We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we came,we drank,we ice fished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trappers Landing Lodge
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we came,we drank,we ice fished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Three of us guys stayed in the big condo four nights and had guided ice house fishing three day.Was very affordable for blue collar boys,and we caught pike like crazy.Our guide Eric seemed to be at work 24 hrs a day and even ran to get to us a twelve when the bite outlasted the beer.We had a blizzard event while on the ice and he called to check on us then plowed us a road home when we were ready.The sheriff was there from time to time and never gave us any trouble.We kept it low key but it's nice to have the law around but not on your case.This was our second trip to trappers and we will make it three for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck l K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
32
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had such an amazing weekend at Trappers Landing. Chrissy and Matt were a dream to work with. They were so helpful and accomodating. We were there on a very slow weekend before Thanksgiving. We played some of the many board games, etc that they have in the rooms. We checked out many movies from their extensive movie collection at the office. We spent alot of our time in the spacious, comfortable living room with our fireplace going the entire time. We just booked their winter special - 7 nights split into 3 visits over the winter months. So excited! It is such a relaxing, comfortable place to spend a weekend.
Also, if you haven't been to Walker, MN...you need to go! It is such a fun little town with quaint shops and wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom townhome was perfect for us! 1 large bedroom with a master bath and also a 1/2 bath. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The condo we stayed in was very nice. Love the layout, three bedrooms, two baths, nice fireplace and we had breakfast in the restaurant included. Great value, I hope they maintain the place because it is quite nice but there are a couple of things like faucet handles and some water/tile issues to take care of. We would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from a week stay in the pair of Hudson Bay Cabins at Trapper's yesterday. We reserved both cabins for a family reunion (about 8 adults and 6 kids). The backyards face the huge gorilla playset playground and a sand volleyball court (which was great for us).

A few notes:
There are dishwashers in the cabins but no garbage disposals.
There are no laundry rooms in these cabins.
Friday, a garbage smell permeated the Hudson Bay Cabin area, it was gone on Saturday.
The lake townhomes border the lake directly, the Hudson bay cabins have limited views of the lake from across the lane.
The original merit cabins are still there on one side of the resort; the beach grill is in the original lodge.
They seem to be expanding; a new dock food service for boats.

The property exceeded most our our expectations.
The beautiful sand beach, clear water, and marina were awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Each building is a duplex with 3 separate rentable areas, depending on your needs. We took the whole side for our group that consisted of 2 UNBELIEVABLE master suites, large bath tubs and steam showers. 1 smaller room but UBER comfortable (we stayed there) with a bunk bed ( I would move the mattress to the floor for the kids - cute log set but not very stable and a little wobbly- my only suggestion) Fold out couch. Televisions in every bedroom and large screen in family room.
GORGEOUS decorating, pots, pans, knives, plates cups etc all in tact and fabulous. Made for great group meals.

Patio with grill, fire pits and 50 feet from Leech Lake. Protected marina in and boat launch. Slips to rent. Pool, bar and restaurant. Play ground. This place has it all.

30 minutes east of Walker - 20 minutes from the Casino. Worth the trip and a great place to make memories over the next 15 years with our gang. THANK YOU TLL.

GREAT customer service - NOW here is how we found them:

We have been going to another resort with a group of 25 friends for 15 years near Walker. This year the lodge cancelled our reservations, we made the year before, in lieu of a family reunion (BAD BUSINESS DECISION) and we were lucky to have found enough space at Trappers Landing. WOW - Hot showers ALL DAY! Comfortable beds! Every bedroom has it's own bath! The last place didn't have any of that... and when we asked for help every year for ants or hot water or ice from the ice machines - there would be no response... I am so thankful for the bad customer service of our former lodge to have made us change gears and find this gem on the shore of Leech Lake!

Room Tip: You have to ask for the layouts and match to your needs. Couple - There is an upper suite that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed second week in July 2013. Wonderful property with lots of things for families to do. Rented one of Trappers Town house condos it was lovely! Nicely decorated and the steam shower was great. Awesome view of the lake and great fire pits for guests to use. They have complementary
Water skiing and tubing during the day that my teens enjoyed. We are planning on coming back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Perfect for 4 adults and 7 kids. Staff is lovely. They were always so kind and helpful. Only thing missing was no hot tub outside. Kids liked the bikes and kayaks. Fishing boat rental was really convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strovans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walker hotels
10.3 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 7 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
9.6 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.5 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
14.9 mi away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anderson's Northland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trappers Landing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappers Landing Lodge

Property: Trappers Landing Lodge
Address: 1812 Merit Road NW, Walker, MN 56484-2536
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trappers Landing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Trappers Landing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trappers Landing Hotel Walker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing