We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day hike!”

Great River Bluffs State Park
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Winona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the Mississippi River, this park offers scenic views.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day hike!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful afternoon easy hike through the woods to one of the best overlooks of the Mississippi River valley between Winona, MN and LaCrosse, WI. Unusual protected habitat, goat prairie, was full of native wild flowers! Caveat: take bug spray for the woodland walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible views of the river valley”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Well maintained hiking trails even with a daughter on crutches! Spectacular views. Beautiful flowers. Nice picnic areas. We found a baby fawn while hiking!

Helpful?
4 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well marked trails great for hiking”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beautiful scenery. A little difficult to find. No big sign from the main road, just a small one stating "State Park." The trail were in wonderful condition and very well marked. Great views of the Mississippi from several overlooks. Best outdoor latrines I have ever been in, clean and odor free when we were there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sensorydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Mighty Views abound here”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is one of those parks that I plan on visiting every year. I visited this last August for the first time and was impressed by the nice hills and spectacular scenery. The picture included is taken from Queens bluff, it is the one with trails on it. From that vantage you can see kings bluff in all it's pristine glory sans trails and benches. From these bluffs you are around 450 feet above the mississippi with comanding views of the river valley. Across the river from this park is the Wisconsin version of this park called Perot. When I came here I went there afterwards. Another nice park. Five dollars to get in or free with your state park sticker. Well worth the trip for some amazing hiking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful fall colors”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This park was a beautiful surprise along our fall drive. The hikes to the overlook points are easy and go through woods that were incredibly beautiful in fall colors. There is a basic welcome center at the entrance with self pay permits, no personnel. It isn't complicated to get around this park, and the experience you get is just wonderful. The campgrounds were great and pretty busy too. The scenic overlook points are good, but the best part is just walking through the woods.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great River Bluffs State Park also viewed

 

Been to Great River Bluffs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing