We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Chase on the Lake condo”
Review of Chase on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chase on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We took advantage of a mid-week August special and rented a lake-view 2 bedroom condo for 3 nights. The condo had a well-furnished kitchen, gas fireplace, one bath with a walk-in shower. We never did learn to take a shower without getting the rest of the bathroom wet, but we liked the jets that came out of the wall to massage the back. The view of the lake from the 3rd floor was great. We saw 2 eagle flying close by one morning. We could hear the loons. We had to look over the "lakeside condo" building that was between us & the lake but that was not a problem. I'm not sure the second floor of our building would have such a good view. There was a walkway from our building to the main hotel where the pool area and restaurant were located. We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner at the restaurant & enjoyed them all. There is a nice view & a beautiful lakeside patio if the weather is nice. The pool & hot tub were also nice & not crowed during the weekdays we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2drifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 408 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

We recently stayed here and paid a hefty sum for a condo style unit for 2 night. Both nights the hotel had weddings and both nights they did not patrol the floors to curb parties after midnight. Throw on top of this some drag racing in the parking lot and people yelling across the lot to friends at Zona Rosa and you have an expensive Motel 6.

The hotel is designed nice but falls short of its upscale marketing since it seems to cater to the local 20 something crown for karoke at the 502. Do not plan on sleeping from 11pm - 3am each weekend night of your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We recently stayed for one evening as we were passing through Walker, MN.

We are familiar with Walker as we visit frequently during the summer months. Chase on the Lake has been in construction phases for many months and opened the hotel during 2008. We stayed in room 1304. It is a king room with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It faces the downtown of Walker and has three windows. It was very clean and decorated to replicate the hotel in earlier days.

We used the swimming pool and whirlpool. That area is small but clean. We ate in the 502 restaurant twice. The food was good/not great. They also had a DJ playing in the bar at night.

The weather was chilly the day we were there. During the summer months, I would guess that the beach would fill up fast as the area is small. A plus is that the paved bike trail is right outside the door and connects to the Paul Bunyan Trail or Heartland Trail. You can bike 22 miles north to Cass Lake, or 28 miles west to Park Rapids or over 50 miles south on the Paul Bunyan to the Brainerd area. I believe that they also will have a docking area for boats.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotraveltami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Chase on the Lake was great. I would not however, recommend visiting the Walker area. We visited for the annual eelpout festival and will never go back. Walker clearly does not want outsiders intruding upon their festival and we did not feel welcome. Our entire extended family visited and the DNR and local law enforcement personnel harrassed us to no end. Even stopping the young folks more than once for ridiculous reasons (we though you were driving a stolen ATV, we just want to warn you not to drive recklessly, etc) We truly were not doing anything wrong, except enjoying the festival and our time on the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoccerTease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

My wife and I stayed in Room 1306 and absolutely loved it. Its balcony overlooks the lake and the hotel is a few feet from the water so the sounds and views are amazing. We felt like we were in the Pacific Northwest. The rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated with prairie style furnishings. We also dined at the on property 502 Restaurant and also enjoyed it...great food and wonderful views.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maui08Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Chase hotel had only been open a matter of weeks at the time of our stay, and to my wife and I this meant two things: "bugs" to be worked out, as with many things new, and the extraordinary cleanliness that also comes with the new. We found fewer of the former, and more of the latter.

The Good:
The main hotel building was mostly done, with perhaps only a few odds and ends to be finished. The connected spa building was still heavily under construction. This was not a bother for us, at least on the weekend we were there. The surroundings were very nice, very traditional, and likely in the spirit of the former building. The hotel has a very dark-wood, mission-furniture-type atmosphere, which really gives the property a sense of class and comfort. The lobby and common areas are smallish, but human scale. The rooms are very nice and comfortable; particularly the beds. In fact the bed, with it's white sheets and multiple pillows, was perhaps the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom is good sized, with nice tile and features, though I did not care for the metal sink, which seemed to retain soap and toothpaste, etc, in the bowl. The flatscreen TV seemed fine; nothing special. Cable channels were plentiful, although we didn't spend much time watching TV. The hotel restaurant is very nice, and the patio seating an exceptional atmosphere. We only used the restaurant for buffet breakfasts, but they were wonderful (and included). Breakfast service was good, not terrific. I was of the impression they relied on summer staff (college age servers) who were good, but perhaps not professional. The desk and maid service staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, the hotel property is excellent, save some quibbles, as noted below.

The Bad:
The hotel is situated very close to town, and right on the huge Leech Lake (not an inviting name, but what can you do?!), but it's really wedged into a relatively small piece of land. I had the distinct sensation of needing to see more open space. A considerable part of the property is still under construction (for the spa building and surrounding parking, etc), and perhaps they might have some green space planned, but as it sits now, there is no green space - none to speak of. Another quibble involves going from one's room to the beach area, which is itself somewhat small, but serviceable. The path from your room to the beach goes right through the dining area of the restaurant. You can imagine the awkwardness. Again, this may be relieved with final construction, but no alternative was apparent. The final quibble involves construction materials. Its clear the new owners wanted to recreate the past, and have done so quite faithfully. The hotel is tasteful, classy, and traditional. The concern I have may not bother some people, but I am a stickler for quality materials. In the case of the Chase Hotel, I was under the impression that cheaper materials were used in some areas, of which I won't take the time to detail, but think trim boards, etc. I understand modern construction and expense seems to dictate lower quality, but this hotel, by its nature, should have been the exception. Enough said.

The Ugly:
Just one: loud bar patrons on the patio and in the "marina" into the night. We found no wild partiers; mostly folks having a good time - its just that the sound carries if your lake-facing windows are open. If closed, no problem.

Overall, the Chase is a fine hotel with a few "new hotel" tics. It will be interesting to revisit, and we will, in a year or two.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#1 of 7 in Walker
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
65 reviews
25.0 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Walker
27 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
19.3 mi away
Sandy Pines Resort
Sandy Pines Resort
#2 of 3 in Backus
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase on the Lake

Address: 502 Cleveland Blvd., Walker, MN 56484
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range: £75 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chase on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase on the Lake is nestled on the shores of Leech Lake, in the heart of downtown Walker, MN. Historic and unique, it offers elegance and charm, mixed in with the warmth of a 1st class resort venue. Beautiful classic and lake view hotel rooms, along with state of the art and gorgeous 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos, ensure a memorable stay at Chase on the Lake. Ownership opportunities are available with all of our Lakeside Condos. Special amenities may be enjoyed such as dining in our 502 restaurant, with patio seating; Copper Door Aveda Spa; Chaser's Bowling Alley and indoor heated pool and hot tub. All year round outdoor activities are available with fishing, swimming on our private beach and boating. In the winter months, Chase on the Lake offers beautiful trails for snowmobiling and ice fishing for Walleye on Leech Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chase on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase On The Lake Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing