We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and extremely friendly and helpful staff!”
Review of Super 8 Winona MN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Winona MN
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
TINLEY PARK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and extremely friendly and helpful staff!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is the 4th motel we have stayed in since our daughter started at WSU in the Fall of 2011. For the money, it is the best value compared to the Holiday Inn Express, AmericInn and the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable, affordable, the breakfast with the Bloedow doughnuts is very nice. The last time we stayed we used a coupon from our daughter's Saver Coupon book with brought the price of our room down to $49. Everywhere else is at least $80-$90 a night. Would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side that faces the bluff are quieter, but we have stayed on both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    90
    101
    42
    22
See reviews for
128
58
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilburrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a good basic motel right off highway 90 on the edge of Winona. The staff was very helpful and polite, and the breakfasts were great! We got a room with a microwave and refrigerator (for a few dollars more) which helped me a lot in making safe meals (food allergies).

There had been heavy rains earlier in the week so the rooms were quite musty and the windows were open to refresh the rooms when we arrived. (This was in spite of the fact that the temperature was in the 40s!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Troy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have stayed at Nichols Inn many times since their renovation, and always a target when we are in the area. Nice, clean rooms, comfortable, easy access, and good rates, with excellent desk service make it a good value. Front desk staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. Breakfast provided is just right. Not the fanciest, but a very good value, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClipperCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Green
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Nichols Inn was a pleasant surprise. It is not modern, but it is a comfortable, clean hotel. They are friendly and accommodating. We recently traveled to Winona for a family emergency. We traveled through the night and were exhausted. Nichols allowed us to check in at noon, which was wonderful. It allowed us to take a short nap once things stabilized. The room was quiet, clean and cool. The air conditioner was relatively quiet for a room air conditioner. The beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast the next morning save us some time and money. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Definitely will return to this comfortable, reasonably price motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Although we found the hotel staff very helpful, the room clean, the beds comfortable I didnt enjoy our view from our basement (they call it first floor) room. If there had been a tornado, yes, we would have been safe and yes, it was quiet. However, I felt very closed in and since we stayed for a entire week it would have been nice to have a third floor room with a view of the city. I learned to always ask to see the room before you check in. Breakfast was great, yummy waffles and good coffee. Yes, I would stay again but only if I had a better room and view.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azfoodeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.2 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
22.4 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winona MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona MN

Property: Super 8 Winona MN
Address: 1025 Sugar Loaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987-4125 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona MN 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Winona MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing