We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, with good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok, with good breakfast.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is an average hotel, the rooms are normal, average. Nothing especial about it. The rates per night are good, the rooms are clean and have the basic things you need. The room was very hot, so it made it hard to fall asleep. Somehow it didn't cool down. We were on the first floor. It's location is centric and close by to restaurants and gas stations. The breakfast is very good, different options to choose from. The front desk was pleasant and the check in and check out is easy to do.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are hot, and don't cool down. If you open a window, you get the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariPeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday I, Front Desk Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. We were happy to know you found our rooms clean and that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. We were sorry to hear that your room was uncomfortably hot. We hope that you will try us again on your next visit to Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    77
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
35
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were traveling along the Mississippi taking in the fall colors and had the good fortune of being able to book a reservation at The Holiday Inn Express in Winona, MN. We have traveled quite a bit in the Midwest and eastern United States, but this was the first Holiday Inn I have seen decorated with a red lighted boarder at the top. We looked right beyond that building looking for our hotel until we saw the Holiday Inn Express logo.
We have always had our favorite HIE breakfast location and have never found one to match it's quality, cleanliness, selection and quantity of breakfast items until now. The HIE Winona is now our favorite breakfast location. Everything about the hotel was superior and the breakfast has warranted a highest quality rating for the HIE fare. I have a Platinum Elite membership status with Intercontinental Hotels. This is the nicest of any of the Holiday Inn brands at which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Our room was a little too warm. The windows could not be opened and the A/C was inoperable if the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be happy to share your comments with the entire staff and we look forward to seeing you next time your in Winona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel room as clean and fairly comfortable, except that the room was so hot! This made it extremely difficult to sleep. There were four of us in the room and we were on the 4th floor and none of us slept well. From reading the other reviews, it seems that this is a common complaint. Because the temperature outside was below 55 degrees, the air conditioner would not run. We notified the front desk of this situation and were told management would be in touch with us to remedy the situation. In addition, they didn't seem to pre-plan given that there were four of us booked for the room, as there were not enough towels for all of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SizzlingSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Last night on the road before visiting family. Bounced around from Hotel Brand to Hotel Brand for awhile, then switched to Holiday Inn Express a year ago & haven't been disappointed!

The Hotel is nice, clean & open/spacious. We were welcomed with coupons for the restaraunt across the street, and a well-lit parking lot (kind of important for cross-country motorcycle riders).

We would definately stay here again and recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice. TIP: If you are really tired, the Green Mill restauraunt across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

No glaring issues or complaints. Room was clean however smelled like wet dog. Breakfast was not up to typical Holliday Inn Express standards...not even one piece of fruit anyway to be found. Pool/hottub was OK but indoor pool room was poorly lit and very hot and humid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear DrewConn,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am more than happy that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a suite - basic, decent place. Clean. (Best hotel in Winona) Free breakfast, and as one might expect, you get what you pay for! Would stay here again. (Not able to delete poor rating on kids activities- didn't have any kids, so wouldn't know)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5674433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear 77340,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside,IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here 1 night while traveling from Rapid City to Chicago. Easy to find off of I-90. Enjoyed a very large "Kids Suite." We had a king bed, while the kids had their own (small) room with 2 twin beds. Fridge, sink, table and chairs for 4, large bathroom. Our room was very clean. Beds were comfy after long drive. The hot tub was hot and the pool stayed open until 11. The only negative was our room was over the lobby and we could hear the early risers talking downstairs.

Room Tip: Away from the lobby is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankV751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
555 reviews
22.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Address: 1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona, MN, the newest hotel addition to the Winona Area.Conveniently located off HWY 61/43 the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona is minutes from Winona Lake Park, the Upper Mississippi Wildlife Area, and all recreational opportunities offered by our Upper Mississippi River location.Business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to major businesses such as Fastenal, TRW, RTP, and John Deere. If you are visiting St.Mary s University, the University of Winona, or Winona Technical College you will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers the finest accommodations for your stay. If you are bringing your family to Winona, MN, let the Holiday Inn Express and Suites be your home away from home as you enjoy local attractions such as Minnesota Equestrian Center, the Eagle Watch or Swan Watch, and Garvin Heights Lookout.Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers great amenities for both business and leisure guests including our Stay Smart Hot Breakfast, 24 hour business center, and free wired and wireless high speed internet throughout the hotel. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool; let the kids play in the zero entry kid s pool; wind down with a steam in our indoor sauna.Whether traveling on buisiness or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Winona is the right hotel choice for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winona
Holiday Inn Express Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing