there to watch TV? We had a lakeview king with out a balcony. Bed was good, comforter was weirdly lumpy. Bathrooms are very small. The door almost brushes against the toilet when you open the door. Walls are thin. You could hear the people talking in the next room and you could hear water running in the pipes.

If you are planning on going and want to use the spa....plan ahead. I tried a week before to schedule a massage and they were booked. They must be good:)

Parking lot space is limited!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in the Lakeside Condo for a weekend getaway. The service was excellent and the Spa was unbelievable!! We stayed there in March and it was in the off season, so the rates were very good and it was quiet and peaceful. Had a wonderful time and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent 2 nights king lake front room. A little disappointing, safety latch on door missing, heater had one setting full blast our room was next to the fire escape and was being used by other visitors and waking us up until 2am in the morning! The comforter on the bed was terrible it was so lumpy.
We had 2 dinners at 502 the first was great the second not so great, I think the chef must be different then the one they had in the summer, because the food was great last year. Lunch was terrible, not many customers and out fries were cold and hots sandwich cold. Buffett breakfast not impressive, wished we had gone into walker to eat. The pool was great and the location is great. This hotel is over priced for what it is, it really needs an update as looking very rundown. The bedroom needed a good clean, it was so dusty!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajh697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Chase on the Lake, as we value all customer feedback. I am sorry for the lack of attention to detail on the room cleanliness and the security lock on the door missing. I would also like to apologize for the restaurant not meeting your expectations from this past summer. We will be discussing these issues with the appropriate managers to ensure that each employee is aware of the issues and make sure this does not happen again. If you do decide to visit Chase on The Lake again please feel free to contact me and I will personally take care of your next reservation with us. You can reach me at 218.547.7777 and my name is Jesse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

"Chase on the Lake was a real disappointment. Their staff at their "Ice Bar" lied us when purchasing admission to the tent at eelpout festival. We were told along with MANY other that we could purchase a wristband for $10 for 1 night admission or purchase a button for $15 for 2 nights of admission to the tent. Everyone in our group (roughly 20 people) purchased buttons on Friday night. When we returned Saturday night we were told the buttons would not work for admission and we would need to spend another $10 per person to buy a wristband. When explaining the situation to the "security personnel" the worker became very hostile. I asked to speak to his manager and he said "you have to go up to the hotel and find them if you want to talk to them" I agreed and asked what his manager's name was. He said "I don't know their name." I was baffled by the ignorance of his response and said "You don't even know your manager's name?" The "security guard then became extremely upset and called over his enforcements yelling "These guys gotta go!" repeatedly. Mind you, I am 5'2" and about 120lbs, so I'm sure the extra enforcements were a must.... After walking up to the hotel to find this mysterious manager that no one knows the name of, we were directed to speak with a different security guard who was very friendly, but also had no clue who his manager was or how to help. I left my name and number with the front desk and was told I would receive a call back from their Operations manager shortly. After 2 hours of waiting I called the front desk again and was assured again that she would call me back, she was just busy due to several fights that broke out in their tent. I never received a call back that night at all and I left another voicemail with her at noon today. It is now 6pm and still no call. This is by far the worst customer service I have ever received from a place who states they are in the hospitality industry. Save yourself and your family the headache and disrespect and find another place to stay when you're in Walker, MN because Chase on the Lake doesn't even know the basics to good customer service."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
56 reviews
25.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
25 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
7.9 mi away
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
Crow Wing Crest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Akeley
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Property: Chase on the Lake
Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing