We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

andrew b
Driffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A warm welcome awaits anyone lucky enough to book this fabulous and well equiped cottage. It has excellent views across the bay within lovely tranquil surroundings. We can't wait to come back! Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks Andrew, so glad you enjoyed it, and we'd love to have you back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorothyc8...
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cottage overlooking a beautiful bay.”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great self catering cottage. Very clean and comfortable. It has everything you need for a good stay. The owner Jean lives next door and was very welcoming. If you need anything you just have to ask. We really enjoyed the scones and jam she left for us.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay, and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day. Glad you enjoyed the scones!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthbeau7...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for a week while exploring Islay, what a great cottage. Views out of the front windows on to the beautiful bay and the seals. Lovely sunsets also obviously weather permitting. Jean was very friendly, helpful and had also made some lovely scones for our arrival also bringing round some crab claws. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thanks Ruth,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and glad the seals were on good form! Hope to see you again some day,
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review - you were great guests, and we'd love to see you again some day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Curious68...
1 review
“The best place. Better than we hoped for”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The owners Jean and Ian were very nice, super helpful and made us feel very welcome. Jean even baked us wonderful scones.
What a beautiful little village. We spent many peaceful happy hours watching the seals and walking around the village. The walks often ended at the great little village pub
Our son and his girlfriend loved it so much they got engaged there. Whats better than that?
We will return for sure.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review - it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay. Congratulations again to Corrie and James - we wish them a very happy future together. And of course we'd love to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing friendly welcome”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived in beautiful Portnahaven and were warmly welcomed by Jean who owns Bay View and lives next door. We immediately were made to feel at home in this lovely village on an island where everyone is genuinely happy to see you.

The Bay is lovely, well equipped with everything you might need for a stay and the home made scones with jam waiting for us on arrival were not only welcome but delicious!

Every morning we awoke, pulled the curtains and looked into the bay with its seals - truly idyllic. Jean and the other residents of Portnahaven were only too happy to talk about their island, where to visit and their favourite places. The local pub also does good pub grub of an evening and is a short walk away.

We will definitely be back and after travelling the island, can think of no nicer place to stay.

Thank you Jean and hope it won't be too long before we are back.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thanks for such a lovely review Adrian - it was a pleasure having you to stay, and best wishes for your wedding later this summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjv201...
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Very cosy cottage with fantastic view of the bay. Loved watching the seals playing from the windows.

Date of stay: November 2016
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review and very glad you enjoyed your stay - the seals are constant entertainment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.