We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stay”
Review of Super 8 Winona MN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Winona MN
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Price was right
Basic room, coffee pot, hot water
Wi-fi
Clean? Ok-keep your socks on
basic breakfast, getting really good with the waffle machine.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Winona MN
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. Easy to reach, good parking, close to shopping mall. Rooms have a decent size, bathroom and carpets seemed fairly clean. Working WiFi even at the end of the building. Free breakfast is better than in other hotels of similar price range. Service is quite friendly once you get them going. Overall: for the price ($65.00 plus taxes) definitely worth it. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main road (can be a bit noisy).
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is the 4th motel we have stayed in since our daughter started at WSU in the Fall of 2011. For the money, it is the best value compared to the Holiday Inn Express, AmericInn and the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable, affordable, the breakfast with the Bloedow doughnuts is very nice. The last time we stayed we used a coupon from our daughter's Saver Coupon book with brought the price of our room down to $49. Everywhere else is at least $80-$90 a night. Would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side that faces the bluff are quieter, but we have stayed on both sides...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilburrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a good basic motel right off highway 90 on the edge of Winona. The staff was very helpful and polite, and the breakfasts were great! We got a room with a microwave and refrigerator (for a few dollars more) which helped me a lot in making safe meals (food allergies).

There had been heavy rains earlier in the week so the rooms were quite musty and the windows were open to refresh the rooms when we arrived. (This was in spite of the fact that the temperature was in the 40s!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have stayed at Nichols Inn many times since their renovation, and always a target when we are in the area. Nice, clean rooms, comfortable, easy access, and good rates, with excellent desk service make it a good value. Front desk staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. Breakfast provided is just right. Not the fanciest, but a very good value, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClipperCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winona hotels
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#6 of 7 in Winona
568 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
8.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
11.1 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
10.9 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Winona MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona MN

Address: 1025 Sugar Loaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987-4125 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona MN 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Winona MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing