We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars in Walker”
Review of Country Inn Walker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn Walker
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

On a beautiful weekend in August 2011 our family stayed at Country Inn Walker while attending a family wedding. We wanted a hotel that was comfortable, clean and affordable. The Country Inn Walker exceeded our expectations!!!! The facility is beautiful and in a great location for all the activities and attractions the area has to offer. The rooms are large and nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. The hotel was fully booked, yet the atmosphere was quiet and serene. Loved the complimentary breakfast in the morning- lots of selections to choose from and a hotel staffer that was cheerful and welcoming each morning. The other hotel staff were also very friendly and accommodating to our needs, as we were traveling with with a newborn baby and 2 dogs! Great place to stay-we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Country Inn Walker is on Leech Lake. Ask for a room facing the lake! The views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHE333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed in Walker because if the Paul Bunyan trail. Chose the hotel for proximity to trail. Nice sized room in great hotel. Great walleye in Lucky Moose Bar and Grill next door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

First let me say we have stayed at this hotel the same weekend every year for the past 4 years. We reserve appx. 10 rooms per year and we always reserved the rooms individually before we leave for the following year. This year they really screwed up our reservations. One couple called a week prior to our arrival and they couldn't find their reservation in the computer. They were able to give them a room for Friday night, and they were told they were first on the waiting list for a cancellation for Saturday night, since it was the hotels mistake. A second couple did not confirm their reservation and only got a room for Friday night (lesson learned on their part). Not everyone arrived at the same time, and the couple that were waiting for the cancellation had checked in prior to a couple in our group that were told they had two rooms reserved at check in. This couple did not know that someone in our group needed a room so they cancelled the extra room. When we checked with the front desk to see if that extra room had been given to the person first on the waiting list, we were told "no". They told us they overbooked for Saturday night and the computer automatically popped a name in, and they had no way of knowing who that was. But if another cancellation became available our couple would get it. What a load of crap! This tells me that they were never first on any waiting list. Management gave us the runaround, and on Saturday evening no rooms were available. One couple went home early, and one couple found a room down the road. Totally wrecked our group gathering.

The rooms themselves are very nice with microwave and fridge. Decent choices for breakfast, with the friendliest help in there. We've gotten to know her over the years and visit with her both mornings. Great warm cookies at the front dest in the evening. We will miss not seeing her next year as we won't be returning. There are more hotels to pick from since management didn't even try to fix their own screw up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shadow700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This motel used to be a Country Inn & Suites. Rooms have always been clean, and staff always friendly. They have a pool and whirlpool if you have the time. Nice getaway location. Excellent buffett at the Northern Lights Casino. Convenient to have a fridge and microwave in the room. Nice hot breakfast. Definitely my choice to stay when in the Walker area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roomchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Starting with check in until we checked out, the staff was friendly, accommodating and very helpful. The room was clean and fresh. The beds were super comfortable. The hotel itself was quiet. The whole family slept really well and woke up well-rested to a nice breakfast, Mary, who was working the breakfast service, was especially friendly and you could tell she really enjoyed her job & interacting with people.
My whole family really enjoyed our stay. We appreciated the efforts of the staff to make us feel welcome & comfortable. I wouldn't just recommend this hotel to friends and family...I'd almost insist they stay here when in the area.
Oh...and also...we had a lovely view of Leech Lake from our room!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zillymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed three nights in August. Helpful staff--especially the friendly breakfast hostess who treated guests like they were in her home. Using AARP discount, we booked a King Suite and were really pleased with the rate. King bed, fold out couch, and for $10 more, got a rollaway. Very clean and comfortable and reasonable. Nice touches include washer/dryer on first floor, nice pool area, and cookies baked twice daily and put out for guests to enjoy. Worth it for sure. We really liked this place.
Benson's Cafe in Walker a good place to eat, and the restaurant just across from the hotel has daily specials if you don't want to drive 5 miles to town.
(p.s. No elevator, so be prepared to carry your suitcases upstairs. Also, the hotel was full and LOTS of people were in the breakfast room that had only one waffle maker. Maybe they need to get a second one??)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeSchlambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My father stayed there the last week in July, Lady at front desk was RUDE and CRUDE, We tried to call many times the day of arrival, No answer, She claimed phones were out, After check in she went out and smoked and the phones kept ringing, I'm tinking she needs a new workplace, Motel is clean and nice, But the hired help needs sweeked, I spoke with manager later, Very nice, But good luck when you check in if you get the mean one. Also the room keys did not always work, The nasty one claimed my father kept it with his cell phone and that ruins them. What a joke!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walker hotels
1 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
65 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Walker
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
9.6 mi away
Trappers Landing Lodge
Trappers Landing Lodge
#1 of 21 in Walker
13 reviews
7.7 mi away
Leech Lake B&B
Leech Lake B&B
#1 of 6 in Walker
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Walker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Walker

Address: 442 Walker Bay Blvd, Walker, MN 56484-2157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range: £77 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Walker 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of tranquil Leech Lake, and surrounded by the majestic Chippewa National Wildlife Refuge, you will find Country Inn of Walker the perfect hotel to stay at on your next Minnesota vacation. Located just minutes from downtown Walker's unique shopping and dining you will find something for everyone. Fishing, golfing, biking, water sports, sailing, snowmobiling, the Walker area offers an abundance of recreational activities. Home of the annual classic rock festival Moondance Jam, Jammin Country Fest and the Eelpout Festival, attracting anglers and music lovers from all over the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn Walker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Walker Hotel Walker
Walker Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing