We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relief”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a relief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

A bad nights sleep at the Winona Americinn motel forced me to look elsewhere for a more comfortable mattress. I found it at the Plaza in addition to an above average staff and quality of room. I checked into my room at 9:00 a.m. after 'bailing out' of the other motel. I would recommend this motel highly and will stay there again when the need arises. The only areas that could be improved would be a complimentary breakfast and wifi access. They do provide a discount coupon at their restaurant for dinner and breakfast and I was able to connect with the adjacent Holiday Inn's wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    57
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
23
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the hotel attending a family reunion in the area. We found the hotel property and the our family suite to be clean and well maintained. Likewise, the fitness room and indoor pool were kept spotless. The front desk staff were very courteous, pleasant and helpful.I spend between 50-60 nights on the road for both business and pleasure and believe that I have reasonable judgement when evaluating hotel properties.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in this hotel. At first glance it seems like a nice place. Fairly large rooms. A giant 40 inch tv in the room plus a small tv in the rest room.
That TV set in the rest room didn't make sense to me. It was facing the wrong direction and while I tried to angle it better I discovered a hypodermic needle. I have seen all kinds of things in hotel rooms that I wish I didn't see. This was a first for me.
I called the front desk and the reaction I got was- we'll leave a note for the manager and the cleaning people to take care of it.
I checked the room again in the evening and the needle was still there. When I called again they said they don't have anybody right now to move it.
The general feeling I had is that this could be a nice hotel but it is very very under staffed. Very friendly staff but very slow service in both restaurant and bar as well.
Overall, not a terrible place but finding the hypodermic needle and the nonchalant reaction of the staff was too much of a turnoff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zermas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I was looking for a nice pet friendly hotel in Winona and I found it. They were booked for the weekend and thankfully someone cancelled and I got their room.
I stayed in the Standard King and it was a big room, very clean. The Staff was very friendly and took very good care of me. I will stay there whenever I need a place in Winona.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We brought a group of 15 students to this hotel which had agreed with Winona University to be the destination for the student member participating in the weekend conference that Winona hosted.
There was some slight confusion as our faculty adviser had lost his father this past week and was not able to attend the conference with us. While I was trying to clarify a problem with our group's secretary the general manager rudely interrupted. She was a complete ***** (for lack of a better word).
Instead of being smart about being the premiere hotel for a conference that hosted thousands of college students from all over the midwest and putting all the college students on the same floors, they spread them among all floors and were threatening to kick rooms out the last night because of noise complaints. Our rooms were across from the room of a nine-year old girl's birthday party.
Our biggest complaint was that after calling and asking whether they offered continental breakfast they told us they had. However, may it be noted that this hotel does not offer continental breakfast they give you a few dollars off at the Green Mill, an rather expensive restaurant and they don't even give you enough for 1 dollar per person per day. This is by far the worst hotel I've stayed in and I've stayed in hotels in third world countries. I would advise you to stay at the holiday inn next door and just avoid this place all together.
Also, the estimate they gave us for the hotel and the actual price were way off. It ended up being an additional 90 dollars over what we budgeted for three rooms for three nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Propaganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Cloud
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have not even arrived at the hotel and have received poor services in my attempt to bring a small group to Winona. I had to speak with several individuals regarding their rates. They refused to listen to my concerns and the manager told me I should cancel the reservations and go elsewhere.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 67LovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

My family went to visit our daughter in college, while staying there we found the pool area to cold, dark, and dirty. There were dead bugs floating in the childrens area and dead and alive boxelders on the pool deck area. The water was way to cold for my grandson to swim and that was the reason we choose this hotel. The beds are hard and not a goods night sleep. The greenmill also had very slow and subpar service took forever to get our food, and waitress rarely came to check on us. Overpriced for the service they deliver. Would not stay again with out first checking cleanliness and pool tempurature in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
23.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
22.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing