We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Where Laura Walked”
Review of Plum Creek

Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site made famous by author Laura Ingalls.
Walnut Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walking Where Laura Walked”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I visit this site often and it is beautiful every time. You can access Plum Creek at two locations: Ingalls Dugout Site ($5 per vehicle) or Lower Plum Creek County Park (FREE)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nikzig1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see for any Little House on the Prairie fan”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great experience! Just like it was described in the book. Nice to see the creek in person. Also you can see where the original dugout was.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Opportunity for Laura Ingalls Fans”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I think it's awesome that the folks who now own this land have opened it up to the public. It's so neat to be able to wade in the creek, walk through the prairie, and see the dug out site. When we took our little hike we saw butterflies and LOTS of frogs and beautiful little dragon flies. Grasshoppers too. It was fun.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank thedjsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Plum Creek site is okay, make sure to go on Pagaent Weekends”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Visited the Plum Creek Laura Ingalls Dugout site on the first pageant weekend in July. This is a private site, maintained by the farm family that owns the property. The dugout house as collaspsed overtime and basically it is a whole in the ground now. They do have nice markers about where the house was, where the spring is that feeds water into the creek and the big rock that Laura wrote about.

I can see how the previous reviewer wrote about being disappointed, the town is pretty small and quiet on non-pageant weekends. I would not make a special trip unless I was planning to drive through already or going for the pageant weekend events.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank amy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

In May, 2011, me and a few friends visited Walnut Grove, MN during a road trip. My sister and I are big fans of the Laura Ingles Wilder stories. We were extremely excited about having lunch at Nelly's Diner, shopping at Oleson's Mercantile, visiting the museum and the dugout, and swimming in Plum Creek! But, the town was a ghost town! Everything was run down and poorly maintained. I was very disappointed! It was NOTHING like the website made it out to be. We had planned on camping at the campground near Plum Creek, and it was ok (nothing to write home about). However, the weather was not suitable. We then had to drive another 45 minutes to find a decent place to stay. We had planned to stay for two days here. Instead, we decided to continue our trip the next morning and drive straight to Tennessee (approximately 19 hours). We didn't visit any of the sites during our visit because it simply wasn't worth our time! Sadly, I don't have any pictures. But, trust me; it's a long stretch of road leading to a whole bunch of nothing!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank simply_me100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plum Creek also viewed

 

Been to Plum Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing