We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers place on the beach”
Review of Fatima's Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima's Nest
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here our first two nights in Tofo but then moved to another lodge with better value. The twin bungalow we got had ok beds and mosquito nets, bathroom ok. It had not been renovated for a while - paint (and concrete) was peeling of the walls. The staff need to work on their attitude.

The standard of this hotel is much like the other budget options at Tofo with the difference that the others are cheaper. They are all placed along the beach or on the hill above the southern end of it. Fatima's is on the beach in the northern end of the village, close to a dive shop..

All in all poor value for money but don't expect too much from the budget options in Tofo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I initially wanted to stay away from this backpackers because it appeared to be a party place and all backpackers seemed to stay here due mainly to the fact it was the last stop for the shuttle from Maputo.
My only reason for staying here was that I had such a creepy experience at Tofo Beach Backpackers - another hostel in town (Don't stay here), and my travelling companion at that time wanted to stay at Fatima's.
The dorm was okay - super minimum and quite dark. The kitchen facility wasn't anything special, so my friend and I gave up on cooking and went out every night for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is in a very good location very close to the beach and its got a nice bar restaurant. But it was a rip off, too pricey for the kind of rooms they offer, they are top rusty and have not been renovated in over 7 years. Very disappointed with the rooms, you can stay somewhere.else. And maybe hang there otherwise choosing to stay there is disaster.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TweshiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We camped at Fatima's Nest for a few days in November 2013. Fatima's has a great location, but it is in terrible need of proper management. The staff is often rude and will act annoyed when you dare to disrupt their conversation, because you would like to buy a drink, even if you've been standing at the bar for a while.
The campsite has a self-catering kitchen, which often lacks basic cutlery. There was a kettle to make tea, but it would disappear every morning. When we were staying there, they were building new houses and the workers didn't seem to mind that people were trying to sleep at 5 in the morning.
Fatima's could be great, but right now, it isn't. I would recommend that you check out The Best Kept Secret (50m from Fatima's, and offers cheap rooms), Turtle Cove or Mozambeat.

Room Tip: Go to another backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Its probably the cheapest on tofo, at least on beach, but the rooms are not nice, the beds are small and the nets are even smaller. Most of staff is not friendly.

Food is quite good and location too.
They are flexible which is good and needed in backbackers place.
But there are things that should be improved;
-internet
-mosquitonets
-staff friendliness
-lighting in rooms (too dark to even read)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenriPenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place could potentially be great, its right on the beach, it has a nice big open bar area....the food menu is varied and surprisingly good

But the staff aren't. Most of the time they show a total lack of interest. The rest of the time, they choose completely the wrong sort of music.....ridiculously loud, quite offensive rap when the bar has 2 people in. Guys - there is no-one here....I quite fancied reading my book.....but no, really loud offensive music is cool

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MikeD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I liked food at the their restaurant. I also enjoyed falling asleep listening to the ocean and seeing the sunrise right from my window.

It's a party-oriented hostel. Even in August (one of the slower months), they were turning on loud music. So loud I couldn't enjoy a conversation with my friend.

If you want to treat yourself, go eat at Tofo Tofo Restaurant and stay at the MozamBeat Motel. I also enjoyed surfing classes with Liquid Adventures and yoga classes at the Turtle Cove.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
1.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 15 in Tofo
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 10 in Tofo
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 15 in Tofo
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tofo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Nest

Address: Praia Do Tofo, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Nest Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing