We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't even want to give this 1 star”
Review of Fatima's Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima's Nest
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I didn't even want to give this 1 star”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

this place is totally abysmal.
the only good part of the entire place is the campsite, and by that i mean the actual site, as the bathroom facilities are pretty dire (eggy water) and the kitchen has no cooking utensils/pots/pans.
When we first arrived we were met with 'welcome to paradise'... from this point onwards the staff were rude, smarmy and obnoxious. They were totally unhelpful and actually offensive. The communal area is passable, but we left as soon as possible. The chalets at casa barry are the same price and incomparable in terms of location and atmosphere. DO NOT stay here, it's daylight robbery.

Room Tip: don't choose a room, just leave, and run. quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    32
    26
    28
See reviews for
3
30
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Don't take it wrong! The Fatima's Nest has a good restaurant and perfect location with big screen TV.
Apart from that I have never had such a horrible experience before.
We spent there three nights as we where waiting for the sun to show itself. In the mid time the rooms where full of RATS and BEDBUGS. STAFF DID NOT CARE ABOUT IT!!!.
Since Rats diced to walk on our beds while we were asleep and made a hole in a bag belonging to my travel mates, we decided to sleep in the restaurant area which seems to be much safer.

The kitchen is not equipped at all; this is because they want people to spend their money at the restaurant rather than cook for themselves

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inhambane hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here our first two nights in Tofo but then moved to another lodge with better value. The twin bungalow we got had ok beds and mosquito nets, bathroom ok. It had not been renovated for a while - paint (and concrete) was peeling of the walls. The staff need to work on their attitude.

The standard of this hotel is much like the other budget options at Tofo with the difference that the others are cheaper. They are all placed along the beach or on the hill above the southern end of it. Fatima's is on the beach in the northern end of the village, close to a dive shop..

All in all poor value for money but don't expect too much from the budget options in Tofo!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I initially wanted to stay away from this backpackers because it appeared to be a party place and all backpackers seemed to stay here due mainly to the fact it was the last stop for the shuttle from Maputo.
My only reason for staying here was that I had such a creepy experience at Tofo Beach Backpackers - another hostel in town (Don't stay here), and my travelling companion at that time wanted to stay at Fatima's.
The dorm was okay - super minimum and quite dark. The kitchen facility wasn't anything special, so my friend and I gave up on cooking and went out every night for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is in a very good location very close to the beach and its got a nice bar restaurant. But it was a rip off, too pricey for the kind of rooms they offer, they are top rusty and have not been renovated in over 7 years. Very disappointed with the rooms, you can stay somewhere.else. And maybe hang there otherwise choosing to stay there is disaster.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TweshiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinghong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We camped at Fatima's Nest for a few days in November 2013. Fatima's has a great location, but it is in terrible need of proper management. The staff is often rude and will act annoyed when you dare to disrupt their conversation, because you would like to buy a drink, even if you've been standing at the bar for a while.
The campsite has a self-catering kitchen, which often lacks basic cutlery. There was a kettle to make tea, but it would disappear every morning. When we were staying there, they were building new houses and the workers didn't seem to mind that people were trying to sleep at 5 in the morning.
Fatima's could be great, but right now, it isn't. I would recommend that you check out The Best Kept Secret (50m from Fatima's, and offers cheap rooms), Turtle Cove or Mozambeat.

Room Tip: Go to another backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Its probably the cheapest on tofo, at least on beach, but the rooms are not nice, the beds are small and the nets are even smaller. Most of staff is not friendly.

Food is quite good and location too.
They are flexible which is good and needed in backbackers place.
But there are things that should be improved;
-internet
-mosquitonets
-staff friendliness
-lighting in rooms (too dark to even read)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriPenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
1.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pariango Beach Motel
Pariango Beach Motel
#5 of 13 in Tofo
7 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Nest

Property: Fatima's Nest
Address: Praia Do Tofo, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Nest Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing