We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodging for the Price”
Review of Walker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walker Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a great experience here. Our room was 85.00 and included a very nice breakfast. The hot tub was hot and the swimming pool was warm. Our room was clean and appealing. I would have liked a microwave and fridge but the desk clerk offered to refrigerate our food for us and offered the use of the breakfast room microwave. The couple who own/manage the property and the man at check in were all very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks ! we appreciate your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Making is short...room was very musty smelling, hot tub was cold, didn't get price I booked for online. The was a mixup between online booking and hotel. I talked to hotel and everything was taken care of until I checked in that evening. They refused to give me the room for the $110 I booked for online. And from what I could tell the $110 wasn't not deal either for a 2 queen room. Don't waste you money go elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, as you knew the hotel was full & there was an issue with your online booking. We tried our best to accommodate you in those circumstances,when it was crucial time for us, we tried that all the guest should have comfort. By allotting a deluxe room ( a different one) you were charged only $ 10/- extra.
Anyway, we thanks for your time & review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Old hotel and service not impressive. Rooms smell musty also. And don't miss the 11am check out they will be pounding on your door and calling. Plus have your room key shut off. Yes this was at 11:10.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your time & review. Certainly it's not Holiday Inn. We definitely have not that standard too. But, We always welcome guests ,who for any reason wants to have late check out. Might be at any point , mis understanding remained.
sorry, for inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It is a shame they have to post false pictures online. Every where I look online shows a picture of a brand new hotel. My wife and I got here we thought or gps was wrong. I went inside and asked the address and showed girl at front desk the picture. She confirmed I was at right place and agreed that picture wasn't the same place. Overall it is an old hotel but it is well kept for its age. It does smell a little musty. And hot tub water also smells like well water. Location is nice and close to Walker. I still find it very wrong showing wrong pictures and we will be moving to a different hotel tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one night, the room was smelly, the bathroom was very small. the bed had a comforter and blanket on it that I'm sure don't get washed much, and your suppose to cover up with them.yuck!! wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Jimmy's restaurant is very good next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dirod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

well, we can say sorry only for such views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in two different rooms in a single stay, through a mixup by Expedia which the hotel management helped us resolve. After a nine-hour drive to get here, it was good that the hotel is actually in the small (and attractive) town of Walker, so today we didn't need to use the car at all; we could easily walk to the shops and cafes and down to the lake. This hotel is the only one that's literally in town. The rooms are clean, though different from one another: one (#102) had a sink outside the bathroom proper; the other (107) had the sink in the bathroom itself, slightly less convenient when travelling with other people. One room had a small fridge and microwave; the other didn't, but hotel staff simply carried the fridge to our new room at our request. The breakfast was ordinary but adequate; the pool is a decent size and not overchlorinated. My only complaint would be that the internet didn't seem to work in our rooms, only in the lobby, though hotel staff said this was unusual. Overall, I liked this hotel well enough and, as I say, its location right in town is a definite advantage.

Room Tip: Even numbers face the street, so ground floor rooms have other people's cars outside your windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, we strive best to accommodate guests in all best possible manner for their comfort & pleasure, the rooms have structured in different ways considering various aspects of plumbing, electric , etc., etc.,
we have made all necessary arrangements to ensure a good wi- fi connectivity in all rooms.Hope in your next stay with us, you are well connected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Not much as changed from last year. I did enjoy the pool when we arrived, very large. The bed is comfortable and the staff made new coffee for me when I wanted some in the evening. While I think the rates are a little high, it's compatible for in season in the lakes area. I really enjoy the staff.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shay M, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thanks for your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.1 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#1 of 7 in Walker
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
414 reviews
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#4 of 8 in Park Rapids
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
6.6 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Walker
27 reviews
7 mi away
Leech Lake B&B
Leech Lake B&B
#1 of 6 in Walker
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel

Address: 907 Minnesota Ave, Walker, MN 56484-2295 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walker Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly on the shores of picturesque Leech Lake at the junction of Highway 371 North & Highway 34. We are a few minutes drive from a number of other local attractions including: •Chippewa National Forest •Minn Folklore Theater •Cass County Museum •Leech Lake Brewing Company •Forestedge Winery •Long Bow Golf Club . We invite our guests to enjoy our free deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in our lobby. Appreciate the convenience of our Jacuzzi , Enjoy a refreshing swim in our heated indoor pool. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms as well as access to copy and fax services. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a flat panel 32 inch cable TV with ESPN, coffeemaker, desk with lamp, hairdryer, free local calls, and wake-up service. A Jacuzzi and sofa bed are available in select rooms. A microwave and mini-fridge are available in all rooms. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parents room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet per day. When visiting Walker Hotel, you can start by relaxing in your room and surf the web, or catch a movie. Next head out for a little fun at any of the numberous festivals that the Cass Lake area hosts including the International Eelpout Festival, the Moondance Jammin Country Fest, Yikes! Bikes! Bike Tour, the Cajun Fest, or the Leech Lake Regatta. If you are hungry, visit one of the area's notable restaurants including the Lucky Moose Bar, Jimmy's Family Restaurant and Grill Lucette's Pizza. Whether traveling for business or pleasure in Walker or the surrounding Cass County area, Walker Hotel offers friendly and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your visit. Hotel Policies: Check-in Time: 3:00 PM Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Pets Welcome: Yes Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing