We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of Fatima's Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima's Nest
Nagoya, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I initially wanted to stay away from this backpackers because it appeared to be a party place and all backpackers seemed to stay here due mainly to the fact it was the last stop for the shuttle from Maputo.
My only reason for staying here was that I had such a creepy experience at Tofo Beach Backpackers - another hostel in town (Don't stay here), and my travelling companion at that time wanted to stay at Fatima's.
The dorm was okay - super minimum and quite dark. The kitchen facility wasn't anything special, so my friend and I gave up on cooking and went out every night for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    32
    27
    29
See reviews for
3
30
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is in a very good location very close to the beach and its got a nice bar restaurant. But it was a rip off, too pricey for the kind of rooms they offer, they are top rusty and have not been renovated in over 7 years. Very disappointed with the rooms, you can stay somewhere.else. And maybe hang there otherwise choosing to stay there is disaster.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TweshiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inhambane hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinghong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We camped at Fatima's Nest for a few days in November 2013. Fatima's has a great location, but it is in terrible need of proper management. The staff is often rude and will act annoyed when you dare to disrupt their conversation, because you would like to buy a drink, even if you've been standing at the bar for a while.
The campsite has a self-catering kitchen, which often lacks basic cutlery. There was a kettle to make tea, but it would disappear every morning. When we were staying there, they were building new houses and the workers didn't seem to mind that people were trying to sleep at 5 in the morning.
Fatima's could be great, but right now, it isn't. I would recommend that you check out The Best Kept Secret (50m from Fatima's, and offers cheap rooms), Turtle Cove or Mozambeat.

Room Tip: Go to another backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Its probably the cheapest on tofo, at least on beach, but the rooms are not nice, the beds are small and the nets are even smaller. Most of staff is not friendly.

Food is quite good and location too.
They are flexible which is good and needed in backbackers place.
But there are things that should be improved;
-internet
-mosquitonets
-staff friendliness
-lighting in rooms (too dark to even read)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriPenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place could potentially be great, its right on the beach, it has a nice big open bar area....the food menu is varied and surprisingly good

But the staff aren't. Most of the time they show a total lack of interest. The rest of the time, they choose completely the wrong sort of music.....ridiculously loud, quite offensive rap when the bar has 2 people in. Guys - there is no-one here....I quite fancied reading my book.....but no, really loud offensive music is cool

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I liked food at the their restaurant. I also enjoyed falling asleep listening to the ocean and seeing the sunrise right from my window.

It's a party-oriented hostel. Even in August (one of the slower months), they were turning on loud music. So loud I couldn't enjoy a conversation with my friend.

If you want to treat yourself, go eat at Tofo Tofo Restaurant and stay at the MozamBeat Motel. I also enjoyed surfing classes with Liquid Adventures and yoga classes at the Turtle Cove.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had intended to avoid this place after reading the numerous terrible reviews, but ended up arriving at night and finding the only other centrally located camping option closed. We intended to only stay one night, but actually ended up staying three.

I could see where some of the criticisms were coming from, but I think camping you actually manage to avoid most of them. The price for camping isn't too bad for Mozambique (250pp) - and certainly seems better value than the $50 you pay for a private room with no bathroom. Obviously camping you also avoid the dirt and bugs which it sounds like the rooms are famous for. The kitchen was a bit of a joke (no utensils, plates, pans, or any other items you might expect to find in a kitchen), but the restaurant food was actually very fairly priced for what you get (very good food), and you're a 5 min walk from town.

Other pluses were the security (permanent guard on the campsite, plus CCTV), communal lounge/eating area, and beautiful beach.

All in all I'd advise you not to be put off by the bad reviews if you're camping - as you don't seem to get exposed to many of the problems.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
1.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
172 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pariango Beach Motel
Pariango Beach Motel
#5 of 13 in Tofo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Nest

Property: Fatima's Nest
Address: Praia Do Tofo, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Nest Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing