We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Winona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Winona. My room (2 queen beds) was quite large and reasonably well appointed. There was a microwave and fridge in addition to a coffee maker. There was a flat screen TV with almost 80-ish basic cable channels but the picture was grainy analog for almost all of them. The only digital channels were some local ones at the far end of the channel list. There was a wired internet cable in my room but it was inoperable, however, the wireless internet speed was excellent and maintained good bandwidth even in the evenings.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast that had scrambled eggs and sausages along with a pancake machine for hot items as well as the usual continental fare. At check in, they gave me a coupon for a modest discount at the Green Mill restaurant across the parking lot and it proved to be pretty good for dinner.

If my client calls me back to the area, I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4959keeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. Very spacious king room. Nicely appointed room with great linens. Internet cable available in room for more secure internet access. Nice hot breakfast. Very nice staff. Easy to get to and near things. Good restaurant across the parking lot. Heated indoor pool, refrigerator and microwave in room. AAA discount makes it a better value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was clean, and I was upgraded to a suite. The room was very comfortable. The fitness room was also very nice. The hotel provided a coupon for the restaurant next door, which turned out to be a nice restaurant.

The only con would be that my non smoking room had been smoked in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wce1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in a room with two queen beds, the room was the largest non-suite hotel room I've ever stayed in. Room and hotel were clean and fairly modern. WiFi was free and worked well. Breakfast was free, we had biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, pancakes plus other typical continental breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel during a very busy weekend. It was comfortable, and we were pleased with the staff's efforts to shuffle rooms on a fully-booked weekend so that we could stay in the same room both nights. The hotel itself is fine--generally clean with an adequate free breakfast. The pool is terribly small, but it is nice that there is also a kiddie pool for those with small children, plus a hot tub and small sauna.

We were disappointed with housekeeping, however. Our room was not serviced until almost 4 p.m., and when the maid did finally come, she very obviously wanted us to say that we didn't need anything from her. She was clearly reluctant to do her work and suggested that we could do without housekeeping. When we made it clear that we DID want housekeeping services, having used all our towels, etc., much earlier in the day, she did service our room. However, it was clearly a quick job, as she didn't check the coffee area, etc., leaving out dirty cups and pot, forgetting to restock the coffee, and also neglecting to restock the water glasses and such in the bathroom.

Also regarding housekeeping in general, there were only 2 small towels left in the pool area when we were there in the afternoon, the edges of carpets are dusty, and breakfast garbage cans were overflowing. Maybe this weekend was just too busy for them to do their usual job.

So overall, an average hotel with below average housekeeping, at least in this case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank olliesmom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinonaHIE, Gueat Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear olliesmom51,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We were pleased to know that the front desk was accommodating to your needs. However, we were sorry to hear that housekeeping did not meet your expectations. The information was passed on to the housekeeping manager so that we may give better service to you in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Rooms and lobby area were clean and accommodating. This was my first stay in a HIE, and I would definitely consider staying again in the future. More options with the included breakfast than I was expecting, so that was a nice plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is next to the previous Holiday Inn hotel (shared lot). The interior is laid out in a very user friendly manner. Rooms are spacious and include microwaves and some with sitting rooms or separate bedrooms.

The pool area is comfortable and allows for your kids to play in a kid's pool, while the parents sit in the adjacent hot tub. There are also a regular pool and sauna in the same area.

Breakfast is ample and changes slightly each day. The breakfast includes cereals, juices, milk, yogurt, waffles, Various hot items and many more items to choose from.

Room Tip: Up grade to the suite at a nominal cost or use your Holiday Inn upgrade. It will be worth while for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#5 of 7 in Winona
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
22.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Address: 1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range: £110 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona, MN, the newest hotel addition to the Winona Area.Conveniently located off HWY 61/43 the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona is minutes from Winona Lake Park, the Upper Mississippi Wildlife Area, and all recreational opportunities offered by our Upper Mississippi River location.Business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to major businesses such as Fastenal, TRW, RTP, and John Deere. If you are visiting St.Mary s University, the University of Winona, or Winona Technical College you will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers the finest accommodations for your stay. If you are bringing your family to Winona, MN, let the Holiday Inn Express and Suites be your home away from home as you enjoy local attractions such as Minnesota Equestrian Center, the Eagle Watch or Swan Watch, and Garvin Heights Lookout.Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers great amenities for both business and leisure guests including our Stay Smart Hot Breakfast, 24 hour business center, and free wired and wireless high speed internet throughout the hotel. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool; let the kids play in the zero entry kid s pool; wind down with a steam in our indoor sauna.Whether traveling on buisiness or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Winona is the right hotel choice for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winona
Holiday Inn Express Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing