We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Choice in Winona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Winona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Choice in Winona”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the place to stay in Winona. Arriving in town we were told by a local that the Carriage House Bed and Breakfast was a good place to consider for those who appreciate quality, convenience, and service. It was good advice.

The B&B is well located. Downtown (to hip coffee houses, friendly pubs, and a cute river walk) is only moments away by foot. For those with a little more ambition, a short run would reward you with striking panoramic views of the Mississippi valley at the Garvin Heights overlook. And, of course, right across the street from the Inn is the attractive Winona State University campus making this a great choice for parents visiting their children at school.

The hosts were very warm and welcoming. They really made the house feel "su casa". The house itself is a beautiful Victorian with classic high ceilings and pleasant protean porches. The breakfast was scrumptious with crepes (actually Czech crepes called "Palacinky") served with tasty local jams and piping hot satisfying coffee. Yum yum.

When we get back to Winona, the Carriage House will be part of our plans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
107
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Perfect location for visit to Winona State University! Heidi welcomed us and showed us everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed time in the quaint porch and had a wonderful breakfast in the beautiful dinning room the following morning. We will definitely return when back in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The history and character of the house and rooms are wonderful, just what I love about a bed and breakfast! The hosts were gracious and delightful. The food was excellent. It was a great stay, and we will be checking their availability every time we need to stay overnight in Winona!

Room Tip: The only downside I can see is steps to the rooms, so if anyone has difficulty with steps, it may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved my stay at Carriage House Inn while there in Winona to visit my son at the college across the street. Don and manager Heidi have created a wonderful warm and welcoming experience for travelers. Beds were comfortable and the shower piping hot. The house is light filled and the dining room beautifully appointed. A gourmet breakfast by Heide (just out of pastry chef seminar) was laid out in grand style, with a red pepper-mushroom-cheese egg strata as the main event and hot savory madeline's as the pastry. Don and Heide run this charming , comfortable B & B with integrity and grace. I will definitely be back!
Karen M.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stopped in Winona for 2 nights on our way to Rochester. Our room was super comfy and charming! Winona is super close to local attractions along the Mississippi River and Bluff Country. Don was super helpful in offering local information and suggestions, and went out of his way to make room for our 3-person group (which can be an odd number in B&Bs), and to chart a special course for us to arrive to Rochester on time Monday morning. Heidi's breakfast is made with such care you can taste it in every bite! What a beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liko_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our third stay at this wonderful B&B. My wife and I love B&Bs and this one is close enough to our house to make a one night get away work. We always have a great experience. Don and Heidi are wonderful and we love Winona. The breakfast is very nice and the breakfast table is incredible. We definitely recommend The Carriage House and Winona for a a visit and get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My 11 year daughter and I stayed one night at the Carriage House. Our purpose was to visit my college student-son. The location is perfect-right next to the campus, which made for easy transitions with our comings/goings. Even more so, though was the simple attention to details of our weekend by Don and Heidi that made our time away from home feel like home. How nice! Also, we stayed in the Village Loft Room and enjoyed a hot soak in the whirlpool tub that night (sub zero night) Relaxing! We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
1.8 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
550 reviews
21.5 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 420 Main Street, Winona, MN 55987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carriage House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing