We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Hungry Point Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hungry Point Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Welch B&B and Inns
Hopkins, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My (now) husband and I made a reservation for Hungry Point Inn for our wedding night MONTHS in advance. (We received a confirmation email). When we arrived, we had the rude discovery that they had GIVEN AWAY OUR ROOM WITHOUT ANY NOTICE. We were (and still ARE) beyond upset. We were told that the "son" who is in charge of reservations said we canceled our room (which we absolutely did NOT) and that there wasn't anything they could do for us. My husband has tried contacting this "son" several times to no avail. We will NEVER recommend Hungry Point to anyone as they ruined our wedding night we had been looking forward to for so long. We are completely dissatisfied, and were only offered a free night at an off-peak season night (and it couldn't be a Friday or Saturday night!) when we made this hugely disappointing discovery. Save yourself the wasted time and drive so this doesn't happen to you too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We wanted a quiet room in a beautiful location with convenient access to the biking trail and Red Wing attractions. We got the quiet and the beauty, plus friendly hospitality from the inn keeper. But the winding dirt roads through the forest are challenging after dark, especially on rainy nights. Best parts: we stayed in the log cabin which is a large, two-story historic building with modern conveniences. It was cozy and comfortable. Just a short walk from the main house where Merriam prepared a hearty and delicious breakfast. Home made cinnamon rolls were fabulous! She is an excellent host, with lots of information about things to do in the area.

It gets really dark there, so take a flashlight and a GPS to find your way on the country roads. We wished for a four wheel drive on some of the steep, muddy spots.

Room Tip: Other guests raved about the Washington Room. We would stay there next time. The log cabin is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

A beautiful country house located on the ridge overlooking the river. Antique furnishings of the house make it feel like an 18th century period farm house. Our George Washington Room was comfortable and the close by bath had a large shower and a separate tub. Our hostess was pleasant, personal, and a wonderful cook. This is a very quiet place, within an hour of the Twin Cities of Minneapolis & St Paul.

Room Tip: George Washington may be a bit smaller but has a view we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hungry Point Inn was a great getaway experience. The property was nestled at the end of a private neighborhood, on 39 acres. Very quiet and beautiful surroundings.

We were in the George Washington room in the back of the main house, with an adajent bathroom (not connected). The bed was comfy, however not a room in which to 'hang out' as there was only one 'sitting' chair. The bathroom was spacious with a tub and seperate 'rainfall' shower. We didn't get a chance to use the balcony off of the bathroom as it was too cold, but would have been a nice additional space.

Merriam, the innkeeper, was a delight! She is an amazing cook - both mornings, completely different menus and fabulous food. She is full of great stories and suggestions for what to do in the area. She is a very hard worker and benefits from the help she does receive. Her dog and cats are within a seperate area of the main living area but are very friendly/approachable. She also has sheep and chickens which you can visit.

Overall, definitely worth the money - great B&B experience and very close to major roads/areas (very close to Red Wing and the casino). Dirt/gravel road for some of the journey up to the house as a FYI. Has WiFi (very good connection).

Room Tip: George Washington room - adjoining bath (not connected). Only one in main house that is connected i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Within 45 minutes of downtown Saint Paul yet feels like the remote countryside. The Hungry Point Inn is a recently built, faux-Colonial building with several rooms in the main house and a cottage on the grounds. You get there via gravel roads south of Hastings and north of Highway 61. It was convenient to Welch Village with access to the Cannnon Valley Bike Trail and a canoe/river float business (and a terrific ice cream shop!).

The inn was a bit over priced, to my mind. The innkeeper was friendly but breakfast was almost an hour late. the food was quite good (French toast, crispy bacon the way I love it, coffee cake). There is a friendly dog and several cats and at least 3 horses. Our room had an adjoining (but not in room) bathroom with a wonderful hi-tech shower.

A lower price and some additional help for the innkeeper woudl amke this a gem.

Room Tip: The Washington room has the adjacent bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in the log cabin for 2 nights with our 2 small children. We all absolutely loved this place. There were small items to play with in the cagin like an antique kitchen set complete with little metal dishes and washstand. The children fed the horses, helped with the chores to feed the chickens, played with the cats and dog, and loved running around the grounds. The cabin is appointed with fabulous antiques of the colonial style. It is like staying in a very clean museum.

Merriam is an excellent cook and makes a fabulous breakfast! She has done this for many years and you can tell that she loves the place and having guests.

You are at the end of a gravel road so it is extremely quiet with no other cars, traffic, or noise to bother you.

This was our 3rd trip to this property in the last 15 years. The first trip by ourselves as a couple, the 2nd with my parents and siblings (10 of us), and this 3rd trip with our 2 children (10 years later).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for one night! Very relaxing, charming room with beautiful bed and wonderful whirlpool. Very quiet and most inviting. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Merriam is wonderful - she loves what she does and makes everyone feel welcome. Enjoyed tremendously!

Room Tip: Queen Anne...beautiful...airy with a tremendous bathroom....fireplace and relaxing bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welch
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
10.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
11.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
15.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Point Inn

Property: Hungry Point Inn
Address: 1 Olde Deerfield Road, Welch, MN 55089
Region: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Welch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing