We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
nebraska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We "settled" on staying here on our trip North after everything in La Crosse was booked. It was a stroke of good fortune! While the property was older, it was the cleanest & most comfortable we found on our trip. The pool and hot tub were not your typical chain size and the decor was great. A great zero entry for the kids with play area. An extra bonus was the sauna. No breakfast was included but it is connected to a Green Mill which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your candid review. We are pleased you found your stay with us clean and comfortable. Our pool area is one of a kind, and seems to be a hit with all ages. We hope you took advantage of the discount coupons we provided for The Green Mill Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip north!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    56
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
61
23
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Keuka Park, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I would definately stay again. Desk staff always very helpful in recommending places to see and where to get a good meal. The room very comfortable with King bed and a sofa in the room.
The washer and dryer availability was a great plus. If i had realized they had a laundry area I would not have packed so much. very convenient.
The Green Mill restaurant that is part of the Plaza was also convenient.

Room Tip: I did not have a problem with adjoining rooms noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you, Denise, for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in Winona. We are glad to hear that our on-site laundry facility was useful, we try to think of everything! The staff appreciated your comments about their helpfulness. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

In general, I thought this hotel was quite nice, with one big caution. The front desk staff were friendly and seemed eager to help. I made good use of the guest laundry (this was the middle of an extended trip, so I needed the refresh). And my room was spacious and comfortable. I usually don't like the ground floor, but this was not a problem as there was no noise from above that I can recall (surprising, since there were a lot of college students staying at the hotel). What WAS a problem, however, was the sound from the adjoining room. This is the one big caution I referred to. Adjoining rooms are always a potential noise problem, because the doors between the rooms are made possible by a door-sized hole in the wall. And even though there is a door on each side, it's still a hole in the wall. So, one of the nights I stayed here, I was able to "enjoy" the conversation of the people in the adjoining room. I'm glad it was only a conversation, or it could have been quite embarrassing. And it wasn't as if they were shouting or even talking in loud voices. It was just a normal conversation in normal voices, but it was as if I was sitting with them. I probably could have joined in, again in a normal voice. Fortunately, I generally go to bed late, and equally fortunately, they finished talking at a reasonable hour. But unless all the rooms are joined to other rooms, I would strongly advise that travelers specifically ask for a non-adjoining room. Other than that, however, I have no complaints about the hotel. I'd be happy to stay again, in a room with no door-sized hole in the wall. If that option is not available, I would seriously consider staying somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff and your kind words have been shared with all staff members. We have rooms available throughout the hotel that are non-adjoining, do inquire about these rooms the next time you book with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Winona while our daughter was attending college but were never able to get in at the Plaza. We recently celebrated her wedding in Winona and had a block of rooms at the Plaza for ourselves and guests. All the wedding guests that stayed at the Plaza had nothing but positive comments about their stay. From the grounds around the hotel to the lobby and rooms everything was well maintained and comfortable. The pool area was a big hit with those with children. We will most definitely try to stay there again should we find ourselves in the Winona area. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We were on the backside of the hotel and it was very quiet and I can't speak to the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in Winona for your daughter’s wedding guests! We’re always honored to be selected to be a part of such an important occasion in our guests’ lives. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to send your kind compliments, your review has been passed on to the entire staff here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked a two room suite for one night for ourselves and our 3 sons and our son's girlfriend. The suite was quite roomy, and the rooms were nice and up to date. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. I did find a dirty coffee cup by the in-room coffee machine which was kind of gross but otherwise the rooms were pretty clean. We ate at the attached Green Mill for breakfast and were not impressed - understaffed and the buffet food was the quality of most hotels' free buffets. But overall a good hotel experience. If you need room for a good sized family, I would recommend the two-room suite - you can close the French doors and visit while others sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. You have described our spacious and beautifully decorated family suite wonderfully, and I’m glad that it met your family’s needs. Our housekeeping staff strives for perfection everyday, and I do apologize for the coffee cup. Rest assured that I have already made appropriate corrections to prevent a similar situation from occurring. Your kind comments about our friendly front desk team have been shared with our staff members. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Cindy Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have stayed there before and never had a bad experience, unless I stayed in the bar to long.
Got there early in the morning and met friends who stayed the evening before. I took a chance and asked if our room was available for early check in. The friendly clerk took a few minutes and to my surprise said yes. It was nice to put our MC luggage in our own room and freshen up before our day long ride. As usual the room was clean and well stocked and large enough for all of our belongings. (quiet sleeping) At check in each guest get's a $1.00 breakfast coupon and I would strongly urge you to use them. The breakfast is very good and Julie our waitress was great!
We will be there again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and positive feedback regarding your stays at the Plaza Hotel and Suites. The front desk staff makes every effort to accommodate our guest’s requests. When an early check in is available, we know those few extra hours in the room can help jump start your stay! Our dedicated housekeeping staff strives to make each stay exceptional, as well. We truly have an extraordinary team throughout the property; your kind comments will be shared with all team members. We’re looking forward to your next visit!
Cindy Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel had one of the nicest indoor pools I've been at. It had a separate children's pool, a sauna, and whirlpool tub. The rooms were okay a little dated. The people at the front desk were extremely nice. The restaurant attached to the hotel was not a very good choice to eat at. Nice for convenience but not great flavor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelingLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very proud of our large indoor water recreation area, it has something for kids of all ages! Children enjoy the zero depth entry kiddy pool with three animal slides and arcade game area. Adults have the opportunity to unwind in our relaxing hot tub, pool and sauna. We are looking forward to our future guest room and hotel updates, also. Thank you for sharing your constructive comments to help us create the best experiences for our guests.
Cindy Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
24.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
23.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 19 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Region: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing