We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Blue Heron Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Great coffee, great food and great books. Best place in Winona to hang out, eat, renew.
Restaurant details
Description: Great coffee, great food and great books. Best place in Winona to hang out, eat, renew.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

this was recommended by our hosts at the carriage House B&B. They are open Thursday nights for dinner, so we were lucky. All the ingredients are fresh and they have a large gluten free offering. We came back for lunch where we had a wonderful chilled beet soup served with fresh bread and an edible flower.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    35
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual, yet informal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is the closest you'll get to finding an all-around healthy, tasty, casual, comfortable, laid-back, quasi-urban cafe in Winona.

The food and beverages are good. Get some coffee. Arrive early to get some quiche. One night a week (Thursdays?) they do a sort of Gourmet Night which involves the preparation of a special dish in addition to their regular menu. For those among the TripAdvisor readership familiar with Fawlty Towers, fear not: there is always the opportunity to order from the regular menu if you don't like duck (or whatever they are serving).

The cafe is co-located with an independent bookstore, so you can feed your mind as well as your face.

Bottom line: good food and drink, casual atmosphere, variety in the menu, and a panoramic view of Second Street to boot.

Helpful?
Thank Rat_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome choice!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My family stopped in looking for a healthy choice for breakfast. The staff was awesome and I was able to get soup and gf toast for breakfast, they had great tea selection and my girls loved the yummy chocolate chip muffins. The atmosphere was great, free wi-fi, toys for kids and an attached book store with kids area. Overall ideal for our family!

Helpful?
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Soup and sandwich”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The coffee house is a great alternative to fast food. A cup of soup and a half-sandwich is a great lunch here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of at least three very good coffee shops in historic downtown Winona, with excellent coffee and food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PDHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing