We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Winona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I are B & B fans, but our last-minute decision to look for a B & B instead of a hotel while traveling to St. Paul resulted in the most amazing stay we've had in a B & B. First of all, the beautiful, well cared for mansion was one of the best examples of a Victorian house with gorgeous wood details and delightful furniture and appointments. The breakfast was delicious, with a wonderful fruit parfait and open-faced omelettes and homemade apple bread. But Richard and his thoughtful attention to details like wine and conversation when we arrived, cordials and chocolates on our bedside table when we returned from dinner, and his smooth, seemingly effortless ability to host and make his guests feel welcome and comfortable, was what made this stay one of the best we've ever experienced! A visit to be remembered and cherished! Hope to see you again, Richard!

Room Tip: Martha's room was bright, airy, and beautifully decorated! The scale of the rooms was huge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISStchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
150
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I spent three nights of our honeymoon in the D.C. Alexander suite, and the entire stay was fantastic. We were both new to B&Bs, but we could not have asked for a better experience.

Richard was so welcoming, helping us find somewhere for dinner late on a Monday night. When we arrived back from dinner, a nightcap, chocolates, and music awaited us in our room. Each morning, breakfast was delicious and abundant: fruit salad, breads, greens and an egg dish, and a post-breakfast surprise. Richard helped us find things to do in the area and was great at fostering conversation over breakfast. The house was a beautiful and comfortable, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Winona.

Room Tip: The D.C. Alexander Suite was spacious and lovely, with an attached private sunroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 537Petey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

As a seasoned traveler and avid B&B fan, I had doubts that a place could truly achieve a 100% satisfaction rating... Well, Richard deserves above and beyond 100%! What a special place the Alexander Mansion is. From the warm conversation while making the reservation by phone, to having everything prepared down to the last detail: Wine on arrival, aperitif before bed, dinner reservations, directions to everywhere to go... And, of course, the vivid stories detailing the history of the house. Then the four course breakfast (we will skip lunch & dinner today) was tremendous. We just cannot say enough. Richard is clearly very passionate about what he does and it shows. Thank you for the memorable trip. We will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JjJbabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We came to Winona for a girls weekend. Staying at the Alexander Mansion truly made the trip amazing! Richard was so caring, he truly has made hospitality his life. His stories was so fun to listen to. The breakfast was amazing the fruit parfait and the quiche were my favorites. I would love to visit this B&B again. It is like stepping into history for a moment. The deco is defiantly right on with the Victorian era. If you want a place that makes you feel welcome this is the place.

Room Tip: Just call and talk to Richard the host, he will help you pick the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacockfeather88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Yes, they're all true: those rave reviews singing the praises of the Alexander Mansion and its host Richard, who may aptly be described as an hotelier extraordinaire. However, Doris and I simply see him as a wonderfully warm and charming human being, who has a gift for making travelers feel eminently at home in an anachronistic dwelling with a fascinating history, the story of which he will regale his guests in a sublimely interesting and entertaining manner.

If he's not busy catering to his guests' needs--and even whims, occasionally--you might entice him into telling his personal story, which is just as interesting and entertaining.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishfryaficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Richard is such a gracious host. He even carried our suitcase to our spacious and beautiful room, the Maude Alexander suite. From the wine after check in to the delicious candle lit breakfast, we were treated like someone special. We truly enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Alexander Mansion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A high point of our June two-day trip around Lake Pepin was an overnight at the Alexander Mansion bed and breakfast in Winona, Mn. This is a restored five-bedroom Victorian home unlike anything Nancy and I have experienced. We took three of the bedrooms and each was more charming and comfortable than the next. As folks who have spent a good part of our life in Marriotts and Embassy Suites, this bed and breakfast was an incredible treat! It is hard to describe all of the TLC proprietor Richard showed us and how three generations could feel so comfortable, relaxed and pampered. Our grandsons, age 8 and 11,had as much fun as their mother and grandparents. Breakfast was a five course extravaganza of surprise and delight anchored by the most delicious quiche any of us has ever eaten. We are seasoned travelers and rank this B&B a five in all regards!

Room Tip: Call Richard, the owner, for advice on room selection, especially if booking multiple rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
1.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
24.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
21.1 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 274 E Broadway St, Winona, MN 55987-3732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander Mansion Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn is conveniently located in downtown Winona between the Mississippi River and Winona lake. The Inn is surrounded by a private acre of gardens and trees. The perfect spot for both leisure and business travelers. Luxurious and comfortable furnishings, art, classical music, real wood fires, healthy delicious food and great books abound. In the mood for "Casablanca", "Now Voyager", or "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel", just ask; we love to do movies. Full concierge service and all business amenities available. Flexible breakfast times and menus for business travelers. In room work stations available. For solid comfort, convenience, and style we invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Alexander Mansion Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing