We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rock Garden West Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
193 reviews
Rock Garden
West Room
West Room Bath
East Room
East Room Bath
North Room
North Room Bath
South Room
South Room Bath
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Upstairs Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sofa bed for additional guests
The view from the patio
Our neighborhood
Minnesota Marine Art Mueseum
Scenic Overlook
Mississippi River
National Eagle Center
Historic Downtown
Saint Mary's University
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winona, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 193 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn M
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed at the Village House Inn many times and we love it. The house becomes our home away from home when we attend Winona State football games and have post game gatherings for our family and friends. The dining room, extra tables and chairs and outdoor space have allowed us to host over 20 people after games. And then when the extras leave, our family settles in for fun and games around the piano or at the dining room table. Its so pleasant, roomy and a bathroom in every bedroom is a real perk.

My husband and I have also rented one room only and have enjoyed that experience as well. Close proximity to hiking and other great Winona activities makes this a great weekend getaway spot.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5thQuarte...
Apple Valley
1 review
“Awesome Family Gathering Spot”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've stayed here with extended family twice in the last 3 years, and find it perfect for that purpose. The porch with pergola is a perfect outdoor space to hang out after a great day in Winona, and the indoor living space is open and has plenty of space to hang out later in the evening. The kitchenette has just about everything you'd need for a quick family meal, and even though there is no range, the grill outside provides a good alternative. The rooms are very clean and large, and there are a few bonus areas with a couch and pull-out love seat suitable to sleep a few extra children. The only drawback is the proximity to a main road, so there is some traffic noise at night. It would be lovely to stay here as a bed and breakfast, but it is even better as a family gathering spot. Great place!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Staying at the Village House Inn was like a home away from home. The decor was lovely and beautiful. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The only unfortunate thing about our stay was it was only one night. We definitely would love to return and spend more time in Winona and at the Village House Inn.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy W
1 review
“Country charm with modern conveniences.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is an old, beautifully remodeled farmhouse with all the modern conveniences. It is in a quiet setting, but still close to local services. For our most recent stay, we reserved the entire house for our extended family. The ample common space and patio provided multiple options for privacy and together time as we prepared for our daughter's wedding in town..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie G
Hopkins, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our group of friends rented the entire house and had a wonderful experience. The Village Inn is comfortable and clean and has nice spaces to gather for meals inside and out The rooms are nicely decorated. The innkeeper, Anne, is gracious and helpful. I highly recommend the Village Inn and would definitely stay there again.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb K
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too quick a stay!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We only had a single night at the Village Inn, but I wish we'd had longer. The décor was lovely and reminded us so much of B&Bs we've stayed at in England. Better heating/cooling, of course. I know we will be staying there again when our trips to St Mary's University to see our daughter allow us to do. Everything was as close to perfect as I can imagine it.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved the combination of historic house with great decor, not overdone Victorian, which so many B&Bs have. Very clean and cozy. We stayed in the bedroom on the first floor, which has the advantage of direct walk-out to the charming patio. In the summer, the landscaping is beautiful.

Great value, since there is no unneeded whirlpool bath. As advertised, the breakfast is grab-and-go, yogurt, beverages, bagels, granola. There is a kitchen if you want to bring in and prepare some food. Overall, it felt like being in someone's home.

Guests are welcomed by first name on a chalk board outside the front door. A nice touch.

Final note, the inn is located on a busy road so there is traffic noise that sometimes sounds like it's right next to your head as you sleep, as the cars are whooshing down one of Winona's lovely bluffs.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing