We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep”
Review of Walker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walker Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property last night for Independence Day. We liked the motel, the staff was pleasant and seemed to like their jobs, and though the beds were firm we slept well on them. I read reviews that the motel seemed old and run down. Didn't see it. We found a clean, modern facility.
One disappointment was that the breakfast and coffee area was neglected. Neither yesterday or today was the orange juice machine working, and they didn't refill the coffee creamer either day also. Whoops. Why have an empty bottle for two days! And we also read a review that breakfast had fresh fruit and sausage, but we didn't see that. There was a waffle machine with great waffle mix. Just a little effort would make a really pleasant breakfast experience.
So if you go in and don't expect coffee or food, you'll be satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thanks for your valued opinion & always means lot for us, The new management has taken over from July-2012, new system & few more changes been adopted focusing more on customer's satisfaction. Hope, in your next visit you will find us at your desired level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Walker Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Okay but way more than the cost listed here. We paid 99 on a military rate. Breakfast is good but full of carbs, limited healthy choices. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stay here often and enjoy the heated pool as well as the breakfast served each morning. It's also nice to be able to have a cup of coffee or tea anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The inn is located close to downtown Walker which has some boutique type shops that are very interesting. It is also located next to Jimmy's restaurant which is convenient.
The motel needs a face - lift. Things are worn around the edges. The bed was quite firm. The complimentary breakfast was average. The breakfast furniture is heavy duty rustic chairs and tables. We also stayed at the Ameriinn in Bemidji which had recently been remodeled. If you have a choice - I would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ecaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Though pricey because of its location, this place was just fine for our needs. Close to downtown Walker, near the grocery, and it was clean and quiet. Rooms are good sized and controls for the heat/cool were clear and sufficient. They have a pool, jacuzzi, sauna but I did not use. Strong point: free wifi. Included breakfast was OK, not fabulous but OK.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Callahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Standard old hotel. Old mattresses, tiny bathrooms, Fairly clean, all cold breakfast, basic coffee. No bells or whistles. Pricey because of location. Would have been curious to try other places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoliticoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pretty much your standard AmericInn with a good, friendly staff that can point you out the better restaurants and activities in the area. Rooms are clean and cheery, pillows better than they once had but too bouncy and certainly not down or feather-filled. The only downer was the soft music that emanates from the adjacent restaurant all night long despite that it's closed after 8 p.m. If you're a light sleeper this could be very annoying and there is no logical reason for this annoyance. Ask for a room on the back side if you fit this category. Decent breakfast with eggs and waffles and those wonderfully hard "delicious" apples that only a bear could love (and crunch). The restaurant next door is overpriced for breakfast and not very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildchough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#1 of 7 in Walker
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
402 reviews
24.6 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
27 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#4 of 8 in Park Rapids
218 reviews
24.7 mi away
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
#2 of 2 in Lake Itasca
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel

Address: 907 Minnesota Ave, Walker, MN 56484-2295 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range: £66 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walker Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly on the shores of picturesque Leech Lake at the junction of Highway 371 North & Highway 34. We are a few minutes drive from a number of other local attractions including: •Chippewa National Forest •Minn Folklore Theater •Cass County Museum •Leech Lake Brewing Company •Forestedge Winery •Long Bow Golf Club . We invite our guests to enjoy our free deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in our lobby. Appreciate the convenience of our Jacuzzi , Enjoy a refreshing swim in our heated indoor pool. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms as well as access to copy and fax services. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a flat panel 32 inch cable TV with ESPN, coffeemaker, desk with lamp, hairdryer, free local calls, and wake-up service. A Jacuzzi and sofa bed are available in select rooms. A microwave and mini-fridge are available in all rooms. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parents room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet per day. When visiting Walker Hotel, you can start by relaxing in your room and surf the web, or catch a movie. Next head out for a little fun at any of the numberous festivals that the Cass Lake area hosts including the International Eelpout Festival, the Moondance Jammin Country Fest, Yikes! Bikes! Bike Tour, the Cajun Fest, or the Leech Lake Regatta. If you are hungry, visit one of the area's notable restaurants including the Lucky Moose Bar, Jimmy's Family Restaurant and Grill Lucette's Pizza. Whether traveling for business or pleasure in Walker or the surrounding Cass County area, Walker Hotel offers friendly and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your visit. Hotel Policies: Check-in Time: 3:00 PM Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Pets Welcome: Yes Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Walker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing