We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old School Islay

Stunning Old School Islay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Old School Islay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Stunning Old School Islay
Finlaggan Bedroom
Islay Bedroom with two single beds
Main Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Scott B
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our group (six adults, two kids and a dog) all had an amazing time on Islay thanks in no small part to staying at Portnahaven Old School. The house was finished to a very high standard throughout and had everything you could need including board games which the kids loved. The only thing you need to bring is food, (but try and bring it from the mainland, Portnahaven shop is not Tesco!). The kitchen could perhaps do with a microwave but it was no big deal.
The couple of bottles of whisky for a sample or two was a nice touch, especially as one of them was my favorite, Laphroaig (Thanks Lesley :-))
The garden and parking area is huge, plus can be gated off so perfect for letting the dog out to roam himself.
Portnahaven is a bit out of the way but still plenty to see, we all enjoyed the walk from the school into Port Wemyss then back via Portnahaven. The amount of seals in the bay is unbelievable!
Overall, a really good holiday and a place we all said we would love to come back to in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad you had a good time :) Thanks, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are also taking your comments on board and are arranging the outside lighting as well as additional seating. All Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SuziP109
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Eight of us stayed here last weekend, we all loved the place. It was clean and well finished, spacious and very comfortable.

It was a shame to leave after such a nice stay.

We hope to return and rent this property again in the Summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islmor
1 review
“Luxury self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were lucky to secure this converted school house for the October break. It's warm and beautifully appointed and would easily sleep 8. Big garden, plenty of parking space and gates can be closed. Beautiful views of the lighthouse.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly1865...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything one could possibly wish for”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From my first contact with Lesley, I could not ask for a better response, a better place to stay. I was visiting Islay with my adult grandson from NZ and we both found the Old School at Portnahaven ideal in every way - the design and thought that has gone into transporting an original school building into the latest self-catering home to stay in - has to be experienced. I just wish my school had been like this!! I also wish we were able to stay longer - I could spend a week just reading the books!!! Everything one needs has been thought of - from the excellent quality of the mattress's to the china to the pots and pans etc etc etc etc!!! The location is so peaceful and the distance from anywhere on the Island, so long as you have a vehicle - is not a problem - I know my family in NZ having seen the photos of the Old School - are now making plans to visit Scotland!! Having stayed at different locations and self-catering - this has jumped to the top of the list!!! Thankyou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Molly! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your guests. All Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganaraska
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Century building outside, elegant European renovation inside!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely fantastic! The kitchen was like something out of the Jetsons (remember that show?), only uber-cool European Jetsons. The beds in the four bedrooms were luxuriously comfortable with lovely linens, so we all had a great sleep. Beautiful bathrooms and the kitchen/diningroom is so big that while a couple of us were putting together dinner (very nice to have the choice to eat at 'home' when on vacation), our 2 year old grand daughter and her uncles had a dance party to the great sound system. The Old School is a short walk to either of two tiny villages (with streetlights!) located right on the ocean, all houses painted white. Being land-locked North Americans, this was the first time we ever heard seals calling to each other in the wild. Bruichladdich is the closest scotch / whisky distillery, but we did the gorgeous-views easy drive to Bowmore and Port Ellen to see others as well. All enjoyed themselves seeing all of Islay, even the ones who don't drink scotch. Port Charlotte is a 15 minute rural drive for dinner out, if you're so inclined. The Old School at Portnahaven provides the contact info of a local fisherman if you want to have him drop off seafood straight from the sea on his way home. How great is that!
We're well travelled and still would call our stay in this house on Islay one of life's great experiences.
Only suggestion for visiting Islay - all the grocery stores on the island are small and produce (greens), especially, are more expensive (of course), so bring groceries in on the ferry and pick up milk, eggs and meat on Islay (great butcher in Bowmore). PS. The drive to Portnahaven is about the same for either of the two Islay ports. But if you can, choose Port Askaig for your first arrival for the spectacular scenery on your way in. You'll see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very private location, 4 bedrooms for families or group of friends
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect Islay Accommodation!”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We can't say enough about our stay on Islay and especially at the Old School House. The property was perfect for our group of 5 who arrived to find locally made tablet, soaps and even whisky for our sampling.

The furnishings were comfortable and tastefully appointed throughout. Of course, the kitchen and dining area was the main gathering spot, and it featured all the modern appliances you would want.

The surrounding area has beautiful scenery with the harbor a short walk away and even a lighthouse in the distance.

The main reason for our visit was to tour the local distilleries, but our time spent at this property was quite enjoyable. We would feel lucky to return someday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Dear Kathy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest Regards,

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing