We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walker Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Okay but way more than the cost listed here. We paid 99 on a military rate. Breakfast is good but full of carbs, limited healthy choices. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
17
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stay here often and enjoy the heated pool as well as the breakfast served each morning. It's also nice to be able to have a cup of coffee or tea anytime.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The inn is located close to downtown Walker which has some boutique type shops that are very interesting. It is also located next to Jimmy's restaurant which is convenient.
The motel needs a face - lift. Things are worn around the edges. The bed was quite firm. The complimentary breakfast was average. The breakfast furniture is heavy duty rustic chairs and tables. We also stayed at the Ameriinn in Bemidji which had recently been remodeled. If you have a choice - I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ecaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walker hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Though pricey because of its location, this place was just fine for our needs. Close to downtown Walker, near the grocery, and it was clean and quiet. Rooms are good sized and controls for the heat/cool were clear and sufficient. They have a pool, jacuzzi, sauna but I did not use. Strong point: free wifi. Included breakfast was OK, not fabulous but OK.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Callahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Standard old hotel. Old mattresses, tiny bathrooms, Fairly clean, all cold breakfast, basic coffee. No bells or whistles. Pricey because of location. Would have been curious to try other places in town.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoliticoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pretty much your standard AmericInn with a good, friendly staff that can point you out the better restaurants and activities in the area. Rooms are clean and cheery, pillows better than they once had but too bouncy and certainly not down or feather-filled. The only downer was the soft music that emanates from the adjacent restaurant all night long despite that it's closed after 8 p.m. If you're a light sleeper this could be very annoying and there is no logical reason for this annoyance. Ask for a room on the back side if you fit this category. Decent breakfast with eggs and waffles and those wonderfully hard "delicious" apples that only a bear could love (and crunch). The restaurant next door is overpriced for breakfast and not very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildchough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

This is a very old hotel supposedly one of the first AmericInns. It is a two story facility but it has no elevator so if traveling with a lot of luggage or if elderly or physically disabled be sure to ask for a first floor room.

Rooms are OK. Bathroom is tiny. Acceptable for a one night passing through stay but do not recommend for an extended stay. There is a restaurant next door but we did not eat there. Location is on the edge of town so car is needed to get to main shopping area. Thought it a bit pricey for what is offered there is comparison to other AmericInns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellogg40, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Our hotel is older, it was one of the first AmericInns built. But where it may lack in new design we make up for in cleanliness and friendliness! The staff will treat you like family and you will find a friendly atmosphere everywhere you go in Walker. Jimmy's Family Retsaurant next door has some of the best food in town and although we are a couple blocks from the heart of downtown there are sidewalks the whole way and so walking downtown is quite easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 8 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
24.6 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
6.5 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 8 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel

Property: Walker Hotel
Address: 907 Minnesota Ave, Walker, MN 56484-2295 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Walker Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly on the shores of picturesque Leech Lake at the junction of Highway 371 North & Highway 34. We are a few minutes drive from a number of other local attractions including: •Chippewa National Forest •Minn Folklore Theater •Cass County Museum •Leech Lake Brewing Company •Forestedge Winery •Long Bow Golf Club . We invite our guests to enjoy our free deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in our lobby. Appreciate the convenience of our Jacuzzi , Enjoy a refreshing swim in our heated indoor pool. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms as well as access to copy and fax services. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a flat panel 32 inch cable TV with ESPN, coffeemaker, desk with lamp, hairdryer, free local calls, and wake-up service. A Jacuzzi and sofa bed are available in select rooms. A microwave and mini-fridge are available in all rooms. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parents room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet per day. When visiting Walker Hotel, you can start by relaxing in your room and surf the web, or catch a movie. Next head out for a little fun at any of the numberous festivals that the Cass Lake area hosts including the International Eelpout Festival, the Moondance Jammin Country Fest, Yikes! Bikes! Bike Tour, the Cajun Fest, or the Leech Lake Regatta. If you are hungry, visit one of the area's notable restaurants including the Lucky Moose Bar, Jimmy's Family Restaurant and Grill Lucette's Pizza. Whether traveling for business or pleasure in Walker or the surrounding Cass County area, Walker Hotel offers friendly and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your visit. Hotel Policies: Check-in Time: 3:00 PM Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Pets Welcome: Yes Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Walker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing