We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ Bad waitress”

Lakes Tavern and Grill
Ranked #18 of 99 Restaurants in Woodbury
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ Bad waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I have been here many times, but this time the waitress was very rude, must of been haveing a real bad day. I don't think I will be back for a long time.

Helpful?
Thank Linda2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    20
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss the happy hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Happy Hour daily 3pm - 6pm, and all day Sunday?! wow. We visited this restaurant for the first time last Saturday at 4pm for late lunch / early dinner. The hostess told us about the happy hour in the bar with $5 apps and $3 beers. We of course chose the bar!

Very comfortable, lots of screens, but not loud. We had the coldest beer I've had in years and exceptional - I mean fantastic food!! 1. "Fried Wisconsin" -- like cheese curds, but a very light beer batter and the creamiest cheese ever. 2. The best chicken wings -- try 'chipotle lime' sauce - wow! 3. deviled eggs with this great little tomato/cucumber/onion relish. Each was well presented, fresh, and amazing. The bill came to $23 - what a value! We will come back (soon!!....)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KingsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in Woodbury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

In a city full of chain restaurants, it's nice to have an independent restaurant with good food, good specials, nice happy hour, and pleasant staff. We frequent the Lakes Tavern, and always have a nice time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deceptive Marketing and mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went in with customer appreciation reward certificate (Enjoy a FREE Burger with purchase of a Burger of equal or greater value). Gave certificate to server upon being seated. When we were ready to order asked if certificate was for burgers and sandwiches and she stated, "Burgers only." We ordered basic burger with up charge of bacon and turkey cranberry chipotle burger without bleu cheese slaw. Burgers arrived and turkey burger had nothing on it. When we were half way through eating our burgers a staff member, I assume it was a manager, stated, "Sorry, the certificate is only good for 4:00 or after (we were there at approx.1:00) and that there wasn't a "button" they could use to give the discount", and walked away. With this rude treatment, the turkey burger not coming as ordered and the mediocre burger we decided we
decided we would never return again. When our server came back with the bill she apologized for not being able to use the certificate. We stated that it wasn't her fault but it was a poor decision. Another staff member approached our table stating she heard there was a problem at our table. I stated that I realized we made an error in not reading the small and confusing print on the certificate but that good customer service would not make an excuse of there not being being a "button" to discount a burger off of the tab. All she offered was 3-4, "I'm sorries."
1. The staff should be knowledgable about the promotional coupons that are sent out.
2. We should have been informed of the stipulations before we were half way through our meal. If we would have known we couldn't use the certificate, we would have ordered a sandwich instead.
3. Not only did the mediocre food leave a bad taste in our mouths, so did management's snide treatment .
READ ALL REVIEWS OF THIS ESTABLISHMENT-there aren't a lot of "WOWS"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A break from the typical chain restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The service at Lakes is usually very good; friendly staff who are attentive - a huge improvement over the former tenant (Boston's).

I enjoy the unique menu, especially some of the "typical" things found in most restaurants are presented in a little different way. Recently I ordered the seafood bake which had a great flavor but was disappointed in the size of the scallops which were literally the size of peas.

This is not a restaurant who offers huge portion sizes, which I know turns some people off. The meals leave you full, but not stuffed or taking half of it home.

You can choose the bar side, which has a ton of TVs and is more vibrant than the dining room, but the dining room offers nice ambiance if you want to visit more with others.

Definitely worth checking out if you want something different than the typical chains.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakes Tavern and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lakes Tavern and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing