We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel- poor customer service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Lights Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel- poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked a suite, one of the pricier rooms for 1 night during Moondance Jam. We arrived at 1 p.m., not realizing that check in was 4 p/m. (I've never stayed anywhere with such a late check in) We were told the room was not clean yet, check back in an hour. I checked back every 1/2 until 4 p.m. when the room was finally "clean". Now- if there was a strict 4 p.m. check-in policy & someone would have told me, I wouldn't have wasted my entire afternoon. We left our bags in the room & went to Moondance, returning around midnight. The room was FILTHY!!! There were belongings from other guests in the hide-a-bed, toothpaste in the sink, tape stuck on the ceiling, dusty furnishings, YUCK. I contacted customer service & was told they send a voucher for another stay right away---2 week later, still don't have it. Doubt I'd stay there anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tabr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Sioux City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would not recommend this place to anyone! We had nothing but problems from the first 10 minutes we arrived. First off we went for the We-Fest karaoke contest, an event that had been booked there for at least 6+ months. So we arrive on July 4th, there website states the room prices and the discounted prices with a players club card, so we went to get players club cards before check in, went to check in and they state no discounts on a holiday, so we said ok how about Tomorrow evening which isn't a holiday, they informed us it won't apply since it's a holiday weekend they cannot apply the discount so we paid the $268 for a 2 night stay. As we are taking our luggage to our room we are stopped by security at the elevator and they informed us as of July 1st alcohol is not allowed to be brought up to the rooms, unless you purchase it in the casino in which you are allowed one cup per person up to the rooms..so the outside alcohol we did bring we were told we have to take it to the car and leave it or it will be confiscated, so we went to the parking lot in which security came and informed us that we cannot consume it out in the parking lot either. At this point I pointed out that we were not informed of this rule change at the time the reservations were made, nor does it state this anywhere on the website. So I asked if we can be refunded if we choose to go elsewhere, and they informed me that we would not because we have already been in our rooms and put our stuff in there. So we decided to do the obvious and stay and try to make the best of it. At check in we also asked if we could have rooms on the same floor as the people we went with and the old lady at the front desk said they were booked so they couldn't put us together. So when we went to one of the rooms which was next to the pool, we turned on the air conditioner because the room was so hot and humid and the air conditioner just continually squealed. So we went to pick up the phone to call the front desk and the phone didn't even work! So we went to the front desk to see if we could change rooms and asked a different lady at the desk if we could be put on the same floor as our friends and miraculously we were put right next door. The next day we went to the pool and there were absolutely no towels down there except all dirty ones, this was on Saturday a.m. And the bathroom in the pool area was disgusting. After the pool I decided to shower and our tub was barely draining and the floor of it was slimy probably from the last hotel guest that used it and the staff never cleaned it. Being a casino that holds events in the event center you would think they would be prepared especially since this is not the first time the karaoke finals have been held there, the bar was not set up and they had no idea when it would be so we had to walk all the way from the event center to the casino bar to get a drink. And when they did finally get it set up they charged $1 more for mixed drinks than the bar in the casino did. And to top it off they asked we don't use the casino bar anymore, We asked for clamato juice for our beer and the staff said "do you really want it? Because we don't have any here and will have to walk to the casino bar to get it." Our keys needed to be re-keyed 5 times, and the front desk informed us that when we were checked in they didn't put us in for 2 nights so the keys automatically quit working after the 1st day..which confuses me because they had no problem charging us for 2 nights when we checked in. We went to the casino bar and there was a sign that said bud light was on special for $2.50, yet they were charging $3.50. We sat down at a table at the bar and waited for the only waitress to come get our drink orders and after 5 mins we gave up and left. The main bathroom that all the patrons at the event used had no toilet paper or paper towels and someone's feces were smeared on the floor and the toilet. So Sunday morning before we checked out we went to the pool and still no towels 24 hours later, bathroom still hasn't been cleaned. They say there is free wi-fi and yet you need a password which was not posted anywhere. Needless to say this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, so do not waste your money on this dump! We did go down the street to eat and drink at Charlie's and had an awesome time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walker hotels

Lakota, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here on our motorcycle trip. The hotel has designated motorcycle parking which is next to the entrance and protected from the weather. The hotel rooms were comfortable and clean. the buffet ok and the staff was very nice. The room were very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0dak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I liked this casino as it had a Convenience store and a bottle shop. The snack bar was very good and you got big servings. The only problem I had with this hotel was that it did not have a fridge other than that the room was good. I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renee256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I went to the casino to gamble and have dinner. We are from out of town, so this was our first time here. Right away I sat down at a machine and started winning. The moment my machine started paying, I had either security, or a casino employee standing behind my sister and I; most of the time we had several of their employees standing behind us. I wasn’t sure if it was for intimidation or what, but we talked to them and played it off as people just wanting to watch someone win. I was winning on a penny machine and was vocally celebrating my winnings (“WOOHOO!!!”). Employees of this casino were encouraging me on, “Do that again!!” After I had won up to $700, a huge Native American employee came to me and told me that he was receiving "several complaints about me from other guess." I asked him who had complained because I had been there for about 40 minutes, and in that time, NOBODY, not a player or even other casino employees that were standing here, had told me to quiet down as I was disturbing other guests. I told him that HIS employees were encouraging me to make noise! I also told him that in other casinos I had been to, I was actually comped drinks because I was making the place seem more lively, which encouraged other guests to play. He made it very clear that we were no longer welcome. At this point, there were several employees and security standing behind me. One of the other employees took my ticket and said he would cash it in for me. At this time I had $745 on the ticket. He came back and handed me the money, and the large Native American began to escort me out. He followed my sister and I to the door, as we walked into the entry way. Some of the security guards were stunned and even said they have NEVER seen anyone being kicked out for winning. As we sat outside waiting for the shuttle, the large Native American and some female who claimed to be management came outside to talk to us. She told us that we were drunk and belligerent. I told her I would like to know how we could be intoxicated after having only one beer! She said, "Well, a glass was broken." I told her that yes, my sister did break a glass as she set it along side of the machine, but it had slipped and fallen. I asked her if she needed me to pay for it. She then accused of us telling other hotel guest not to play there because they can't win, which NEVER happened. The only people we spoke to were their employees and their security. And for the record, I never did receive the full $745 that I had won on the ticket. When I got out to actually count it, I was shorted roughly $75. I have never been treated so poorly, and my entire family was stunned as we left. I believe they want you to come and play, but if you win, they will use intimidation and fear and make it very clear that you're no longer welcome. WORST TREATMENT EVER!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank jhetsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Northern Lights was the venue for a meeting I needed to attend, so I did not pay much attention to some of the negative reviews. I was committed in any case. I'm not a casino-goer, so I can't say anything about that part of the facility beyond the fact that the slots and tables seemed busy the couple of times I wandered through and that I did not find the cigarette smoke as oppressive as I have at other casinos. I can tell you that the room I stayed in for four nights was spacious, well appointed and clean. I can also tell you that every staff person I encountered, at reception, bar, restaurant and in the event center was friendly, courteous and helpful. I tried the buffet my first night and have to admit that I did have issues with it. It was Chinese night with a buffet similar to Chinese restaurants all over America. The meal I would normally pay $5-7 for here in Virginia cost $12.99 there and one item on the buffet (the baked chicken) was inedible due to massive over-seasoning. Everything else on the buffet was good. The other two nights I ate on the premises I ate at the Dancing Fire Grill. Both nights I had as good a dinner as I have had anywhere, at a fair price, served by friendly and professional staff. I'd eat there again in a heartbeat. I'll rate the restaurant separately as well. I'd happily attend or host a meeting here in the future. In fact, the host of this event told me that they were better treated at Northern Lights than at other venues elsewhere in the state and were considering scheduling ALL future meetings of the organization there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel overlook a pretty pond/marsh/wetland. Try for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is the most terrible casino ever dirty room,they use these cheap lights bulbs in the room that its so hard to see anything and had lamps that didn't work.The buffey is terrible and expensive,the deli is all expensive and unreasonable about the prices.The drinks are priced way to much.They had two male very old security guards both in wheelchairs. Also i saw 2 other very old female security guards that must have been 70 years of age you don't feel very protective there.Also guess service only one person at the front desk at all times which they seemed that they didn;t seem care and very slow.The pool is somewhat nice but very drabby looking.Don't waste your time at this casino they have old machines.We booked two days there and booked out the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
3.0 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 7 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
4.0 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
4.6 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
10.3 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Hotel & Casino

Property: Northern Lights Hotel & Casino
Address: 6800 Y Frontage Road NW, Walker, MN 56484
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Walker
Northern Lights Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing