We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food in Mall”

Rubio's family mexican restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Mall”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is definitely the best Mexican restaurant in the entire Winona Mall.

The buffet is OK, provided you are not a vegetarian. Vegetarians will appreciate the opportunity to order from the menu.

The menu contains no surprises. If you are looking for something unusual or exotic, look elsewhere.

One of the stars on this review is awarded for the freshly prepared guacamole, available upon requests on days when the Guacamole Lady is present. Call ahead.

Architecturally, the restaurant design suffers from a lack of mystery. However, the north-facing solarium provides a cooling respite from the harsh Winona summers. I imagine that, contrariwise, it provides a warming respite from the harsh Winona winters.

The last time I was here I ordered a ground beef chimichanga. Be prepared. This menu item is neither for the faint of heart or the small of stomach. Thankfully, the restaurant provides cleverly reinforced Styrofoam boxes for the carrying-home of leftovers.

Helpful?
Thank Rat_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service good, food fair”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The chips are not worth the salsa which was ok. The house special chicken was tasty. The side of beers and rice bland but good portion. The verde enchiladas with cheese were good and the verde sauce was spicy and had a very nice flavor. Prices reasonable, nice waitress. Winona is not known for its great cuisine and Rubio's fits right in...average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Great service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The food and the service is great and you get a lot for your money. The only reason to stop in Winona, Minnesota since the entire town sucks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spicy (good), but not tasty”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having read other excellent reviews, we decided to try Rubio's. The site is OK for a small-town shopping mall. Our first bad clue was the chips and salsa--the chips appeared to be factory made, rather small, and not appealing; the salsa reminded us of thinned-out catsup. We requested hotter salsa; they brought much spicier (and less tasty) thinned-out catsup. My carnitas with green sauce: the pork was fatty but tender; the sauce was rather bright green, excessively spicy (and I like spicy), and had little flavor. My wife's fajitas were OK, the best of the lot. I tried a churro for desert; it had very little sugar/cinnamon, and was rather tough. The beer was excellent. This may be the best mexican food in Winona, but we'll try a different place next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We eat here at least once a week. The Rubio Family all works here together. They are very friendly and you will get a good, home cooked and homemade meal. Their kitchen is open to the bar so you can see in and it is SPOTLESS! The buffet is excellent and fresh. Drinks are good too. It's the best Mexican Restaurant in our area. The mother of the family makes a homemade cake for the buffet and it's excellent. Excellent all the way around! I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. They also have 2 food trucks that they take around town for different events. So tasty!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaGeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubio's family mexican restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing