We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage with amazing view”
other travellers have booked this property
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Double bedroom with sea view to front View from King Street into Portnahaven Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Portnahaven Bay looking up to King Street
Double bedroom with sea view to front
View from King Street into Portnahaven Bay
Seal in Portnahaven Bay
Dining area in kitchen
Lossit Beach, Islay
King Street, Portnahaven, with lighthouse island behind
Portnahaven, Isle of Islay
Saligo Beach, Islay
Seals basking in Portnahaven bay
Sitting room with direct sea view and open fire
Other side of sitting room, opening into kitchen
Claddach - raised stony beach just outside Portnahaven
Portnahaven sunset
View of King Street from Shore Street, Portnahaven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jasmin12
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with amazing view”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Bay for a week in May and can report that this is a super, clean, warm, comfy cottage with amazing views across the bay. The weather was cold and windy, but that's Scotland, so we needed the heating and on a couple of evenings we lit the coal fire so it was really snug. Should mention that coal is provided for the fire free of charge which is really generous.
The kitchen is well equipped for all your cooking and there's a spacious (sloping) garden with a barbeque.
Parking is easy at the rear of the cottage.
There is a post office, shop and pub in Portnahaven but it is as well to bring essentials with you if possible.
Despite the weather we would like to return to The Bay and can definitely recommend it to other tripadvisors.
Thanks Jean ----- the home made ginger cake was delicious !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its so warm and cosy and of course the view
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thanks for the lovely review and glad you liked the ginger cake. If only we could do something with the weather! Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyMal
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from 5 days in Portnahaven, staying in The Bay. The fishermans cottage is right on the bay with fantastic views across the sea. Lots of seals on the rocks and really enjoyed watching their antics every day. The cottage itself was immaculate, 2 bedrooms, a lounge with a coal fire and a fully equipped kitchen with absolutely everything you would need. The bathroom has a bath with shower over it. There is also wifi. The cottage has storage heaters and was very warm and cosy with the added extra of a heated blanket - so no matter how cold it was outside it was really toasty inside! We didn't really self cater apart from breakfast and supper as we chose to eat out during the day, we did bring our food with us but there is a small shop in the village and a bigger Co-Op in Bowmore and Port Ellen if you do forget anything. We chose The Bay as it allowed dogs. Absolutely everyone in the village was friendly - great local pub, serving delicious food (but doesn't allow dogs) but there are plenty of pubs on the island who are dog friendly and you can go in the bar to eat. Last but not least a massive thank you to the lovely Jean and Ian for everything - we absolutely loved staying in your cottage and will definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly location - everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thanks for such a glowing review - it's lovely to hear you had such a great holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxyladyH...
Ho Chi Minh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cottage on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful holiday staying at the Bay. It is a very clean, warm, well equipped cottage and you really can watch the seals from your window all day long. The island is a fantastic place- great distillery tours, fabulous walks, good food, wonderful golf course and it's especially nice to come back to a cosy cottage in the most beautiful village on the island. The hosts next door couldn't have been nicer. We loved it here and can highly recommend it. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, clean cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2014
Thanks for such a glowing report - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetmcc2...
Deeside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a lovely week in Portnahaven. The cottage is lovely, with seaviews at the front and a garden at the back. We found plenty to do, very good for walking. As another review mentioned it is a good idea to take some essentials with you. The community garden at Islay house sells fruit and veg that they produce. There are plenty of places for coffee and cake. We ate at the pub a couple of nights, I can recommend the smoked salmon fishcakes. Cafe blasta at the Gaelic centre just outside Bowmore is ok for lunch too. My husband enjoyed the fresh crab we were given too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks very much for your lovely review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
007kevin
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the bay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Second time staying here the house is fantastic everything included the pub across the bay serves great food the sunsets are amazing plus the whiskey festival was on .going back next year

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Great to have you back, and look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junejohns...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous little place to unwind and relax”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked 'The Bay' based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor - and we have not been disappointed. The Bay is one of the old fisherman's cottages along the side of the Bay at Portnahaven. It is warm, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The owner lives next door and was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. A few tips: - If you are coming here by car, bring all your non-perishables with you and stop off at Lochgiplhead on the way to the ferry (bring a cold bag) to stock up on fresh food. There is a good butchers at Lochgilphead too. We stayed over at Inverary on the night before the booking and booked the lunchtime ferry crossing on the Saturday, so we could take our time and fit the shopping in. There are very few shops on Islay. The main one is in Bowmore - a Co-op, and the petrol on Islay is very expensive, so fill up in Lochgilphead if you can. If you love birdlife, coastal / woodland/ moorland walking - Islay is lovely, and it is clearly very popular with cyclists. The RSPB reserves are well worth a visit. Still a lot of Barnacle Geese here when we were there but also many different birds to see. I was delighted to see things like Eiders and dippers - as well as the resident seals - right outside the door in the bay. The open fire in the cottage makes it very cosy if you do get bad weather -we used it as an opportunity to relax. Don't be surprised on Islay to find some things closed - not advertised as such. The Natural History Centre at Port Charlotte was one such place. No signs up to say 'closed' so very disappointing. A tour around one of the distilleries is worth it - interesting and you get to sample some of the single malts! There is very little traffic on Islay and where there are single track roads, people are courteous and patient. The journey here is worth the effort - we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where the cottage is situated - right on Portnahaven bay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks for your kind review and all the handy tips for others - and also for leaving our cottage so spectacularly clean! Much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fresh crab caught in the bay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great hideaway on the SW tip of Islay. Away from the crowds and a landlady to die for. Watched crab being caught and were presented with some enormous crab claws to eat.
We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing