We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet weekend getaway!”
Review of Hungry Point Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hungry Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Welch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hungry Point Inn was a great getaway experience. The property was nestled at the end of a private neighborhood, on 39 acres. Very quiet and beautiful surroundings.

We were in the George Washington room in the back of the main house, with an adajent bathroom (not connected). The bed was comfy, however not a room in which to 'hang out' as there was only one 'sitting' chair. The bathroom was spacious with a tub and seperate 'rainfall' shower. We didn't get a chance to use the balcony off of the bathroom as it was too cold, but would have been a nice additional space.

Merriam, the innkeeper, was a delight! She is an amazing cook - both mornings, completely different menus and fabulous food. She is full of great stories and suggestions for what to do in the area. She is a very hard worker and benefits from the help she does receive. Her dog and cats are within a seperate area of the main living area but are very friendly/approachable. She also has sheep and chickens which you can visit.

Overall, definitely worth the money - great B&B experience and very close to major roads/areas (very close to Red Wing and the casino). Dirt/gravel road for some of the journey up to the house as a FYI. Has WiFi (very good connection).

Room Tip: George Washington room - adjoining bath (not connected). Only one in main house that is connected i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Within 45 minutes of downtown Saint Paul yet feels like the remote countryside. The Hungry Point Inn is a recently built, faux-Colonial building with several rooms in the main house and a cottage on the grounds. You get there via gravel roads south of Hastings and north of Highway 61. It was convenient to Welch Village with access to the Cannnon Valley Bike Trail and a canoe/river float business (and a terrific ice cream shop!).

The inn was a bit over priced, to my mind. The innkeeper was friendly but breakfast was almost an hour late. the food was quite good (French toast, crispy bacon the way I love it, coffee cake). There is a friendly dog and several cats and at least 3 horses. Our room had an adjoining (but not in room) bathroom with a wonderful hi-tech shower.

A lower price and some additional help for the innkeeper woudl amke this a gem.

Room Tip: The Washington room has the adjacent bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in the log cabin for 2 nights with our 2 small children. We all absolutely loved this place. There were small items to play with in the cagin like an antique kitchen set complete with little metal dishes and washstand. The children fed the horses, helped with the chores to feed the chickens, played with the cats and dog, and loved running around the grounds. The cabin is appointed with fabulous antiques of the colonial style. It is like staying in a very clean museum.

Merriam is an excellent cook and makes a fabulous breakfast! She has done this for many years and you can tell that she loves the place and having guests.

You are at the end of a gravel road so it is extremely quiet with no other cars, traffic, or noise to bother you.

This was our 3rd trip to this property in the last 15 years. The first trip by ourselves as a couple, the 2nd with my parents and siblings (10 of us), and this 3rd trip with our 2 children (10 years later).

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for one night! Very relaxing, charming room with beautiful bed and wonderful whirlpool. Very quiet and most inviting. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Merriam is wonderful - she loves what she does and makes everyone feel welcome. Enjoyed tremendously!

Room Tip: Queen Anne...beautiful...airy with a tremendous bathroom....fireplace and relaxing bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed two nights and had the Queen Ann room. Large bathroom with jacuzzi tub.
Short drive to trailhead in Welsh.Very charming country feel to all the decor.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the second floor share a very large, modern bathroom with a small balcony for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mk h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two nights, using it as a base for touring Lake Pepin. (If you like hiking, I recommend Brady's Bluff in Perrot State Park. If you are lucky enough to be in the area on a Tuesday evening, check out A to Z Pizza Farm in Stockholm.) Merriam is warm and welcoming. Our room was the best of old and new. Bed was very comfortable, shower amazing, room decor takes you back to colonial New England. Wonderful breakfast! An important tip... download directions to inn from Merriam's website. Our GPS had a hard time finding inn's location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lmaci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

From the first minute we felt right at home! The owner, Merriam, welcomed us with open arms We had the freedom to roam the farm as we wished, to visit the barn (the chickens were so beautiful! all colors!) and the sheep, walk the country roads and cross country ski to our hearts' content. Welch Village was very close and we had a marvelous day down-hill skiing there as well. Our room was SO comfortable - with a fireplace, comfortable bed, and a HUGE bathroom with immaculate double whirlpool. - - we seldom use a whirlpool at a hotel or B&B because all the bacteria which can be stored in the tubing, but Merriam explained her very thorough method of cleaning it and we then felt absolutely confident in using it - and it was heavenly after skiing! Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. The homemade coffee cake melted in our mouths! I would have been content to stay in (the "Keeping Room", I think the dining area was called?) and read by the fabulous fireplace all day. Next time we plan to make it our base for sightseeing and shopping in Red Wing. My book club wants to spend a week-end there next winter too. You will love the Hungry Point Inn. We whole-heartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hungry Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Point Inn

Address: 1 Olde Deerfield Road, Welch, MN 55089
Region: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Welch
Price Range: £36 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing