We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“502 Restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chase on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Esko, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“502 Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have a cabin in the area and frequently visit the 502. We were deeply disappointed on Saturday, July 5th when we stopped for lunch with our family who wanted to treat us to lunch. There were 2 families ahead of us at the host table, both families left. We were told there was a 45 minute wait. Half of the tables were empty. We asked why all of the empty tables and were told they were only half staffed and couldn't accommodate all of the tables. This was a huge holiday weekend for the city of Walker and they weren't fully staffed? We sat in the bar area and waited for 10 minutes for someone to serve us and never did, we left and had lunch at the Lucky Moose. In those short 10 to 15 minutes that 3 families were waiting to be seated - all 3 of the families left and the Chase lost the business. I know all other weeks the Chase has a slim crew, but I don't understand it for the 4th of July weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnP688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to our 502 restaurant. I would like to apologize that the restaurant did not meet your expectations. We appreciate our guest's comments and we will be discussing these issues with the appropriate manager to insure that these problems do not happen again. If you do decide to give the 502 a try again, please feel free to contact me and I will be sure that you are taken care of. My name is Jesse and my number is 218.547.8512.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    74
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
122
141
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Chase. We stayed in a classic 2 Qn bed room. It is a bit small but for a short stay is fine. The room was clean and decorated nice. We had an end room and it was very quiet. Easy to get around resort. Walking distance from many restaurants and stores. We had the breakfast buffet and it was priced good and was delicious. Actually better price than local restaurants that were recommended. I would have given it a five star but everything was "a la carte." I would have expected that the beach activities would be free for non-motorized equipment and lower priced for jet skis and boat rentals. We were able to get a deal on the jetskis.

It would be nice if there was a toured boat special for small groups of people or for fishing with the kids.

Management should ask employees to smoke somewhere other than the front door and to tell the to "sell" the "extras" that Chase has to offer. We were told and heard other's told to go elsewhere to eat etc.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is ideal. No noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to bring it up to fellow managers that we need to make sure that everyone knows were the designated smoking areas are and to make sure they are informing guests of the extras we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom condo as we had three couples and two small children for our family. The location of the resort is great, located right on the lake and within a couple blocks of the main street for shopping. We were in town for a wedding and needed space that had separate bedrooms for the couples and room for the kids to move about. We cooked in for most of the meals and the kitchen worked great. There was a BBQ grill near our location for making steaks and brats for two meals, and we had a large lasagna dinner another night. The beach was a one minute walk from our unit and the beach was small but very appreciated as our kids were little and loved to wade and play in the sand. The guys used a charter guide and boat from the resort for a few hours and this was a disappointment as few fish were caught. Once the guide switched to minnows, fish were biting, so unfortunately, he held off on the good bait till the end. We had time in the pool and hot tub area and it was large, uncrowded, very well managed, and appreciated as well. We received extra baking dishes and towels when requested. The furniture was comfortable, the living space a bit narrow for a group of 8, and the bedrooms were large with great beds. One bedroom had a private bathroom attached with a large walk-in shower and the 2nd bathroom was smaller with a tub/shower combo shared by the other two rooms. There was a washer dryer in the unit. Seating for dining was limited for us as the table had 4 chairs and the counter had some stools so you couldn't all fit at one table together. The living room had one couch and one easy chair. The patio deck had a wicker glass topped table with 4 wicker chairs. When we had 13 dining for one meal, we brought in chairs from the patio. The views from our unit were a parking lot, but a quick jaunt brought us to the lake for lake views. We had a bonfire that was set up for us on the beach. We were in the area for a niece's wedding so that was our main activity other than being at the resort. We didn't have time to explore the town, but cute shops and small cozy restaurants are nearby. I also heard good reviews on the breakfasts and especially the walleye dinners at the resort. The condo is high priced for weekends, and more reasonably priced for weekdays.

Room Tip: We walked through the bar area to get to the pool and the music was great, but if you had a room nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and nice review. We are happy to see your family enjoyed their stay here at Chase on the Lake. I will be sure to pass this on to my fellow employees. We hope to see you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are always happy and pampered when we stay here. It's got great view and the staff are very helpful and nice. The facility is beautiful and you can walk to places. My kids love to play on the beach and go boating at this place.

Room Tip: When facing the lake, rooms on the left side are quietest. It's awesome if you can get a place w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and ratings. We are happy to see the whole family enjoys staying here at the Chase. I will be sure to pass on the kind words to the rest of the Staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I grew up near Walker and had heard about Chase on the Lake when I was a kid. I had never stayed there but was always curious about it. So 40 years later my husband surprised me with a two night stay. The years have been kind to Chase on the Lake. The grandeur of the hotel has remained intact. The place is beautifully restored and it has a feeling of nostalgia. We ate in the restaurant for breakfasts and dinners. The food was wonderful, especially the seafood mac and cheese! The bike paths nearby are scenic and the town is fun to explore. We will definitely return to Chase on the Lake!

Room Tip: Lake view is great. Make sure the climate control is working. The second night we were there we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Chase on the Lake. We look forward to seeing you guys return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devils Lake, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at Chase for our 10 year anniversary and it was absolutely wonderful! We went for the lake view room, it was beautiful and worth a little extra. The food at the 502 was GREAT, our favorite was the Boom Boom Burger and onion rings…gotta try it! The bar had live music which was also wonderful. Can't wait to go back again! Great Job Chase on the Lake!

Room Tip: Go for the lake view room, beautiful all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed one night in a balcony room overlooking the lake. It was off season so it was really quiet and lovely. It was a little too cold to enjoy coffee on the balcony but just the thought of the option was great. Staff was friendly. Overall wonderful experience. Room was spacious with living room area (kind of studio apartment style but great).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the balcony room overlooking the lake. You won't be sorry,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseManagement, Manager at Chase on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#4 of 8 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
25.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.7 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Property: Chase on the Lake
Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing