We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coombe Barton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crackington Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Barton Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We went to Crackington Haven for the day despite the awful reviews given on this page. We had a wonderful day. The location was fantastic. We had a bar meal at the Coombe Barton Inn, very fresh crab sandwiches and hot pork baguette. It was delcious. The service was quick, staff friendly and everywhere spotlessly clean. The pub does suffer from a lack of identity but with the beautiful view from all the windows in the bar who cares!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    68
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
62
76
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

bitterly dissappointed with our 3 night stay at the inn during march 2008, rude staff, poor food and poor excuses for everything paticularly from all the female staff. Aside from that the good news that we picked up from local folks in the bar was that the owners hadnt even paid their rent for 18 months and were soon to be evicted along with all the staff!! good riddance.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank nellietheelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaconsfield, Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

Despite the great spot, was very disappointed with this pub which can't seem to make its mind up what it wants to be. Is it a. trendy London bar with leather cushions/flashing lager pumps or b. country dining pub with tables cloths or c. Touristy and tatty Cornish beach bar. Staff rude and disinterested, beer OK, food finished at 2.30 on half term Sunday inside pub despite open canteen below, grubby interior. Much potential with right landlord. Will not return.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pipandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

A truly awful place - picked this place as it was featured as a 'pick of the pubs' in a RAC pub guide, what a big mistake. Shocking service (and when you complained you just got excuses and abuse back!), the pub was unclean (food on the floor and nobody cleaning tables) and the food was a rip-off and very poor. Crackington Haven is also a supposed quaint inlet but when you get there it's been attacked by concrete and diggers which are building the unappealing and unsympathetic sea defences. This is the type of place that explains why Brits holiday abroad. Would recommend continuing down the coast and exploring Taintagle or Port Issac.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Attitude of the staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RED102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

My wife and I had our wedding at the Coombe Barton 10 years ago and could not have picked a better place in the area.

We returned recently with our 9 year old daughter having not been to Cormwall since our wedding. Although we only had lunch there, I cannot stress how courteous and weloming the staff were and how welcome they made our daughter feel. Granted, children are not allowed in the immediate bar area but they have ample family areas.

I cannot believe that the wedding party with two children were told to leave. On the contary, childrens menus and colouring packs were offered, and we certainly weren't the only family there.

I would strongly recommend visiting this Inn.

  • Liked — courteous staff, views, location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

we recently went to coombe barton for drinks after our wedding. Our party arrived on a quiet Monday afternoon, we ordered and paid for drinks for our whole party only to then be told to leave as children were not allowed in!! (we had 2 well behaved kids in a group of 20!!)

Why couldn't they have told us this when they saw us arrive?!!

Why wait until we'd paid for all drinks then tell us?! what a rip off..........

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lucylucy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2006

stayed there over the August bank holiday and had an absolutely lovely time! There was a fabulous view and balcony overlooking the beach out to sea. Food was great, service was great, rooms were extremely comfortable and the location was perfect. Great for walking too as it sits right on the coastal path.

Only two quibbles: 1 was the noise - being over a pub it was loud so perhaps not great for children. 2 was the lack of showers - only bathtubs with shower attachments you had to stick over the taps. For the price, you would expect a proper shower.

That said, would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackington Haven
4.4 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
13.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Wainhouse Inn
The Old Wainhouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Wainhouse Corner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Barton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Barton Inn

Property: Coombe Barton Inn
Address: Cantacoombe Mill Ball Hill, Crackington Haven EX23 0JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crackington Haven
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crackington Haven
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing